We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kungkungan Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at KBR for 2 weeks in April 2013 to meet our friends Michelle and Michel from Canada. There is not much to add to their reports, except that we also visited the SPA several times and it was just lovely.

We have been to many places allover the world. But we have never been to a place like KBR, where everybody is so unbelievably friendly, always helpful, cordial and likable.
They are like a big family and they just make you feel at home from the moment you get there.
And this makes KBR one of the most wonderful places we've ever visited.

Thank you all for making us feel like staying with friends
Bettina and Martin

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Makaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write.

The spa has been a great addition to our service, and we are glad you enjoyed all the treatment.

It was very nice to get to know you. We are very fortunate to have all these wonderful team of staff who does everything they can to make your stay a special one. We love to know that you feel like you find families here at KBR. You are now part of KBR family.

All of us here enjoy having four of you here, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I spent 14 nights at KBR in May 2013. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the resort and its staff. The staff truly treat everyone like family, and they could not have been kinder to my children (ages 8 and 5).

Only my husband went diving, and only two dives, so most of our time was spent swimming in the pool, snorkeling, enjoying the wonderful meals and the terrific Billy's Bar. The swimming pool is wonderful to play in for all ages, and the staff will deliver drinks and snacks to the poolside bar.
The snorkeling off the house reef is amazing and wonderful for young snorkelers. Three mornings we rented a boat to take us to different snorkeling sites. The snorkeling was amazing at every site.
The massages are quite good, and the price is reasonable. The food is excellent with great selections and the staff are always willing to accommodate different tastes.
My only complaint is the 21% service charge that they tack onto everything. On the other hand, there is no tipping, which is a relief.
I will miss the lovely breakfasts overlooking the house reef teeming with fish.

Room Tip: We had a lovely two bedroom close to the restaurant. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBR_Management, Manager at Kungkungan Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the good review. We are glad you and the children enjoyed the stay, you had been a part of our family from the first day you arrived. Such a wonderful family like yours has made our job very easy.

We are glad you are happy with the food, our well trained chefs and the kitchen team are willing to cater to the culinary needs.

Our private house reef is a great site for snorkeler and very easy to spot the wonderful critters.
Further on the service charge, just to explain, we only charge a 10% service charge and the rest is government Sales Tax.

Thank you for choosiing KBR, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the resort in early May 2013. The muck diving was fascinating and really well organised. We were delighted with the dive guides and the dive manager, Stefan, was highly professional and most attentive. The staff at the resort were friendy and helpful at all times. The rooms were marvellous (right on the water) and the meals were OK. The drinks in the bar were pricey; that's probably why the bar was deserted most of the time we were there. If you plan to visit the resort we suggest you bring your own gin. The Wi-Fi was erratic and frustrating; it could easily be fixed. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynandMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at KBR with a group of (mostly) divers from California. We traveled to Lembeh to experience the unique "muck" diving for which Lembeh Strait is famous. The diving did not disappoint. The bonus was the first class treatment we received at the resort.

The suites are charming and comfortable. Resort staff, who are uniformly friendly, gracious, and eager to please, bent over backwards to fulfill every request. Kitchen staff baked 5 individual birthday cakes for our group.

Dive staff provided concierge dive services. Once our gear was set up to our specifications, we didn't have to lift a finger again. They were always available to help snorkelers or divers who wanted to forego boat diving and just explore the beautiful house reef.

The dive guides have super-human vision and are exceptional at spotting minute (1/4") creatures that blend into the background.

The dive and resort management are focused on providing the best guest experience possible. They succeeded!

Thanks for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: I recommend any of the cottages. Once our air conditioning was fixed, 3-A was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to Kungkungan Bay Resort for 16 days, and they have surpassed our expectations from last year.

The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and they do anything they can to make your stay first class. If there is something you would like to eat which is not on their extensive menu, all you have to do is ask, and they will make it for you. The hotel managers Linda Ais and Berry really go out of their way to ensure that you have everything you need or want, and we really appreciated their hospitality.

The dive team is first class, and everything is put on the boat for you for every dive, and they strive to find whatever creature you want to see - they even found the elusive blue ring octopus for us twice, which was something we have always wanted to see. The outgoing dive managers Kai and Barb were great with advice and information, and thanks to Barb, she gave me some tips for my camera settings which greatly improved my underwater pictures. The new dive manager Stefan was also very helpful and friendly, and he will be a good addition to the staff.

The rooms are very comfortable and large, and we enjoyed many hours relaxing on our balcony enjoying the serenity of the resort. WIFI is available throughout the resort and we enjoyed using it in our room or on the balcony.

Everything was excellent - the food, the rooms, especially the staff and of course the diving. We will definitely go back, as we have not found another dive resort we have been to in SE Asia or the Caribbean which even comes close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScubadiversM-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife, daughter and I had looked forward to this trip for months eagerly checking out the different reviews written about this resort. Almost every review we read rated the resort very high and now we know why. The staff at KBR impressed us every single day we were there. The extra care and service they provided made you feel as if you were extremely important to them and that they valued you as a guest. The food was excellent, the staff was great, and the attention we received was amazing. We were also very impressed with the cabins as well as the dive staff that took great care of us each day.
Thanks for a great vacation KBR!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Paid a half day hit-and-run visit to Kungkungan. After one dive and a meal we left impressed by the quality of management of the resort and, of course, the beauty and versatility of Lembeh Strait as a destination for some truly unique diving experiences. Thanks for taking such good care of us!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
8  Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bitung hotels
0.9 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
633 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
12.5 mi away
Kalinaun Resort - Lembeh & Bangka
1.7 mi away
K2 Dive Resort
K2 Dive Resort
#3 of 5 in Pulau Lembeh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kungkungan Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kungkungan Bay Resort

Address: Tandurusa, Bitung, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bitung
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
Price Range: $145 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kungkungan Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kungkungan Bay Resort (KBR to its friends and soon to be friends) is proud to be the resort that introduced Lembeh Strait to the world. Being the first resort in Lembeh means we got first choice on locations. Our resort is located in its own private bay which the resort is named after. KBR is the only Sea Level Luxury resort in Lembeh. KBR is a full service resort which includes The only 24hrs full menu service Restaurant in Lembeh, Capt. Billy's Bar serving American Bar Food and Great Drinks, our full service Tepi Laut Spa (Seaside Spa) does Massages, Beauty Treatments, Manicures and Pedicures, and of course our PADI Dive Center with Equipment and Camera Rentals and 32% NITROX. Come join us and we will put the Dream into you next Dive Vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kungkungan Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kungkungan Bay Hotel Bitung
Kungkungan Bay Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing