We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly staff and amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff and amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Alma del Pacifico at Esterillos Este is a beautiful boutique hotel set right on the beach. We have been to this hotel many times and the staff always treat us like family. The hotel restaurant is great and serves food grown on site. There are two large swimming pools and a jacuzzi as well as a spa which offers great treatments. This is the perfect place to while away lazy days or grab a surf outfront.

Room Tip: Enjoy your food and drinks by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    87
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
125
235
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spectacular! This hotel has everything! Beautiful rooms, great food at their beachside restaurant to be enjoyed while viewing amazing sunsets. The surrounding plants & flowers show off the beauty of being in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bejuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a surprisingly beautiful beachside stop we experienced on our way back from Manuel Antonio. We had a delicious lunch and stayed for the amazing sunset while swinging on the hammocks. Just off the highway, this unassuming delight was the perfect stop on our way back from Manuel Antonio. The rooms looked so inviting as well. We look forward to booking one on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Alma is on an upward trajectory in terms of upkeep. We visited there last year (2/13) and were saddened by the paint splashes on paving stones, other colored walls, etc., missing tiles on walkways and inferior quality food.
This February, my husband and I visited again for 2 nights. It seems some of the splashes have been wiped away, saw fewer missing tiles, and found the food a bit better. That strikes me as a major area for continued improvement. There is no reason that I can think of for a resort of such beauty not to offer delicious meals. The wait staff tries hard but lacks training in good serving skills.
We hope for better times for Alma!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spend several months in Costa Rica each year. One of our favourite restaurants is the Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel. The food is always excellent and presented in an artistic manner. There is quite a variety of foods at a reasonable price. Our favourite dinner is the beef tenderloin. There is a wine list for all tastes. Staff was pleasant, courteous and attentive.

For a good meal, beside the ocean, in an area surrounded by lovely gardens eat at The Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

A real surprise. What a beautiful little hotel, grounds, pools, beach front, restaurant, and staff. Had a little trouble finding this jewel but not unusual for Costa Rica. The restaurant is first rate and the chef is very accommodating if you want a special dish prepared. One evening we brought back mahi-mahi filets we had caught that morning in Quespos and had them cooked for us three different ways. From reception to maid service they could not do enough for us. Convenient for us for big game fishing to the marina at Quespos or Los Suenos. Would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are a little more expensive but every room is isolated. Some have individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leaper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
302 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our place for a week's rest after a long trip in Central America Alma del Pacifico was absolutely ideal for our needs.

We stayed in a large beachfront villa (number 2) which was quiet and peaceful and you can be very tranquil here. The rooms on the other side of the complex that do not have beachfronts are not as impressive and have no proper views and would not be recommended.

The room itself is decorated in rather bright colours but had far more space than we needed and was very comfortable. Coupled with this is a massive bathroom and the only criticism of this was that the shower was very poor and probably needs replacing. We always prefer a bath and it would certainly have been possible to include one in such a large space.

The grounds are nice and the two swimming pools in the middles of the complex do not overlook the sea and can be quite oppressive. It is far better to sit overlooking the magnificent wide and unspoilt beach and use the swimming pools if you need them. There is plenty of wildlife to observe and a family of Iguanas lived in a tree near where we usually sat. It is all very relaxing.

Although the reception is usually unmanned if you ring a bell someone comes out instantly and the staff at reception and in the restaurant were all very helpful. We have noted some of the previous comments about service but we found it exemplarary.

Breakfast was adequate for us with toast, fruit, yoghurt and granola with juice and coffee served in the open sided restaurant.

Dinner is served in the same place with a wide choice of tasty food, well presented and professionally served by friendly staff. As in many other Costa Rican properties the wine list is again poor but the local beer makes a good substitute.

We would have no hesitation in going back and thoroughly recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
21.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
16.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing