We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Resort & Nature Tours
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very friendly staff. Very nice surroundings. We did 2 nice trips with a guide who speaks English well.
Food in the hotel are big portions but the price is a bit steep, beer is expensive!
Minus:mattress smells, maybe nasty and the restaurant was a bit dirty; every day the same dirty tableclothes with dead insects on it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cawereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Highland Resort & Nature Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a standard room wich is the "cheapest" (43USD). The room we got was next to reception on the entrance. The room was very dark, damp and smelly (there's no sunlight coming in). It was ok, but no mosquitoe net, the bed was very uncomfortable, and no sheet between you and the blanket wich was stinky and old, together with the pillows, everything smelled of damp.
We try the food at the resto, it was expensive but not good. To get more food you can go to the resort next door (5min) or walk to the main road (10min) where there is 1 resto (they only sell fried chicken with rice and salad, but is cheap and good).
The breakfast is included, and they can bring it to your room, we asked for this but it wasn't good at all and it was cold.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they have a nice garden with a nice view, but only the more expensive rooms have this view.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. It's a lovely setting, well looked after, nicely landscaped with lovely views and comfortable and clean bungalow. Lovely comfy beds too. It's easy to get to some of the local sights on microlets. The staff were really friendly and helpful and they take real concern for their guests. Charlie speaks excellent English and looked after us well. I'd read the other reviews about the food and it is very expensive, so we didn't eat there except one evening when we were too knackered to go back out. If you ask for pancakes for breakfast though, they're fab. There are restaurants in town you can get to easily and the restaurants back down the road towards Tomohom serve some lovely dog dishes. I doubt you'll find anywhere nicer to stay in Tomohon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie L, Manager at Highland Resort & Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for your comment, it has been a pleasure to have you with us!
Regarding the food in our restaurant, yes, it certainly is a bit more expensive than in a regular roadside restaurant in Tomohon. However, I don't feel that the difference is really big. The problem for a small resort like ours is that we never really know if we have 2 or 20 guests for dinner, so it's a lot more difficult to plan ahead than for a restaurant which has 200 guests each day. But in any case, I will consider your input and try to improve things in the future.
I hope we can welcome you again one day.

Best wishes,

Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Six jours tres agreables dans cet hotel, dans une belle region visitee en motorbike, quand il ne pleuvait pas trop. Bons repas servis 24/24h, tres bon rapport qualite/prix et personnel tres souriant.
Six marvelous days in this resort, very nice place visited with rented motorbike rented in hotel. Good meal, served 24/24h, very smiling service... Nice

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nice location and a very nice bungalow. Me and my girlfriend had a great massage. Unfortually their food was terrible. It was expensive but not even the simpliest they could make. Maybe a new chef? Not so much other options for food in the area. Unless you go for the delicacies in the Tomohon market :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie L, Inhaber at Highland Resort & Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I'm not sure what has happened at the time of your stay, we normally don't receive complaints about our food, as you can see from other reviews. However, I will take a good look at it and make sure that this won't happen again.
Unfortunately I can't be at the resort personally all the time; this is why there is a note with my personal mobile number in each room. Our guests should not hesitate to call me immediately if there is any kind of problem and I will try to fix it immediately, at any time of the day or the night. Maybe we need to highlight this a bit more in the future.
I hope you will return to North Sulawesi and give us (or our food) another chance then.
Best wishes,
Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

two week ago, we have Booking on this hotel. also we bring tourist also for sleep on this Hotel. and this hotel give us Indonesian Rupiah Price. and when we arrive hotel reception said we must Pay with Eur Money, because some of us is Western People... (tourist)

actually, we need to use this Hotel again, but he said if tourist even have the Guide we must Pay in Euro. and for reception people is very slow service.. also Counting the Billing Note.. too many time recalculation with Stupid Calculator Machine! he said, we are normally with western Tourist sleep here... but! this is Indonesia...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie L, Inhaber at Highland Resort & Nature Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Aris, thanks a lot for your review. Please allow me to add a few comments so that we can avoid any further misunderstandings in the future.

As clearly mentioned on our website all our rates are in Euro since this is what the majority of our guests prefer. However, like almost all hotels and resorts in Indonesia we also offer lower Rupiah rates for local guests. When we received your booking by telephone our impression was that all guests in your group would be locals since we were not told otherwise. When the group then arrived at the resort 4 of them were foreign tourists, so our staff set the prices accordingly - Euro for the foreigners and the lower Rupiah rate for the Indonesian tour guides, in accordance with our policy. Other guides are perfectly fine with this, I'm not sure why this is a problem for you.

For the delay on checkout I want to apologize. Apparently our staff had forgotten to add the guests' laundry bill to the total. I would think that few minutes delay on checkout are acceptable though. Considering that one of our staff members chased your car to return the credit card which was forgotten at the office I feel that overall the team at Highland Resort has done quite ok.

Please feel free to contact us anytime again if you feel that this issue needs further clarification.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

1st time visitors and it was very economical and quiet location and staff were very helpful. We did day treking tour which was most enjoyable as was the complementary massage. We did not avail to the spa or hot springs due to our time restraints but would recommend the Highland resort as a definite place to stay if you are intending to come to Tomohon. WI FI worked well but the TV reception was poor so internet was the source of evening entertainment.

Room Tip: no air con or fans in rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAFromBalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomohon
8.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 45 in Manado
542 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grand Luley Manado
Grand Luley Manado
#2 of 45 in Manado
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Onongs Palace
Onongs Palace
#3 of 4 in Tomohon
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jhoanie Hotel
Jhoanie Hotel
#3 of 9 in Tomohon
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Lake Linow Resort
Green Lake Linow Resort
#1 of 4 in Tomohon
12 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
#10 of 45 in Manado
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Resort & Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Resort & Nature Tours

Address: Kinilow Jaga VI, Tomohon 95362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Tomohon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Price Range: $25 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Resort & Nature Tours 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Sulawesi has a lot more to offer than Bunaken. The Highland Resort and Spa is an ideal place to base yourself in the volcanic highland area near Manado. Our unique resort offers a cool respite from the tropical heat of the city, and a quiet venue to relax and enjoy the lush vegetation and birdlife found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highland Resort & Nature Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing