We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kungkungan Bay Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$125
$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lembeh Resort(Pulau Lembeh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
203
43
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
43
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive centrefishlembeh straitdive operationmuck divingwish listsitting roomtasik riahot chocolatedive staffwalk in showergreat divebeachfront cottageair conditionedfreshly baked cookiesfresh fruit and watertuna sashimi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 258 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2011

First of all, we were wondering weather we should book with KBR since other property is came to this market. But after we stayed with them, we know that we did make the right choice. The property have swimable beach with really good house reef so we can take our kids snorkeling there during our surface interval time. secondly, the location is not next to local village, so we dont have people watching us during our activity like other resort in the area. the beachfront is wide, so my wife and I can take evening romatic walk after kids went to bed. The location is also only minutes away from Indonesian navy & Police station, so we know the area is secure not like in Sipadan where the resort got attacked by the terorist from Phillipine, in fact we saw several Navy and police boat sailing around several times daily patroling the water. the staff are friendly and very helpful, the dive sites are frist class. food were great, little oily but overall it is of high quality. the pool was quite dirty with dead bird one morning, but that is the only negative thing I can think of regarding this property. In conclusion: KBR is the best property in Bitung, sure other resort have good management and great dive staff, but do they have the location of KBR? They dont.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suami_intan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Hi Intan,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kungkungan Bay Resort and thank you for taking time to write this review about experience with us.

We are proud to say that we are located in strategy place in Lembeh Strait which is easy to get access from and to airport as we are in the mainland and, Lembeh strait is protected by Police and Navy 24 hours.

Our resort is peaceful and far away from the local village. Everything at the resort is on one level to save you steps and you canall around. We are glad to hear that you made the right choice to stay with us and had a great time with us.

Our resort is exclusive and we like to keep our guests privacy during your stay with us. Our restaurant offers a variety of food, especially for those people who like Indonesian culinary. We provide specials for them every dinner.

We apology if you found the dead bird. Our resort is at the beach with tropical palm trees and there are always birds playing. We wish you the best and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Beary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I can't say enough about this hotel and the diving, not sure which was better! We arrived later than expected due to some delays during a day trip that ended at the KBR Resort. We were tired, hot and just wanted to go to sleep, but they convinced us to eat and just listen for a few moments about the hotel and what they needed from us to make our stay perfect. The briefing was only about 10 minutes, we filled out our paperwork, ordered our dinner from a very extensive menu. This is an all inclusive resort and you could order as many entrees and sides as your heart desired and my husband did - often! The menu is very westernized, meaning, in addition to traditional Indonesian/Asian fare, they have many Mexican, Tex-Mex, American dishes to choose from. My husband claims the Belgain waffle he had every morning was the best he ever had.

When we did go to our waterfront cottage (our group took up the whole resort minus one guest). All rooms face the ocean. We were asked to put our SCUBA gear in bags with name tags on them and leave them at our door. Sometime during the night someone picked up our things and got them to the dive dock and put our gear on the boat and arranged it all for us. It is concierge diving all the way. The diving was like nothing I have ever experienced and due to a mistake in drinking some local water, even a bit of gastrointestinal illness didn't keep me out of the water for any of the diving.

The restaurant staff knew ALL our names with in 36 hours and most of the rest of the staff knew our names when we provided our room numbers.

The spa was lovely, a 60 minute aromatherapy massage was approximately $25 USD. Tipping of any kind was discouraged and taken care of at the end of the vacation week, separated by Dive staff, Service Staff and Spa Staff.

The resort has a "camera" room near the dive dock with plenty of outlets, including 120V outlets and converters if needed.

The rooms boasted an outer sitting room, and they provided fresh litre bottled water each day. The bedroom was air conditioned and closed from the outer room and bathroom. The bathroom was huge with a well appointed shower and large counter as well as closet space and hangers. Laundry service was excellent.

WI FI was free in the lobby/restaurant and some of the cottages

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My husband is a keen diver - I snorkel. We both had a great time. We had a week at KBR than a week at Siladen. We enjoyed KBR more.
Diving and snorkelling were amazing as many other reviews have commented. As we had learned from Trip Advisor before our first visit, there are stinging hydroids in the sea. These are like being stung by a nettle except bad ones do produce blisters which take a few days to heal. Even shorts and a Tshirt are not enough protection. Bare arms and legs can suffer very badly. So strongly suggest wearing a stinger suit. Problem then solved. It stops sunburned legs too when snorkelling. My husband found the water very warm so he wore his stinger suit to dive in.
The pool is small but pleasant with sunbeds and beach towels provided. The new spa was very reasonably priced and very high quality - so I ended up having a massage most days.
We stayed in a traditional house. It was delightful with a stunning view across the Lembeh Straits. A modern bathroom with lots of hot water and a great shower was fantastic. A big comfortable bed and loads of space to store our kit added to the general comfort. We had free Wi-Fi in our room and used Skype to phone home as my mobile was not picking up a decent signal.
Food and service in the restaurant was very good and occasionally stunning. Fresh tuna to die for. Great breakfasts with Western and Asian choices. Mexican churros as an occasional treat.
A nice new bar above the restaurant was a welcome change since our last visit.
A few tweaks on presentation – such as prettier menus and a few brighter colours around the main building – would bring the feel of the

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Kungkungan is definitely a diver focussed resort but does have something to offer the non diver. it is just outside the town of Bitung about 1-1.5 hrs drive from Manado. The resort will provide a free transfer pick-up from the airport or from Manado town if you are coming from another resort on the Bunaken side.

The journey is pleasant. As you pass through the small towns and villages along the way you get to see a bit of local life and if you want you can stop at the fruit and food stalls along the way. The fresh fruit is unbelievable and so cheap compared to home. Do not expect your driver to speak good English - but if you're lucky he can teach you some Bahasa Indonesian.

The resort itself is outside of Bitung town and relatively speaking quite isolated. There are no shops to pop too and unless you arrange a special trip into town you are unlikely to move out of the resort except on your dive trips. If you are a non diver, it is a very relaxed place to stay and there is a lovely pool and spa area. But on site there is not much else.

The resort itself is quite small, well maintained and the accommodation lovely. There is a central reception building which houses front desk, the bar and the restaurant where you have breakfast, lunch and dinner. This building also has a communal computer for general use and a library of books for borrowing or swapping. There are a few t-shirts etc for sale (and some limited bits of dive equipment) but KBR has no no actual shop. They don't even sell basics like sun tan cream so don't come short on toiletries thinking you can get them on site.

The dinning area is big and spacious with an outside balcony over the sea where you can eat your lunch or dinner and the bar is upstairs. Although it's a lovely area, it felt a bit soulless - as did the bar. Having come from an intimate, almost family like resort in Bunaken, where we all ate at communal tables, it felt a bit strange to be eating in a big "restaurant" in what was still a small resort. I'm also sure my husband and I were the only people who actually went up to the bar to have a drink before dinner the whole time we were there.

The food itself was fine but unadventurous. I good choice across local and international foods. Definitely something for everyone but personally I would love to have seen more authentic (and spicy) indonesian food on the menu. If you are a diver, your lunch order is taken when you come in off your first dive of the day so that it is ready for you when you come in from you second. Good planning and it all seems to work smoothly.

We stayed in a beachfront villa and were delighted with the standard of our accommodation. It was spacious and felt unique and special. It was about five minutes walk to the dive centre and a couple more to the main building. It also had all the features/extras you would want - tv, air con, mini bar, tea & coffee, free wi fi, balcony etc. The bathroom was big and there was little we could fault with the room or the room service.

And finally the diving and the dive service. Fantastic. A smoothly run (personal, attentive and enthusiastic) machine. We couldn't have asked for more. Kaj runs the dive centre brilliantly and the dive guides are great. At no other resort or dive centre have we been greeted back after every dive by the dive manager asking how our dive was. Yet Kaj seemed to manage this for every boat and diver.

The centre itself is well run and efficient and the guides know both what they are looking for and what they are talking about. Our dive boat averaged about 7 divers each day and we never dived with more than four in a group. The dive sites are never more than about ten minutes from KBR and you return to the resort after every dive. Water and fruit are on every dive boat for when yo finish your dive.

The dives are luxuriously long 60 - 80 mins and I can genuinely say I saw everything I had hoped and more. I don't think this is the kind or resort to come to if you want to get your dive qualifications or if you are newly qualified. It is muck diving at its absolute best - but not for everyone.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HBomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Just returned from a stay here diving and enjoying the hospitality of the resort, staff were all excellent could not do enough for you and very friendly.
Dive staff were of same calibre and dive operation very smoothly ran, the hot chocolate, coffee and tea provided after first dive of day a great meeting point to talk about the weird and wonderful creatures to be seen here.
A relaxing retreat for divers and non divers alike offering an excellent spa for those little extra indulgences, hope to visit again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews