We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at SILVER BIRCH Cleckheaton 27th Dec 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Birch

Silver Birch
Ranked #19 of 43 Restaurants in Cleckheaton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch at SILVER BIRCH Cleckheaton 27th Dec 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Situated conveniently at the end of the 606 my friend and I decided to try this relatively new venue for lunch as the Black Bull at Birstall was not open for dining during the afternoon. Like most of these pub/restaurant institutions it was spacious and busy without being overcrowded. The staff were friendly and welcoming . Always a good sign. My friend went down the carvery route and came back with a plateful of seasonal vegetables and a substantial portion of carved meats. I was more adventurous and went for the lamb stew which had been well sold on the menu. While the food was edible the portion seemed somewhat parsimonious and not as exciting as described on the menu. I had more or less consumed my meal before my friend returned from the carvery. . I ordered some delightful cheesecake and devoured it while my friend continued to plough through his substantial portion which was described as excellent value for money. A return trip is not ruled out but I will ignore the rest of the menu and wend my way to the carvery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    118
    65
    58
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Place is the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Whoever stated that the food was soggy and veg overcooked are totally insane, we visit this place at least twice a week and enjoy it everytime, the staff are friendly and very helpful.

the food is lovely and is never different in quality,

dont listen to bad reviews, try the place and you will be more than happy, yes it can get a little busy but surely thats a good sign.

Adrian (Birkenshaw)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aidileeds170476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefiled
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

A typicla Marston's upbilc house / carvery.

This place was packed and the staff were first rate couldnt fault the service and the food for the menu price.

We came as a family and all had the cavery which was good value and very fresh. The waiting staff were all very young but whoever is in charge of training here has done an excellent job. The 2 staff we had at our table geniunely seemed interested and interacted with our young ones. Not just your usual generic " Is everything ok" question.

The place was spotlessly clean and a good mix of people from large groups and families to couples and lads having a pint.

Overall there is nothing you can pick them up on and its definately worth a visit for a cheap and cheerful Sunday carvery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alancm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Comfortable, good service, food and ambience. Only drawback, no Kopperberg Pear cider or Coke-a-Cola, ghastly other brands instead.

Roast carvery is good but so is the main menu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gelandenwagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Me and a friend went when the silver birch first opened. Been to another Marstons and the silver birch was a lot better. Due to the fresh and delicious food and warm welcoming atmosphere and clean environment. The food was worth the price so we will be going back soon. Highly recommend :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cb-xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Birch also viewed

Birkenshaw, West Yorkshire
 
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
 
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Silver Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing