We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bada Valley and Jungle”

Lore Lindu National Park
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Palu
Attraction details
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bada Valley and Jungle”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did a 2-day trip, organized by the people from Victoria Hotel@Tentena. The first day we went through the Bada Valley (by car), the second day (after sleeping in the jungle) we hiked through the jungle and spotted a large group of macaque and 2 hornbills. Beautiful trip, that can be done with children (8+).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank RTiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Palu
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“natural world and lungs”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

adventure is quite interesting when we've been in a national park in the district lorelindu torch Kulawi district in Central Sulawesi province, here are snails that live only in two places in the world, namely in Indonesia (Central Sulawesi earthquake and lakes in Africa), a unique and very excellent for tropical forest research sites perfectly with the wilderness.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Zulfan_Yacoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quite spectacular”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We hired a car and guide from Donggala to visit Lore Lindu. We stayed in Kamarora (homestay) at about 1000m above sea level (eastern side of the National Park).
The guide took us through a river gorge that starts in Kamarora up into the park. Steep high walls of more than 50m high with a lot of orchids and interesting geology. It feels like you're the first visitor! A real Indiana Jones experience. Not for beginners, but not too difficult. We saw a lot of big butterflies and our guide explains us about the vegetation. Hornbills also live there, but we didn't see one. It's very difficult to decide to go back, because it's so tempting to look behind the next corner!
At the homestay they offer us (very good) palm wine. The food is quite basic, but our non English speaking hosts are very friendly.

Next day we take the (bad and quiet) road from Kamarora through the mountains (spectacular views, alpine vegetation, we saw monkeys and snakes from the car) to Wuasa (beautiful open plateau on 1000m altitude with prairie, monoliths, pine forests), Watutau (more monoliths) and finally to Tentena. A long drive but worth it. We saw no other tourists.

We saw only a slice of Lore Lindu, but we can recommend it!

Our guide was enthousiastic, his English is good. His name is Junaido Kariso (junaidokariso@yahoo.com, +62 853 9910 5113).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Philip076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lore Lindu is a long way from Palu up in the mountains over some of the worst roads imaginable. That said, the bird watching can't be beat. You will need a guide and a driver if you go. We stayed at the Sendy Lodge in Wuasa for 4 days The rooms have good screens, clean, comfortable beds and western toilets. The food was really good, especially the donuts at breakfast! Imagine a hot, cake donut drizzled with sweetened condensed milk and then sprinkled with a very mild cheese. The staff don't speak much English but they are so nice and helpful. We also spent time visiting small towns in the area and looking at megaliths, springs and lakes. If you go, try and contact Idris, a bird guide in the area. He does speak English and he knows his birds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank TruthCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lore Lindu National Park also viewed

Palu, Central Sulawesi
Palu, Central Sulawesi
 
Tentena, Central Sulawesi
 

Been to Lore Lindu National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing