We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go and Try AMAZING!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Pack Horse

The New Pack Horse
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Pack Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Cleckheaton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hello and a very warm welcome to The New Pack Horse at Moorside, Cleckheaton. We're a freehold local pub and restaurant offering a warm welcome and a cosy, relaxed atmosphere. Whether you're looking for somewhere to enjoy a few drinks with friends or a great place to enjoy some wonderful home cooked food you've found the right place. Our well equipped bar offers a great choice of beers, wines and spirits - including real ales (if real ales don't tickle your fancy maybe our extensive cocktail menu is more your thing) Food wise everything is prepared from scratch, using the best local ingredients we can get our hands on to provide an excellent value menu full of popular British meals, lighter bites are available at lunch time and on Sundays we offer a full roast with all the trimmings.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go and Try AMAZING!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tried out this place last night, great service, very welcoming friendly staff, food was cooked to perfection, started with fish cakes, then beef stifado, so tender just melted in your mouth, couldn't manage a dessert too full had a good chat with the chef, great guy. Bartender also let my partner try the real ales before he bought, great evening, well impressed, will def go again, very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan110254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    64
    18
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited the pub using a Groupon voucher, the food choices on the menu were impressive, the food was excellent, I can highly recommend the Seabass. It's a lovely character pub with a range of real. Ales on offer at great prices. We will be returning again next week and making this one of our regular places to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We also used a Groupon which included 2 drinks, starters and mains.
They have a good range of beers on tap and hand pulled. They also have a good selection of craft/real ale bottled beers.
My wife had the tikka kebab starter and I had the fish cake starter. Both were great, homemade and well presented. For mains we chose Steak and ale pie and fish and chips. The fish and chips were some of, if not the best we've had from a pub. The pie was the only slight letdown. It was very tastey, but there was hardly any meat in it. The pie had peas, onions and LOTS of carrots in it. Even in a chicken and veg pie I would be likely to find more meat. The only veg I'd expect to see in a steak and ale pie would be a small amount of onion.
It was a shame as the few pieces of meat were nice and tender and the overall flavour was good.

I did notice the chef bringing out a couple of new dishes that he'd created for, what I pressume was, the locals to try. This gave me a great impression of the chef. He obviously takes care in his food and wants feedback.

The barman/waiter was also great. Very friendly and when it came to the bill as we had used the Groupon voucher he could have counted our first drink each as the ones that qualified for the voucher. Instead he used the 2 most expensive drinks on the voucher, leaving us with a £1.60 bill. I'm glad he did this as I had already decided to leave £5 to cover for the one drink and tip. At least this meant he got a slightly larger tip.

I really struggled between a 4 or 5 rating. The pie just tilted it to a 4. At the Groupon prices it was an easy 5, but I think reviews should be based on what other people should expect to pay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a groupon to try somewhere different & was very impressed. Food is lovely plenty of flavour & great presentation. The pub is nice & got busy. It would be somewhere we would visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicki1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

having eaten at this pub many times,i can honestly say the food and drink and atmosphere just keeps getting better.we have used the pack horse many times not always for food but just drinks and have never been let down.adam,matt,alex,julie,louise,and chef andy and commi chef tom,are so friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Pack Horse also viewed

Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
 
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Gomersal, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The New Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing