We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domina Zagarella Sicily
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Soles(Santa Flavia)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centrale(Bagheria)
$75
$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,116
$957
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa D'Amato(Palermo)(Great Value!)
$220
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kafara(Santa Flavia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveler rating
556
496
288
118
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
496
288
118
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdomina coral bayreception stafffisha sea view roomtrain stationpastakids clubbuffet restaurantthe salt water poolsea frontrooms are comfortablescuba divingsun loungersplenty of sunbedslarge hotelrelaxing holidayfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with friends and were very impressed with the hotel overall. Reception staff were all very well trained and helpful. Choice of food at the hotel was ok but noticed a review about a BBQ at one of the pools which we were never told about. Had to eat one lunch inside as a private function was happening on the terrace restaurant, such a shame to have to be inside! Quality of food that we ordered was fairly good but we at least expected that of a quality hotel. Breakfast had a good choice bur again, quality does have room for improvement especially in the cooked section. We ordered fresh omlettes instead which were much more appetizing. It's worth noting this hotels location. If you don't have a car and want to explore other dining options in the evening, it's very hard. There were no taxis so twice the owners of restaurants we visited, drove us home. Rooms were very clean and bright and although small, very comfortable with lovely bed linens and great shower and heated towel rail in bathroom. Towels even smelled nice which I don't often find in big hotels. Pool, gym and garden areas all deserve a thumbs up. Would describe this hotel as Nikki Beach without the attitude. Pool music became a little repetitive and one minute was on the next turned off but nevermind. 90% of the staff I would describe as excellent. A few just good but overall very personal/likable and friendly. Internet was expensive for 24hours but free in lobby on main computer so shouldn't complain. The shop would be better if it stocked a few basics like toothpaste and water in my opinion but I guess the hotel needs to make money via the bars etc. Local village Porticello had a few nice restaurants, for a bit more nightlife head to Casteldaccia. It's almost better than Palermo in my
opinion. Pizzeria over the road (that doesn't serve pizza for lunch by the way!) was very average. Back to the hotel, if you want a retreat this place is wonderful but do some research if you plan to explore the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueMoki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Speaking in different languages stuff is really helpful with advising on best places to shop and sightseeing. Multilevel architectural design of hotel, garden, pools gives great view onto Golf of Palermo (look at the photo). Sea and pool with sea water fills with the energy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaMonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Location – For people who want to be close to Palermo but not in the city itself this hotel has a great position. It is right on the sea and offers fantastic views from the rooms as well as all the pools. We travelled into Palermo by train which took 25min each way with a service every 30min and by car it is about 20min.

Service – The service was very poor. I know it was the start of the season but most staff did not seem to be around. Most of the staff seem to pride themselves in not being able to speak English and seem to look down their noses at anyone who can not speak Italian.

Rooms – The hotel and the rooms are very bright with bold, pink, yellow and other bright colours. Not for everyone but it works with their modern hip image. The rooms are comfortable with good finishes but small.
Food – The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice and good quality food. However although breakfast opens at 0700 on the second day we had to leave for the airport so had to eat by 0730 and at that stage little had been put out and no one seemed to care. They also say they offer room service but when we phoned they said they did not offer room service. For dinner there was only a buffet which was not what we were looking for and for a hotel of this standard we thought the overall restaurant and eating options were poor.
Ambiance – The hotel has a very hip modern style which not everyone will like but I did and it works. The great sea views and the pool areas we enjoyed it.
It is worth noting that the pools are all salt water from what I could tell.

Overall the service was very poor but the hotel achieved what we were looking for, close to Palermo and on the coast with nice views. I would go again but I would be realistic about the service and food options.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagarella, Direttore generale at Domina Zagarella Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Dear Sir,
First of all we thank you very much for your review: we always treasure our guest’s comments, as our aim is to ensure the best service. This is the reason why we are investing in training our staff.
As regards the breakfast, we are sorry for the inconvenience, even though we are a bit surprised about it: the Buffet Breakfast is served from 7.00 am but, from 5.30 to 7.00, we provide a complimentary coffee service at the Reception, for our Guests with early check out.
As regards our Restaurant’s offer, we are proud to announce that we are ready to launch two extra Restaurants on our premises: the “Terrazza Porticello” - an exclusive à la carte Restaurant, where we propose extremely fresh seafood, flambé dishes, prestigious wines with few tables overlooking the Porticello Gulf - and the “Ristorante Amare”, by our relaxing and gorgeous Sea Pool: here our Guests can order meat and fresh fish from the BBQ, a wide choice of pastas, salads and brick-oven pizzas at lunch and dinner.
Wishing to have you again at Domina Home Zagarella, we take the opportunity to send you our best regards from Sunny Sicily!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We knew it was a design hotel from the photos we had seen while booking, but the very pink room was still a funny (but pleasant) surprise - it was very comfortable and well equipped too. After arrival we heard some strange noises but the receptionist told us that they would stop soon and wouldn’t start again for the time of our stay, and it was true (they were just finishing some refurbishing works).
Breakfast was plentiful and of very good quality, but although there were more staff members than guests present, nobody bothered to pick up our emptied plates, which was unusual especially since the reception staff was extremely kind and helpful with everything. Another small minus was the Internet service: very expensive; one would expect a four star hotel of this quality to offer this free of charge.
The garden was amazing and the swimming pools must be great during the summer season, but unfortunately the weather wasn’t warm enough for us to try them. Over all it was a very nice experience, we would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regrodioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wife and I wanted to be married on the shores in the town from were her people sailed to the USA from in 1913.We wanted a wedding by the sea.
We choose the Hotel Zagarella for it;s location, but after visiting the hotel staff he knew that this was the place to have our wedding and reception.
The hotel marketing staff and the chef convinced us that they were more than capable of supervising the entire event,music, flowers and seting up the out side ceremony for 62 people.
We had them handle the room resevation for all of our 28 guests from the USA including transportation from the airport. The hotel front desk staff assisted all of our gress with information on places visit for their four days stay,the hotel also provided us with a old fasion Siclian out door cook out including dancers,massages during the day and even ladies spa treatments.
They provided us with a once in a life time experance including beautiful weather,if your looking for the perfect place to be married in Italy here it is.
Special thanks to Stefania and Antiono for service over and above fantasic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 10236jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews