We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
179
75
28
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
75
28
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite hot water the river outdoor bathroom day trek semi wild orangutans great place to stay room was large playing cards an amazing view highlight of our trip thomas leaf monkeys national park north sumatra medan airport monitor lizards amazing place
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 301 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Bukit Lawang is an absolute must visit place in North Sumatra. Tucked away in the jungle on the banks of a river, this town has plenty of character. And the Jungle Inn is the perfect place to chill and relax before and after a trek into the jungle. Really great food and Hass and his team of staff are super friendly and hospitable. We arranged a 2 day jungle trek from Jungle Inn, which was loads of fun and included seeing orangutans, river rafting and a wild camping night. Our guides Agus and Iwan were hilarious and taught us loads about the jungle including plenty of brainteasing fireplace games. Ipen the chef also managed to expertly cook up some amazing meals on the fire. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable and wholesome experience which I recommend to all. Terima kasih to everyone in Bukit Lawang.

Room tip: The rooms up top have great views of the river.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018

We stayed here between 26-12-17 and 31-12-17. During our entire 4 week stay in Indonesia, this was the highlight of our trip. The team at Jungle Inn were friendly and very attentive, although we would like to give a special thank you to one member of staff in particular - Dieky. We booked an over night jungle trek with Jungle Inn and Dieky was our guide. Our main reason for the trip was to see Orangutans (which we saw plenty of), but we ended up seeing many more animals including the Thomas monkey, macaque monkey, monitor lizards and hornbills. Camping by the river on the evening after a full day trekking up and down through the jungle was awesome. We got to wash / cool down in the river whilst our dinner was cooked by Masa (there was loads of tasty food!), and a brilliant fruit platter and ‘jungle sandwich’ the next morning.

The next day we took a tube downriver back to Bukit Lawang. We had such a good time with Dieky, that we spent the next few days with him - visiting bat caves, local markets, his home area and more all on the back of his motorbike. Dieky was great during our entire stay and we hope to keep in touch with him.

With such busy lives back home, it was great being able to chill out in the restaurant area, playing cards, listening to live music (and joining in!) whilst watching monkeys and orangutans make their way through the jungle canopy across the river.

Thanks again guys (we love you Dieky!), we’ll definitely be back!

Jonny & Katie

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JonathanB5593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2018

I really enjoyed my stay at Jungle Inn. I liked the location by the river facing the jungle, I liked the rooms and the ambiance, the friendly staff and breakfast. One thing though that is the only turn off , is the cold fresh water in the shower...you get used to it after a while...lol

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Akis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

We arrived from Tangkahan with a private transfer to Bukit Lawang. Before arrival, our driver called the hotel in order for them meeting us in order to take care of our luggage. The guy meeting us was very friendly and helpful and took us through the town to the hotel which is a 15-20 minutes walk.

Location:

The hotel is right at the end of the road close to the river, which is why the location is very nice as it offers a feeling like almost staying in the rain forest. The feeding place for the orangutangs is just across the river if that would like to visit that.

Check-in: OK swift and we were assigned the last room close to the river.

Room: Very big with a bed containing a decent matress. The room is with a vault cealing and the walls to the bathroom misses the last 3 meters to reach to the ceiling - not ideal, as even the bathroom doesn't offer roof on all of it. The shower area is out in the free - without roof - which can seem like exotic, but not practical.

After returning from our rain forest treck for 3 days, we sat on the terrase eating a bit of chocolate and enjoying a cold beer. Within the next few minutes we saw monkeys heading for our terrase and enter into it. We decided to go to our room, only to find 5 monkeys already there going through our stuff and more came through the bathroom - over the wall !!! So we found ourselves trapped in a corner of the room while monkeys wanted to enter from the terrase and those already inside. I was afraid that they would take off with our small backpack with all our papers, passports, etc. but luckily that didn't happen. After shouting a lot for help from the frontdesk, finally an employee came and scared the monkeys away - that is an easy task for the locals as the monkeys have a lot of respect for them, but not for the tourists.

Upon request from us, we were transferred to another room with walls to the ceiling, however the whole toilet was out in the open, so we had to guard the door when going out there.

Breakfast: Nothing special, we went for our daily pancake with banana and chocolate.

Staff: Not so willing to serve in general and the in-house laundry service was aweful as the clothes had been folded and put into plastic bags before drying = smelled !!! So, it had to be redone, but still not totally good afterwards.

Dinner: Due to the general service in the hotel, we chose not to have dinner there, but instead to support some of the restaurants close by. They were adequate and decently priced. We didn't experience any stomach problems after those dinners.

There are a lot of possibilities for accomodation in the town, we would probably go for an alternative if returning.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

I would give a two and a half if that was possible. The location is indeed great, right on the river with the jungle in front of you and the staff is very friendly. But the beds are hard and the mosquito nets full of holes (there was no mosquitoes to be honest but a few other insects that would have made it nice to have a good enough net around the bed). It is very average comfort and can be done for a night or two. We came with 3 children and it was a bit too real.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews