We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service and reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“outstanding service and reliable”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff at Restaurant at Alma del Pacifico went far the extra mile, to help me on a busy day, taking care of reservations for lunch and dinners with such a quick confindent friendly response.
last december 30th, I had so many people with me and needed to organize lunches and dinners for several people and all was fixed with just a phone call. when we showed up, tables were set right on the beach, and friendly and bilingual staff was serving excellent costa rican meals. if you visit Esterillos, this place is a must to go for lunch or dinner. great value and quality. thanks Giancarlo for such excellent attention.

Room Tip: Villa 9 is awesome. own jaccuzi ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reservations R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    93
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
140
251
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I give the rooms an absolute 5 star plus. We had booked a beach front villa and got a massive room with our own small plunge pool. It was gorgeous.
Although the hotel was full, because of the lay out, it never feels crowded. There are 2 pools and many loungers by the pool and on the beach.

We had 2 bad exeperiences with the reception staff:
We initially stayed in the farthest room, nbr 13. Then the neighbouring property wanted to burn dry leaves. The smoke was horrendous, we alerted reception at noon. They told us they would sort it out. At 3 pm the smoke was still there, we spoke to ther reception again and they told us the same story. By 5 nothing had been done so I asked to change room. We had such a battle about this and the girl at reception was just laughing at me. I stood my ground and we changed room but the whole experience was negative. They could have helped us at 12 pm yet did nothing.
Also I had prepaid a tour to Manuel Antonio. The hotel had taken the money yet had not booked the tour. We told reception we wanted a private tour. She told is she would book this and we confirmed this twice with her. On arrival at the park, we were on a group tour. Only thanks to the Manuel Antonio expeditions, did we get our private tour.

We did enjoy our stay as we were lazy on the beach, enjoyed the pool, the nice food and restaurant staff are all lovely.
But a hotel that charges their prices needs to offer perfect customer service and there they fail. I am not sure I would advice a stay there, I guess if you have no issues during your stay, it is all fine. But excellence is often shown when things go wrong and Alma de Pacifico shows no signs of excellence.

Room Tip: I would have been disappointed with a room in the back. Best to pay the upgrade for seaview and if b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just did a trip in Costa Rica with Backroads and this was the hotel we enjoyed more. Beautiful, big and clean rooms, great pools, good spa but just average food.
Only the ceviche was really good .
But the wonderful clean and huge beach ion front of the hotel compensated the rest.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent a week in Manuel Antonio and decided to give Alma Del Pacifico a 2-night quick stop to check it out. I researched this property a lot and was so on the fence if I would like it, I read lots of conflicting reviews.

IT WAS NOTHING LIKE I EXPECTED AND WE LOVED IT! The villas are extremely well designed. We have a garden villa since all the ocean villas were already taken. The garden villa was so private and well appointed, super clean and great architecture and art. LOVE the outdoor shower -- has indoor shower as well if you are not one with nature while showering ;-)

The beach is beautiful and the grass area with chaises and hammocks so relaxing. The restaurant is very good and the prices are half of Manuel Antonio. The restaurant location also blows away most venues in Manuel Antonio. You have a great view of the ocean from the restaurant. The staff is great as well, everyone was friendly and had the Pura Vita vibe.

We like the place so much that before leaving we booked for December 2014 and making sure we get a deluxe villa on the beach with the plunge pool! The two "public" pools on the property are amazing as well if you do not get the plunge pool with your villa.

The property is very different from anything at Manuel Antonio and definitely worth a stop.

If I had to give any negatives it would be the pillows were hard, I however have never been able to find a good pillow in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summit4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The Alma del Pacifico is situated at the remoted Playa Esterello Este at the pacific coast. If you want to get there, I would recommend to rent a car. Buses from San Jose to Quepos (or return) stop at Esterello Este but from the bus stop you have to walk for about 1 or even more km. The hotel provides transportation from San Jose or Quepos for a high value.

It's somehow special that there is never a person at the front desk and you have always to use the bell to call someone. But if you use the bell, someone is coming very quickly.

The envoirement is really great! There are about 20 single, colorfull bungalows in a georgeous garden! Each of them comes with its own little and private garden again, in which you are out of sight from other hotel guests or the staff. We've never had so much privacy in a hotel befor! In this small garden you can even watch the costarican wildlife such as Hummingbirds, butterflyes or small cancers digging there holes. Just great and spectacular!

The bungalow itself is clean, spacious, comes with safetybox and a small fridge filled with water and juice for free. They also provide every day 2 small bottles of water. For beer and wine you have to pay. The outdoor shower is fun! There are no curtains on the windows, but as you are in your own, with wall and flowers protected, property, that was never a problem to us. We always felt safe and unobjectionable.

The beach is very long (about 20 km or even more), wild, rough and empty. As we were here, we had often been the only ones at the hole beach as far we could see! We liked it a lot! Once we booked a horse riding at the beach with "Macho". That was great fun!

The sea is wild and wavy. We couldn't swim because of the big and strong weaves. Maybe you could surf, but the weaves seemed to short for surfing. Also you have to watch the tides! Alma provides a tide table in the room where you can see, when it is safe to go into the sea.

The first 2 days our in-room Internet didn't work. In the evening of the second day we were told, that the Internet in our room wouldn't work at all and we could change the room if we would like to. We decided to stay and then, suddenly at our thirt day, we could connect... At several places in the hotel area (e.g. by the pool) the Internet doesn't work at all.

The food at the restaurant is delicious (organic food, well prepared and presented) but about two or three times as expensive as meals in Costa Rica normally are. They provide only a small continental breakfast (yoghurt, muesli, small fruit platter, 2 toasts, butter, jam, 1 cup of coffee or tea - no refill, 1 glass of juce out of the box) for free. For everything else you have to pay, even for the typical "Gallo Pinto"...

There are no other restaurants or sodas nearby for lunch or dinner. Only 3 other hotels are around, in which you can eat if you would like to eat somewhere else. Nearly in the same price range like Alma but only one is as good as Alma (go to the right at the beach, about 10 min to walk).

The staff is always friendly and helpful. Once, they just cutted coconuts from the trees, they offered us one for drinking. We've never had such a fresh Pipa befor!

Resumed, Alma del Pacifico is a remote, nice hotel with a special room concept on lonely and natural wild beach and much privacy. We would come back again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_traveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Alma is a little remote for some...but that can be a GOOD thing. It is PEACEFUL and beautiful. This time we rented a car for part of our stay and that enabled more freedom to explore. The rooms are individualized and beautifully decorated and the architectural details are interesting...especially the ceilings. The vegetation is varied and lush and the beaches pristine! and almost private! It is a most wonderful place. We've been in February, June and August. Each was a wonderful time although it was stormy this June (and earlier June, it wasn't so???).

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the interior and beachfront rooms. As usual, each has its advantages. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pineland324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I visited Alma del Pacifico again. My last time was 6 months ago. They are working hard to improve maintenance and the continental breakfast. Alma is a place to relax, think and enjoy a wonderful view of the costarican pacific coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
309 reviews
16.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,541 reviews
18.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing