We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainforest Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in Bukit Lawang for just 2 night, but we loved the place. The nature is beautiful! river and jungle all in one!

We arrived late in Bukit Lawang,so we were taken to the geusthouses. We stoped at Rainforest because it looked really nice en cosy. We got to see two rooms. A room for 80.000rp (twinbed, private bathroom with western toilet, cold shower) and a room for 75.000rp (twin matress on the floor, private bathroom with western toilet). We choose 75.000rp because it had a jungle touch to it. the walls were like a rock. There was also a clamboo witch was really nice! because there were musquitoos.

On the next day we went on a jungle trek, so we had to get up early (8 o'clock we had breakfast). Will we were having breakfast, there were makai monkeys jumping on the roofs and walking over de electricity lines. They didn't steal your food, they just waited untill you were finished :) So there are a lot of monkeys to see in the morning!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

If I could go back to BL, this is where I would stay. Even though I didn't stay here, I ate in the restaurant three times - the food is outstanding and an exceptionally good value. Sometimes the cooking / service is a little slow, but it's totally worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rainforest guesthouse (2 nights then we went trekking 3 days and one last night). We had the room at 80,000 pesos which is a good value for money with large double bed, clean bathroom, terrasse and hamac.
The staff is more than friendly, very social place with local people singing or playing card at night time.
I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to Bukit Lawang and wants to experience the happiness of the local people despite some dramas in 2003.
The swimming pool is by the river!!!

Room Tip: All of them are good. We had the bungalows away from the center/social place were it can be noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popov66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I didn't stay here, but I came here for most of my meals. The staff are incredibly friendly and the evenings are filled with music and singing.

Their restaurant food is good and, naturally, inexpensive.

I also signed up for their cooking class - 100'000 INR/person, minimum 2 people. There is a good a selection of dishes you can choose from. Cooking time is about 90minutes and you'll get to enjoy your self cooked meal at the end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The staff make this place, the girls In the kitchen are friendly and fun, playing guitar and games in the evening, and always happyto chat. It's easy to arrange the jungle walks here, though Nora herself is quite pushy about them. The cooking class is good fun, though maybe slightly overpriced. But this is definitely the most happening destination in Bukit Lawang with a good vibe at night!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

In my opinion is a really dirty guesthouse, especially the bathroom. But the staff is kind and helpful. The best thing is eating there, very recommendable their Indonesian food, don't try the pizza, eastern food isn't their element.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelKSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rainforest staff are friendly, helpful, and fun. Rooms are clean, bamboo-style, and comfortable. Awesome music, eating/drinking near the river, and a perfect location in the middle of town - close to shopping & more restaurants downriver and more guesthouses/feeding platform/tubing upriver. The food is some of the best and cheapest for a guesthouse! (Meals between 2-4 USD). Plenty of restaurant/balcony seating around the guesthouse for reading and relaxing. They can arrange your orangutan and forest trekking in Gunung Leuser. You can also reserve trekking & rooms before - call Dede @ +6282164640452 or norasrainforest@yahoo.com.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indonesia_Travel_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukit Lawang hotels
0.1 mi away
EcoTravel Cottages Bukit Lawang
0 mi away
Hotel Orangutan
Hotel Orangutan
#2 of 2 in Bukit Lawang
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junia Guest House
Junia Guest House
#6 of 35 in Bukit Lawang
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
Ecolodge Bukit Lawang
#7 of 35 in Bukit Lawang
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jungle Hut & Trek Sumatra
Jungle Hut & Trek Sumatra
#16 of 35 in Bukit Lawang
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Bamboo
Brown Bamboo
#6 of 26 in Bukit Lawang
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Guesthouse

Address: Jl. Orang Utan Center | Bukit Lawang, Bukit Lawang 20774, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Bukit Lawang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bukit Lawang
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainforest Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Guesthouse Bukit Lawang, Sumatra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing