We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Very helpful manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bitung
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great Service and Very helpful manager”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

i stayed in the resort in Nov 2013. The resort is clean and i opted for the basic room without air-con and cold water shower. Even though it was the cheapest accommodation available, the view was magnificent. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and everyday there was a different menu. Staff at resort were helpful and polite. Most importantly, they were accommodating and went the extra miles to meet customers' needs. A important note, the staff seem to enjoy working in the resort and they sing and dance and there seems to be a genuine party mood. The Swiss manager was very attentive and patient. The dive guides and dive crews were experienced and helpful. Well done! Keep it up!

Room Tip: if you have weak knees light mine please choose the lowest accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogfish_noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    53
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
62
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent hospitality and very friendly team of staff lead by the resort manager Thomas.
Room is great. Aircond, hot shower and comfortable bed.
No problem with the food. 24 hours snack and coffee available.
Diving is excellent. Very good visibility.DM and crews are great and helpful.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the sea. You get a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Bastianos is a real good place to stay and dive the muck of the Lembeh straight. Management and staff are very welcoming, helpful & friendly. The diving centre is well run with good guides with superb eyes for the macro stuff. We rented the diving gear: it's all good, well maintained and safe. Food is good, the pool has a stunning view, so do the bungalows and (standard) rooms. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTravellerDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Let's make it clear, the rooms, food and location of this resort are great...but I had to rate it badly for the lack of professionalism concerning the dives and most of all, their scuba gear which was in very bad condition. My friends and I stayed 3 days in the resort and had issues with scuba gear the 8 times we dived: dysfunctional pressure gauges, leaky tanks, leaky/foamy masks, damaged wet suit...etc. When we mentioned that to the resort manager, he did not care much and actually wanted us to pay full price for the dysfunctional scuba gear...In conclusion, DO NOT GO THERE IF YOU HAVE TO RENT YOUR SCUBA GEAR !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanchez81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastianos D, Manager at Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi there, I was quite shocked to read this review until I realised it was september last year that you visited us, some 9 months ago
I am the new manager of Bastianos Lembeh as of november last year, and can alleviate any concerns people may have regarding this post by saying we have changed our whole equipment (BCD, regs and wet suits) since I have taken over
Sorry you had a bad experience with us in the past though
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Bastianos in June. The managers Dave and Lauriane went out of their way to ensure we had a great time throughout our trip, and all the staff we met were really friendly. The accommodation is really nice, clean rooms with amazing views over the bay, really comfortable beds and I loved the bathrooms. The food was excellent, a mix of Indonesian and Western food and served with a smile! It's location is brilliant, close to some incredible dive sites and of course the diving is top class. The restaurant has views over the bay and there's a swimming pool where you can chill out after a dive. I would definitely recommend this resort if you're looking for somewhere friendly, relaxing and world-class diving. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the place - its beautiful and well run. Dave the resort manager is great!!!

I wished I could have stayed there for a week.

The diving was splendid - but only if you are interested in macro stuff. But this is what Lembeh Straits is famous for. If you want to see pygmy seahorses, hairy frogfishes, nudibranches, bluering octopus, decorator crabs and all the assorted variety of tiny creatures - this is really the place to be.

I found the resort to be really nice, well built and designed and decorated. Love the hand made solid wooden furniture - even opening the drawers brings out a pleasant sandelwood or camphor fragrance. There was also a lovely outdoor pool overlooking the bay.

I went in late February and there was only two other divers there. This mean that you don't have to "share" the Dive guides with other divers - and you can more personal attention. I found my dive guide - Steven - to be really helpful and eagle eyed. I was continually amazed by what he could find.

Resort wise - I really liked the place- I found it a a very calm and tranquil environment. Bring along some books and perhaps a travel computer loaded with movies to watch.

Probably the only thing missing was... more fresh fruit. The dooku/loong kong (looks like a small potato - flesh texture like that of a grape - has a sweet or sweet/sour taste) season was on - and it would have been lovely if the resort had purchased the fresh fruit from the local village for us to eat. I brought some along the way there but the young kitchen staff placed them in the freezer and ruined them.

It would also have been nice if the resort had an in-house masseur. They did have one but she was only there during the day.

Anyhow I'd go back there again - the next time for a week.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yauming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights, 2 full days diving.
I read various review about this resort. I chose this resort simply my prefered reasort were not available for short notice of my last minutes trip.
They arranged the pick-up service from the airport, the worst driver ever, I could smell alcohol from his mounth which keep talking while driving - he said he drink a bit to celebarte new year; and no drunk - which was not true, many times I had to warn him to drive carefully.

The resort itself was nice, clean, with beautiful garden and nice pool, probably located in one of the best location on Lembeh island.
I booked the standard room, since the room was not ready when I arrived, they upgraded to bungalow for one night only; they next day I moved to the standard room.
No coffee maker in the room, no complimentary water, and no soap in the room, I asked to the receptionis - need 3 reminders and took 8 hours just to get the soap, which is a whitening beauty soap. Probably her own soap.

Food was not bad, but nothing special. Wifi reception in the standard room was intermitently.

Diving in Lembeh is always good for macro lovers, and they have Opo - the most experienced and probabaly the best dive guides in Lembeh. Without him, I will rate this resort below lembeh average.

If managed well, Bastianos can be one of the best resort in Lembeh, but not this time

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisnu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastianos D, Manager at Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that you had some bad experiences at our resort
I totally agree that having a driver representing Bastianos and being under the influence is completely unacceptable, unfortunately in this instance all our drivers were on leave being you arrived late at night on the 1st of January, which is a big celebratory evening in Indonesia. We hired a private taxi to pick you up from the airport and of course had no idea this man had been drinking and after hearing this news we will not be using him again
We don't have any kettles inside our rooms but we do offer 24 hours self service tea and coffee in our restaurant and drinking water is available from our dispensers also 24 hours a day. We give a water bottle to each guest upon arrival, which can be refilled throughout the day. Being divers we all know the negative effect plastic is having on our seas, so here we try to minimise the unnecessary pollution by reducing the amount of bottles we use
Maybe you'd like to know also that as of the end of january we took a new, experienced, chef in the kitchen
I'm glad to hear though that our guide did what they do best and that you liked our resort and it's surroundings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bitung
1.2 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 2 in Pulau Lembeh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eco Divers Resort Lembeh
24.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DABIRAHE Dive, Spa and Leisure Resort (Lembeh)
2.6 mi away
Cocotinos Lembeh, A Boutique Dive Lodge
32.6 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#2 of 46 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort

Property: Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort
Address: Lembeh Island, Bitung, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bitung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bitung
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bitung
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched idyllically on the west coast of Lembeh Island, overlooking the strait is Bastianos Dive Resort at Lembeh Island (then it's called Bastianos Lembeh). The key feature of Bastianos Lembeh is that it has surprisingly good facilities yet retains a very modest price. The resort has an elevated swimming pool and large open-air common room with superb sea views, free wi-fi internet connectivity, satellite TV and spa room - facilities one might expect from a mid- to high- budget resort and not one of such clear affordability. The rooms are also of a relative good quality, with Superior cottages that can be rented as air-conditioned or fan only, and Standard rooms for those looking for the cheapest deal. The cottages are stand alone properties for more guest privacy, whereas the Standard rooms are adjoining but close to the water's edge. The resort prides itself on its social atmosphere. It is a popular choice for regular divers just wanting to dive, have fun and meet people, not really for 'hardcore' diver photographers that want to do nothing but spend their time underwater. Divers will, however, appreciate our dedicated camera room and the well-appointed dive center complete with DIN/Int compatible tanks as well as nitrox and the full range of rental equipment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bastianos Lembeh Diving Hotel Bitung
Bastianos Lembeh Dive Resort Bitung, Indonesia - Sulawesi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing