We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden gem in a beautiful unspoiled natural place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Resort & Nature Tours
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

A unique resort with a close team of young people to serve you more than 5 stars from the moment you wake up until bedtime. Any request is followed up immediately and correctly, especially the full day local area tour we all enjoyed so much! We have been traveling all over Indonesia for the past 10 years but we must say that we were impressed by the Manado peoples lifestyle of Love, Care and Cooperation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Passie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 170 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were very pleased to stay a week at Highland resort. Especially the staff was very friendly. Price/quality was very good. Tours were well organized and rooms were clean.
The climate here is wonderful compared to Manado which was to hot for us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Highland Resort as they offered us a night for free if we stayed 3 nights. Brilliant decision on our part! We booked ahead for a delux room as the Standard rooms were all booked and when we arrived, we were informed that the delux rooms were all full. No problem for the very helpful staff and management, they upgraded us to a suite for the full 4 days. What abeautiful room - huge bed with great mosquito net, TV, balcony with bell to summon a member of staff if you wanted anything - no need to walk down the (small) hill to the restaurant. We had a great breakfast on our balcony each morning (included in the price), with views towards the volcano - fantastic way to start the day. The staff were fantastic, even if the trainees were a little unconfident in their English skills, they did every thing they could to make our stay enjoyable - they smiled easily and tried very hard to help at all times - their English put our very lacking Indonesian to shame, so no complaints there! The lady who showed us to our room and genrally looked after everyone, was fantastic - again easy smiles and nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent too - a little slow on the cook's day off, but nothing worth complainting about. The room was cleaned daily - and a proper clean too, which can be lacking in sone places. We also got a free transfer to the airport as we had booked the delux room - well worth the extra for the comfort of the vehicle and ease of travel. When we left, the manager and his staff all came out to wave us off - a nice touch! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel - keep up the good work Highland Resort!!

Room Tip: Not far from Manado, but far enough away from the noise and chaos of the city. Plenty of bemos going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed at Highland Resort for 5 nights in September 2011. I had just been working hard as a volunteer at a wildlife sanctuary for a few weeks and this was the perfect place to unwind and chill out. The staff was so lovely, in particular Aty the cook, who made me special vegetarian meals every day - thank you Aty! I did a tour with Michael, who took me to see beautiful Linow Lake and the Pulatan pottery centre and the beautiful weaving at the Bentenar Centre.
The setting at Highland is stunning, the grounds are beautifully maintained and my room was just gorgeous - clean, spacious, everything made of wood and just such a lovely environment to chill out in. I had several massages at the Spa with the lovely Yona, which were very gentle and relaxing. The resort is close to Tomohon and reasonably close to Manado if you want to go to the city, but I just enjoyed being able to spend some time with my book and having a look around the local area. Special mention to Aty again for taking me to her village for the celebrations of North and South Sulawesi's independence. A unique experience I will never forget. Lovely people, lovely food, lovely environment.

Room Tip: Check out their website for specials. I got a great deal where I got 4 nights for the price of three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Highland Resort last august and would definitively recommend it. The bungalows are clean and spacious, the restaurant serves a good local food and service is excellent.
The rate for the room + breakfast is a very good value in the area.
The owners helped us a lot in arranging various things : motorbike, rafting .. and giving us many tips for our trips around.
We had a very relaxing time - exactly what we needed - and can strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coralie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights here. After the tropical heat and very noisy and poluted city of manado, this place was a cool heaven for us. The staff is the most friendliest I have ever met on all my travels. They speak very well english and are very helpfull with providing information.

We had a delux room/cabin. Very big and comfortable with hot water-shower. The view is a a green valley. It does not have volcano view but the good part is that it does not have the noise of traffic in the valley either (we heard that about Oonong's palace nextdoor but didn't check it ourselves).

The restaurant is OK to. Breakfast is included and very good, you can choose what breakfast you want, what time and where (restaurant or your own veranda). We did a spa treatment (you get one for free and we paid for the second one (190.000) Not cheap for indonesian standards but very well done indeed.

The location of the hotel is such that getting around is a bit more work. Either walk down the hill 300 meter and take mikrolets and buses from Kinilow to Tomohan, or rent a driver of scooter. The latter we did and we had lots of fun driving through the area. We climbed Gunung Mahawu since Gunung Lokon was active when we were there.

The resort and area is very nice as change of scenery and compared to the hot and tropical area of north sulawesi. We absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Had a very nice stay for 5 nights. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. For our sons birthday they even organized a birthday cake as a surprise!

Pick up from our former hotel and transfer to the next place worked very well.

Food is good, but it takes a long time to be prepared (it is freshly made and tastes different every time)

We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomohon
8 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
13.2 mi away
Janji Laut Resort
Janji Laut Resort
#1 of 1 in Ranowangko
84 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aryaduta Manado
Aryaduta Manado
#1 of 44 in Manado
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Green Lake Linow Resort
Green Lake Linow Resort
#1 of 4 in Tomohon
12 reviews
2.9 mi away
Leos Hotel
Leos Hotel
#4 of 10 in Tomohon
8 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tasik Ria Resort Manado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Resort & Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Resort & Nature Tours

Address: Kinilow Jaga VI, Tomohon 95362, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Tomohon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomohon
Price Range: $23 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Resort & Nature Tours 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Sulawesi has a lot more to offer than Bunaken. The Highland Resort and Spa is an ideal place to base yourself in the volcanic highland area near Manado. Our unique resort offers a cool respite from the tropical heat of the city, and a quiet venue to relax and enjoy the lush vegetation and birdlife found here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highland Resort & Nature Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing