We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Romantic Beach in the World” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Most Romantic Beach in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

Simply the most romantic beach and hotel we've ever visited. Total relaxation at a beautiful pool, beach and hotel. Great staff. Come here to relax; not to be a loud American who wants to see monkies.

  • Liked — sophistication and amenities
  • Disliked — remote
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chorncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    85
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
122
234
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

It is difficult to express the many different feelings that this property exudes. That being said, I will try, perhaps by just saying "I want to go back to this country just to stay here".
Primo features of the property was the outstanding architecture, location, service, food, facilities.etc.
The beach was perfect providing me with the largest starfish I have ever discovered. The grounds were impecable filled with natural beauty and gardens.
The rooms were perfect in every detail proving every ammenity I needed including a wonderful aura of lighting, privacy and comfort. Several garden & seating areas were available inside your gated and secure villa.
The staff attended to every detail needed or requested and with a strong service orientation without being obtrusive.
The food was excellent and beautifully presented.
Services at the Spa were supurb experiencing the finest massage of my life presented by a knowledgeable and caring masseuse.
...and the list could go on and on....

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica for our honeymoon and we stayed the entire week at Xandari by the Pacific. I can't disagree with the other reviews about the beauty of the grounds and the great and super friendly staff. I can see where the food may lack the finest of a quality restaurant in the United States. It was very good in comparison to anything I have experienced in Costa Rica. The seafood was excellent!
The villas were beautiful. The showers were able to be opened to the private garden area in each villa with a sliding glass door or doors. The common garden areas were absolutely stunning, and we did see a lot of butterflies and lizards.
The only things I think that any future visitors need to know- if you don't rent a vehicle it is about a $66 (in August 2008) round trip cab ride to Jaco which is the closest large town. Quepos and Manual Antonio is an even more expensive cab ride. So if you are looking to do any day trips for shopping or other dining experiences you have to factor that into the budget. Another thing is if you have made a deal as far as rates for anything, get it in writing. We had some issues with being quoted one price and then finding out it was more than we were quoted. The staff did there best to work with us on this but it was definitely disappointing.
So if you are looking for a completely relaxing place away from the world this is your spot. If you need a little action with your relaxation make sure you have a vehicle to get around because you are in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank altstofmnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Xandari for four nights. We were looking for a refuge and total relaxation. And this we received!

This hotel is located in a fairly isolated area. Each room is designed for total privacy. We loved the open air shower in the room and the private patio looking right out at the ocean. And the grounds are pretty. They have two great pools and a pretty open air restaurant. However, the beach front chairs and landscaping could be better. Therefore, we stayed at the pool.

Also, the staff was EXCELLENT. They staff helped us figure out how to arrive at the resort via public bus before we had even left the US. The restaurant staff was particularly wonderful. They were so friendly and made sure we were comfortable and happy at the resort. And John Carlo's pina colada is a MUST! You will have to have more than one.

During our stay, I also went to the spa for a 90 minute treatment and massage. This was the best massage I have ever had! The spa is gorgeous and the staff, particularly Evelyn, was so sweet and friendly. It was worth every penny.

With that said - Xandari is an expensive resort for Playa Esterillos area, so we had high expectations. Given that we did not rent a car, we had to eat at the restaurant every night, but the restaurant did not live up to our expectations. The menu is huge and they really did not do anything very well. In addition, the food is too expensive given the quality.

Overall, (besides the staff) the restaurant was a big disappointment. Therefore, for those who put much weight on food, we would recommend either renting a car so that you can easily leave the resort to eat OR plan day trips to Jaco or Manuel Antonio and enjoy your meals there.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mollybutterfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

This is one of my favorite places on the planet~ Xandari at Esterillos Este was a delightful, serendipitous surprise! Mid July, my husband and I joined our college age daughter (A&M class of 2010), who had just completed a summer study abroad tour in CR, for a week of travel. Three nights at Xandari was the end of our week long trip. Starting with several nights in Santa Ana and a thrilling, hair raising white water rafting down the Pacuare River, then off to Arenal and a volcano tour, horseback riding up a mountain, hiking dowwwwwwwwn to waterfalls and coming back uuppp…and other adventures, whewwww…we arrived mid week at the Xandari oasis. Trying to fit it ALL in, we had plans to visit Manuel Antonio, etc, etc…but after arriving, we didn’t leave the hotel. Discussed it, and decided to save something for another trip to CR. Yes, Xandari Pacific really does have that kind of effect on you. From walking miles along a pristine shoreline that extends for miles, exploring the butterfly garden, watching the swinging in the hammocks and reading a book from the Xandari library (this librarian read, The Shack and loved it, daughter read Wicked and preferred the play) to just being able to enjoy breathing in and out in a place that soothes the spirit, plan on coming home with memories that will call you to return. The spa is not to be missed. Kindness flourishes here and I thank the ladies for providing this tired but happy visitor an amazing treatment that renewed me. Taking care of all needs with quiet eloquence, Shannon and staff provide an oasis paradise that emits tranquility and respite. We ate almost all meals at the hotel and the wait staff was delightful! (they treated us to several magic tricks one evening and even took the time to teach them to us) Seafood at dinner was fresh, and we enjoyed the daily specials.
Thank you to the Broudy’s for creating this special spot on the planet and sharing the love of place. Charlene’s art has inspired me to try and tile my courtyard wall. I can’t wait to return. I mean it when I say…I think about this beach every day …and every day…this beach calls my name.

A few favorite things that bring a smile:
*Hundred of big green parrots that land in the trees each evening before dusk. They fill the trees across from the airstrip
*The sweet, kind eyed dog that reminds you of why maybe d-o-g is G-o-d spelled backward
*the two precious local boys on the beach using a homemade tool to get bait out of the sand for their grandpa’s afternoon fishing trip. They also taught me how to find and observe live sand dollars.
*Kind Maria Joseph and her mom that provided local green (as in sunshine) laundry service. Walk down the road towards the Pelican and you’ll see the homemade laundry sign on your left.

  • Liked — No TV and a library of books that you might want to read
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bookbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

We truly extend our utmost appreciation to them for making our elopement wedding and honeymoon dream perfect. We have never had such a wonderful experience, from making the arrangements online, to entering our villa full of flowers and candles, and then there was the day of our wedding.

With virtually no notice, the manager and her fabulous staff created a magnificent arbor for our beach ceremony. Then there was the romantic couples massage in thegorgeous spa, followed by our sunset (clouds were fine) ceremony on the beach, to the private dinner arranged by Shannon and chef in our villa. We really appreciated the friendly and attentive staff. This is a small luxurey botique resort, not a mass hotel.

We would gladly recommend Xandari to anyone interested in an unparalleled vacation; it has to be one of the most beautiful spots on earth.

Cathie & Craig Brown, Jupiter, Florida

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No TV
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

I wish to echo the comments of the last few reviewers: this place is wonderful and very memorable. So as not to repeat, here are just a few specifics and some photos.

We did the two-resort package: all transfers worked perfectly. (Our flight from the states had to be rerouted, so we arrived at the airport at 10:00pm instead of 1:pm. We called the spa ahead of time and they had transportation waiting for us even though reception was closed. In the room they had a fresh fruit plate waiting.) Takes about 2:15 hrs to travel between resorts in a comfortable van. The free meals with the package are whichever meals you decide at the time you checkout.

The open-to-the-outside shower is a delight. Total privacy facing a garden. You don't just have two sinks in the bathroom, you have two separate vanities on opposite sides of the shower.

The beach is powder-fine sand. The sunbeds have cushions and are on soft, plush grass with no burrs or bugs. During July the resort is very uncrowded, as is the whole beach. There are some nice breakers in the surf and you can check out a boogie board from the office.

The food is extraordinary; very fresh seafood. We usually stay at all-inclusive resorts, but the prices here are so low that cost was not remotely a consideration. Beer was three dollars. A good wine: $25 a bottle. Free breakfast (hot meals also available for a charge) is from 7-10am, lunch 12-3pm, dinner 6-9pm. Dinner entree prices are from $10-$18. Selection includes chicken, seafood, delicious filet mignon, pasta, and vegetarian dishes. The special is always superb. Appetizers, soup, salad, and desserts are equally inexpensive. The waitstaff is very attentive and friendly. For lunch, you must try the grilled chicken sandwich.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Beauty of the grounds, quality of the rooms, and the outstanding service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank millau70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
16.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.3 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing