We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
427
102
18
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
102
18
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooloutdoor showercosta ricamanuel antonioprivate gardenrestaurant staffhotel is beautifulthe wait staffcouples massagetotal privacybright colorsopen airrented a carrainy seasonpeaceful placeblack sandocean front
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 563 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed 5 nights which was too long given the isolation and lack of other nearby restaurants. The rooms are well designed but lacking a bit of maintenance and comfort. Our ultra villa had a bed like a wooden slab with a very cheap mattress. The food was good, the staff are sweet but I would not stay here again. It is not nearly as good as the original Xandari in Alajuela. Price is too high for what is offered. When it rains there really is little to do and it rained a lot during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Xandari by the Pacific. The beauty of the property is breathtaking. Staff is very friendly and after a few trips to the dining room they knew where you preferred to sit as well as other "likes". This is the place to relax in the "green" season. Food was good and service was great. Massages at the Spa were very professional and enjoyable. We have traveled in Costa Rica many times and this is a very nice property. I am a type A. This place seems to intentionally make you relax. There is no cell service in your room, no wi-fi (except in a small location near the bar), no TV and surprisingly no clocks. While under roof, the showers are facing a garden behind a glass wall. The wall facing the ocean is made of glass as well (outside drapes were pulled at night). There are two pools and a jacuzzi. Miles and miles of beach. No towns to walk to and we were told cabs are expensive. The new toll road cuts off at least an hour to the Pacific from San Jose. While this is the younger sibling to the Xanadri Resort & Spa near San Jose [highly ranked by Conde Nast] ( we stayed there the last night) - we prefer this property- with one glaring exception. Xandari offers only Pepsi in the minibar and main bar but no Cokes. I was surprised to discover that in this day of many different accommodation choices - they would take the Starwood/Westin/Sheraton approach and deny their clients their personal soft drink preferences. It's a little thing but still pisses me off. The hotel managers/owners are in the fulfilling wishes business - if they took some cash from the Pepsi guys for an "exclusive" to step on my wishes shame on them and I'll look elsewhere in the future. That is one of the reasons I refuse to stay at a Starwood property if given a choice. We finally asked a waiter to bring some Cokes back for us - he did on the 3rd day for a tidy personal profit. We had a great relaxing time. It rained a part of almost every day - but we also walked for miles on the beach everyday. There weren't many guests at the property but the hotel and service were excellent. After 5 lunches and dinners - you have pretty much gone through the menu - I wish we had gone into town to explore the local dining scene - but not worth the hassle of renting a car or expense of a taxi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Xandari by the Pacific is a fantastic boutique hotel that is perfectly situated to take advantage of all there is to do in the Jaco/Manuel Antonio area. The hotel is located on a massive, open beach that stretches for miles in each direction. If you are looking for a private, secluded beach, this is it. We rarely saw more than 5-10 people on the beach at one time, which is perfect for us but may not be for everyone. The food at the resort is very good and Jaco is 20 minutes away with an abundance of restaurants and bars to choose from. Kitchenettes in the rooms also let you eat small meals and snacks in your room.

We stayed at Xandari for our 10th anniversary and it was all we hoped it would be. We've made 8-9 trips to Costa Rica and this is one of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank husker7028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

This resort was part of a sister-resort deal and the third and final stop on our honeymoon this June. Our fantastic travel agency/ honeymoon registry, found this for us and we couldn't have planned our trip better to see so much of Costa Rica! (www.memorablecostarica.com). The location for this hideaway is a bit remote, so having private transfers from another resort or airport is highly recommended, but the drive is so interesting, lots to see. The beach had hardly any people on it in the 4 days we stayed there, and despite it being the rainy season, the sun was out most of the time. The water is bathtub-warm, if a bit rough. This resort is one of two made by an architect and his artist wife (all the artwork, mosaics, and sculpture around both properties is done by her--and it's extensive). The staff is very welcoming and accomodating--we made friends with our servers by the end! No request is denied and every effort is made to make you comfortable. Several pools and relaxing hammocks dot the property. The open-air restaurant is right on the beach and plays host to tiny geckos, crabs and frogs at night--but only a few--just enough to be charming and not gross. At low tide, you can walk out for almost a half mile into the surf, and be sure to check out all the sea creatures coming with you--'mouthless' crabs, starfish, sand dollars, conch and even wild horses! Picturesque beach and spa--definitely recommend the 'lomi lomi' couples massage--fantastic! Excursions are many and the staff for those are very professional too. We did a day-long catamaran/ lunch/ snorkeling tour near the Miguel Antonio park--beautiful and worth it! We truly felt we found a gem here at Xandari and can't wait to go back. Not a place for heavy nightlife, but if relaxing's your thing, come here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metravel7877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

A very nice small resort on a quiet beach with beautiful cabins, pools, gardens, and a very warm and helpful staff. We took our kids, 6 and 1.5 years old, and had a blast. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, the food and the lay-out -- all very good for a small, non-branded hotel in the developing world. Just a friendly warning: it gets very hot in the afternoons (so hot that you cannot walk on the sand in bare feet), so retiring to you beautiful, air conditioned cabin, and/or hitting one of the swimming pools or the bar for a iced lemonade is critical and part of the routine. No nightlife at this quiet gem, so forget it if you want to party. But, there is good surfing right out the front door, stunning birds and lizards everywhere, and Manuel Antonio National Park is only 45 minutes away...we thought the whole thing was great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squawk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews