We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Del Mar Resort(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$132
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Bejuco(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$97
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Hotel(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco(Playa Bejuco)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Dolce Vita(Esterillos Oeste)(Great Value!)
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beso del Viento(Parrita)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backyard Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
423
102
18
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
102
18
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge pooloutdoor showercosta ricamanuel antonioprivate gardenrestaurant staffhotel is beautifulthe wait staffcouples massagetotal privacybright colorsopen airrented a carrainy seasonpeaceful placeblack sandocean front
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 558 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We truly extend our utmost appreciation to them for making our elopement wedding and honeymoon dream perfect. We have never had such a wonderful experience, from making the arrangements online, to entering our villa full of flowers and candles, and then there was the day of our wedding.

With virtually no notice, the manager and her fabulous staff created a magnificent arbor for our beach ceremony. Then there was the romantic couples massage in thegorgeous spa, followed by our sunset (clouds were fine) ceremony on the beach, to the private dinner arranged by Shannon and chef in our villa. We really appreciated the friendly and attentive staff. This is a small luxurey botique resort, not a mass hotel.

We would gladly recommend Xandari to anyone interested in an unparalleled vacation; it has to be one of the most beautiful spots on earth.

Cathie & Craig Brown, Jupiter, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thrddoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I wish to echo the comments of the last few reviewers: this place is wonderful and very memorable. So as not to repeat, here are just a few specifics and some photos.

We did the two-resort package: all transfers worked perfectly. (Our flight from the states had to be rerouted, so we arrived at the airport at 10:00pm instead of 1:pm. We called the spa ahead of time and they had transportation waiting for us even though reception was closed. In the room they had a fresh fruit plate waiting.) Takes about 2:15 hrs to travel between resorts in a comfortable van. The free meals with the package are whichever meals you decide at the time you checkout.

The open-to-the-outside shower is a delight. Total privacy facing a garden. You don't just have two sinks in the bathroom, you have two separate vanities on opposite sides of the shower.

The beach is powder-fine sand. The sunbeds have cushions and are on soft, plush grass with no burrs or bugs. During July the resort is very uncrowded, as is the whole beach. There are some nice breakers in the surf and you can check out a boogie board from the office.

The food is extraordinary; very fresh seafood. We usually stay at all-inclusive resorts, but the prices here are so low that cost was not remotely a consideration. Beer was three dollars. A good wine: $25 a bottle. Free breakfast (hot meals also available for a charge) is from 7-10am, lunch 12-3pm, dinner 6-9pm. Dinner entree prices are from $10-$18. Selection includes chicken, seafood, delicious filet mignon, pasta, and vegetarian dishes. The special is always superb. Appetizers, soup, salad, and desserts are equally inexpensive. The waitstaff is very attentive and friendly. For lunch, you must try the grilled chicken sandwich.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank millau70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Xandari by the Pacific and it was superb. One of the most well designed resorts we've encountered. We stayed in a Prima Villa and was totally amazed at the design, the privacy, and all of the little special touches which went into the design.

The hotel is ideally located between Jaco and Manuel Antonio (Quepos) if you are interested in day trips. The beach is not your typical white sand but the unique kind found in Costa Rica. You can walk for miles and hardly encounter other individuals...very private and secluded...ideal for romantic walks.

We will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to spend some quiet and relaxing time.

Thanks to all the staff for the generous hospitality...love you all.

Amar & Zahida
July 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank asookram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We stayed here after spending a couple of days at Xandari which we absolutely loved. On our way to this property we decided that we would stay only a couple of days and change our reservation to return to San Jose early. A week after our trip we are still laughing at that thought.

The resort is as immaculate and manicured as others have noted, and the oceanfront room that we had was incomparable, complete with standing shower opening up to a private garden behind the villa. We walked for miles on the beach without encountering a soul, and the black sand beach (new to us) presented great vistas. The water was as warm as the air temp, and the pool is absolutely gorgeous. The restaurant presented good, not great food, but the waiter staff (hello Johan!) makes every meal a delight.

The biggest problem with the resort is that you won't want to leave, and so I missed out on a rafting trip in favor of a beach walk and quick shopping trip into Jaco. Do take the 11 cable zip line tour in Jaco. Excellent staff made us feel safe, and the experiece is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fbcscottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

A gem - perfect slice of paradise. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. The place is fairly new so everything is in top condition but the rooms are out of this world and kept immaculate. The view of the ocean is stunning. We had a ocean front villa with plenty of room for us and two children (5 and 3). The bathrooms were excellent (no bath but the children were old enough for the shower). There are two pools and one is for adults only (which is perfect as it means you don't worry about the children splashing too much at the other pool). There was a good children's menu though my children didn't seem to eat much on our trip. The included breakfasts were excellent and plentiful. Dinner was alright. I would say that the portions were too big and too rich and could have done with being smaller and simpler (food at Xandari Central Valley is far better)!

We stayed here before moving onto Xandari in the Central Valley. I preferred this place for its location, the peace and stunning surroundings. We did a couple of day trips including the dolphin adventure (tip - go in the mornings when the boats are much less crowded). The children loved it. We also went diving with Manuel Antonio Divers. IT was a huge palava finding babysitting and sorting the whole thing out, and the diving was pretty poor though what we saw in two short dives was incredible.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JanJanVanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews