We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight camping: recommended :)”

Thomas Jungle Tours - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ingolstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight camping: recommended :)”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a 2 day hike with overnight camping beside a nice rive. Really loved the trip - especially camping with thomas and his guys was a real delight. besides from that they should better call it eatery tour through the jungle because there was so much food for us - especially the breakfast with fruits an sandwiches by the river was awesome! Thanks Thomas for those great 2 days

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DProfendiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience with Thomas”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had one of the most amazing ecperiences with Thomas in the jungle so far. We did on 4&5 September a 2 day trekking. Thomas and his driver picked us up at the airport of Medan. During the way to Bukit Lawang we stopped for a lunch and we made another stop where he showed us some Indonesian fruits. We tasted also the Durian fruit. You like it or you hate it. After that we arrived in his guesthouse. It is a really nice and clean bungalow. We had a rain shower in the bathroom. It is simple, but after hearing comments of other travelers we assume we made a good choice. The trekking was hard. We both smoke and dont do sports. But we made it and was really worth it as we see 14 orang oetangs!!! We slept in the jungle next to the river. In the night we had a great time with Thomas and his staff. My stomage still hurts of all that laughing with mr. Olo. Sleeping in the jungle is not that comfortabel, so take am extra towel to use as pillow. Dont forget to take a blanket. After the jungle trekking we stayed one night in Thomas retreat. The food in his restaurant was also really good and tasty. We had a wonderful night with Lilik and the other people in the restaurant. Lilik is a great guitar player. We sing songs for hours. If someone would tell me this before I would not believe myself doing this as I always thought that it was a little bit backpackers style. But we loved it. So Best thing to do is the tour. Dont only go to the feeder platform. You will not ne able to connect with the Orang Oetangs. Thank you Thomas and Staf! Kind regards, the lawyer!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tri86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic jungle experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We did a two day trek with thomas and it was an amazing experience. Thomas was a great guide. His written english is ok but his spoken english is fantastic. He took the time to explain various things we were seeing in the jungle and we saw lots of wildlife including many orangutans. The camp was nice and the food was great even though we were in the middle of the jungle. I would recommend thomas jungle tours to anyone. You won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fiona e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be careful if you are 1 or 2”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cannot understand the previous reviews. He lied to us so many times... Following the great comments on tripadvisor, we booked a one-day tour on the phone. Thomas confirmed several times that he would run a tour on the day we were in Bukit Lawang and that he would be our guide (I asked explicitely since we were two people). He also said that he would come to pick us up in the afternoon.

He did not come in the afternoon (somebody else came) and we could not talk to him until he showed up at the B&B at ten in the evening. At that moment, he told us that there was a problem (!). Since his "tours" only run if there are three or more people, he could not run it. With an air of arrogance, he found us a solution (!) He put us with another guide in another group (that of course, we could not choose since it was ten in the evening).

He did not apologised a single time! He might be a good guide (no idea) but his attitude showed us the worst of a guide-turned-into-businessman. Several other travellers that we met on the bus had the same opinion. In short, be careful if you are not three or more, and if you can, look elsewhere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Such an experience!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to Thomas' lodge in April 2013 and planned overnight jungle camping trek with him and his team (his family). It was a magical and amazing experience. Thomas is a great guide and his entire team (really they are a family) is wonderful. The 4 rooms at Thomas' are good for an adventure in the jungle. There is running water, a cool indoor/outdoor shower with cool,fresh (but not hot showers) water. The food at Thomas' is delicious and you will never ever go hungry... No need to pack snacks for your jungle trek either, the food these guys prepare in the middle of no where is so good. It was our Easter dinner! Before we left for our Trek we spent 2 nights at Thomas' and the first day he arranged for us to go whitewater rafting which we def recommend. Totally fun day with a nice group of guys and yet another delicious meal. Indonesian food is underrated and so delicious. The nights we spent at Thomas' were spent singing along with Lilly on his guitar with friends from the village and the other guests all gathered and joining in singing 80,s and 90's music on the guitar in the middle of an Indonesian jungle!! The rooms are basic and clean and the family will stop at nothing to make sure you are comfortable. Thomas' boys are incredibly sweet and showed us pics of their family and practiced their English. The 2 day trek was amazing - and can be tailored by Thomas depending on each group or person's ability. I had an amazing time trekking and climbing and using the vines to get from one spot to the next... Like rock climbing with vines! The orangutan are breath taking... The cheeky monkeys are fun, bathing in the water fall with a monitor lizard was an experience!! In sum I highly recommend this someone looking for an outdoor adventure, some challenge both physically and also if you are new to camping, it's a once in life time experience with people that love the jungle, the animals and are fantastic hosts. I hope to go back one day and bring my friends and family to meet Thomas and his family. It's a magical experience... All that people have wrote on here is true and I'd be more than happy to answer any specific questions about what to bring, accommodations, the camping etc... So please do feel free to email me. I'm sad it's over and wish I could do it all again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank annmarie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Jungle Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
 

Been to Thomas Jungle Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing