We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back to Nature Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Back to Nature Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Bukit Lawang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gerroa australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here fortuitously on 2nd day of organised trek through independent trekking company. The place,vibe,staff and visions of owner-Aca are WOW I just want to go back and hangout in this amazing beautiful creation. I can imagine returning to stay sometime it is low key beautiful chilled space to re charge..make sure you give time to soak up this special space.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
38
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
BaliSan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great staff. Fantastic scenery. River for swimming. Jungle trekking. Family food with staff. Singing around a bonfire. Interesting conversations with other guests and staff. All made out of wood and natural material. Cleansening steambath and healing massage. Chilled out athmosphere.
I also stayed much longer than originally planned...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I miss this place! It is such an awesome eco-friendly guesthouse. This was our first stop on Sumatra and although we wanted to see more of Sumatra, we were not able to leave paradise. Instead of 2 nights we stayed 9. The people who work there are truly the best! They do everything to make you happy. Dian cooked us the best meals, showed us her magic trics in the kitchen, took us on field trips and really made us feel at home. We did several treks in both the private jungle of Back to Nature as the National Park and even went to a huge waterfall. All of our guides where really experienced, see everything (animals, plants, fruits) and really look after you. If we didn't want to go to visit the jungle we swam in the river, walked in the medicin garden or visited the village. Bukit Lawang is definately a great place if you want to escape busy cities and if you want to see Orang Utans! It is a bit of a challenge to get from the bus terminal to the hotel, but if you call beforehand some really strong guys will come to help you with your bags and with the zipline. You'll get used to the walk soon enough. Since there is no ATM in Bukit Lawang and you can only pay cash it is advisable to bring enough. The rooms are spaceous with a bit matress on the floor. The beds where built while we where there, so they should be finished by now. You'll have a private bathroom with shower next to your room, but outside! In the morning the water is really cold, but if you wait a couple of hours the sun did his job. The price is just fine: IDR 125.000 for a corner room and IDR 100.000 for a room in the middle.
This is by far the best hotel I have visited during my trip to Indonesia and I will go back. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madebylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Anaclet, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The most peacefull and awsome destination of my trip into Indonesia was at Back to nature. The staff there are amazing, and they make you fell like a member of the family. Dian do the best banana pancake , and if you take the cheap deal with the breakfast and dinner, you gonna eat like a king for all the time you pass there.
The ride to the guesthouse itself are a immersion into the wildlife of this wonderfull jungle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A wonderful, yet very basic, retreat deep in the jungle. The guesthouse sits on the side of the river and fits beautifully into its magnificent surroundings. Be prepared for the 45 minute walk/hike to get to it from Bukit Lawang village. But part of the adventure is the journey, having to zipline over the river twice. We arrived in Bukit Lawang late at night and were unable to cross the river as it was too big from afternoon rain, so stayed with the guides family in the village. Best pack a backpack and travel with trainer/hiking shoes.
There are four guest rooms, all large with a double mattress and outdoor shower room. The water all comes from the river, no heating. There is also no electricity but a generator runs in the evening for lights and socket. The owner continues to build new things on the property himself including a spa area planned for this summer.
The team are great, food is delicious, great guides, all round a hopefully more than once in a lifetime experience. I recommend highly if you are looking to escape to nature and like an adventure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Back to Nature is such a breath of fresh air from the busy hustle-and-bustle of Bukit Lawang. The walk to the guesthouse itself requires a foray into the beautiful jungle adjoining the Gunung Leuser National Park and enables tourists to see sights missed by the masses who choose to stay in the village.
The staff at Back To Nature are a massive contributor to the wonderful vibe of the establishment. As a guest you will forever be greeted with ear-to-ear smiles, educated about the biogeography of the area and treated to free guided walks within the rambling jungle privately-owned by Aca, the owner.
The food is exquisite, during my stay I learnt how to make tempeh- an extremely valuable skill for the days when I'm lusting after a Back-To-Nature-inspired curry.
I could not recommend Back To Nature more emphatically. The commitment of the guesthouse to jungle preservation sets Back To Nature apart as being one of the few, genuine eco-tourism ventures taking a holistic approach to ensuring that there shall remain some habitat for Sumatra's wildlife.
Back To Nature is paradise and a project that most definitely deserves our support.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

When I arrived at Back To Nature I arrived to paradise! I fell in love with this amazing place in the first second! The people running this guesthouse are amazing - full of heart, energy, spirit, enthusiasm, life and humour! The food is fantastic, I have never seen fruit salads like the way they make it. The rooms are wonderful and the nature absolutely breathtaking! The trek in their own jungle was like in my dreams: sometimes we had to cut our way through with a knife to arrive at the wonderful viewpoint from where we could see the fantastic landscape around Bukit Lawang. As I am very much interrested in different styles of massages and treatments I am very grateful to achieve more knowledge about traditional indonesion treatments including steamers and herbal drinks by the specialist. I learned a lot about ecotourism and how to keep the nature from Aca, the owner of this place - I stopped using toilet paper and started using water instead! Thank you very much for my unforgettable 5 month stay in Back To Nature!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukit Lawang hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Orangutan
Hotel Orangutan
#2 of 2 in Bukit Lawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
EcoTravel Cottages Bukit Lawang
0.9 mi away
Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang
Indra Valley Inn Bukit Lawang
#4 of 15 in Bukit Lawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thomas' Retreat Bukit Lawang
Thomas' Retreat Bukit Lawang
#2 of 15 in Bukit Lawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Inn
Jungle Inn
#7 of 21 in Bukit Lawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Junia Guest House
Junia Guest House
#3 of 21 in Bukit Lawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back to Nature Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back to Nature Guest House

Property: Back to Nature Guest House
Address: Bahorok, Bukit Lawang 65111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Bukit Lawang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Lawang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BACK TO NATURE - THE HIDDEN PARADISE If you are looking for the most hidden place in Bukit Lawang, in the middle of nature, surrounded by the North Sumatran rainforest and its wildlife inhabitants, our eco-friendly Back To Nature Guesthouse or Back to Nature Jungle Camp is the perfect place for you! To get to our guesthouse, our friendly staff will pick you up from the village car park, carry your luggage and guide you along the river bank track that the owner (Aca) has built it himself over a period of 3,5 years. You will also cross the Bahorok river twice with our "flying canopy" (both track and canopy will be upgraded and fully renovated by the end of May 2014) before reaching Back To Nature Guest House. Back to Nature which is full of peace, relaxation but also excitement and lots of fresh air has 4 rooms with a breathtaking scenery of both, our privately-owned jungle and the Gunung Leuser National Park right above the Bahorok river. It is a place away from the "rest of the world" and all the troubles that come with it. We have free WIFI and you can take a hot shower - the jungle way. We serve you simple but fresh food from the village market every day. Our continuous mission is to buy more jungle (we own 120 hectars so far) and save it from logging and development. We are also growing fruit trees for the wild animals to prevent them from going near the crops of the villages. We have planted 1.500 Fruit trees so far, our goal is 30.000! YOU CAN HELP by coming to Bukit Lawang and see our breathtaking natural reserves and our precious Orang Utans. As long as Ecotourism provides an income for the local people to feed their families, they will protect their jungle and the animals that live in it. THANK YOU! Aca and Back to Nature Team! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Back to Nature Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back To Nature Guest House Bukit Lawang, Sumatra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing