We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing, wonderful staff, a slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, wonderful staff, a slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The area is quiet, wide expansive dark beaches and the most people we saw on the beach at any one time may have been 10 which was spread out over a half mile or so. we had the smaller ocean front room which gives you private access to the beach, private patio, all room have a private gate to their room and the beach was only about 25 yards away. After traveling from Arenal to Monteverde to here we were able to truly unwind from all the traveling. The dinners were excellent and the Parga Entero was the best I've had... and I've had some wonderful whole fish asian, mexican and latin style. My husband had the seared ahi and the lomitos gaucho steak which he thoroughly enjoyed. The staff is respectful, nice and fun ... as well as know how to keep their distance. The only thing negative I could say is the jacuzzi needs to be hot, they haven't figured that part out, or we couldn't figure out where to turn on the heat. Other than that the pools were sparkling, the grounds were immaculate, but not presumptuous. We could really unwind and relax. Loved the shower with the glass sliders that opened to a private garden ... wonderful!! It's really designed for privacy. We would return.

Room Tip: Its worth getting the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpathian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    87
    16
    5
    9
See reviews for
125
235
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We didn't stay here, but we did eat breakfast there once and dinner on another occasion. The restaurant is great, with a wonderful view under a classy palapa. The decorations are exquisite for a beach-front location as non-commercial as Esterillos. The hotel was impeccibly clean, even the bathrooms, and it looks as if all rooms have an equal view of the ocean through large picture windows. Quite beautiful.

Our breakfast was delicious and relaxing, and the dinner was even better. If ur in or around Esterillos, its worth a stop for a candle-lit ocean view dinner. And a stay in this classy hotel would definitely not disappoint.

Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all rooms have an equal view. I can't remember, but if the room on the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From5280ToZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this wonderful property over the Christmas and New Years holiday. With so many hotel/resort options in this outdoor activity-oriented country, this place is just right. While not light on the wallet or purse, Alma delivers the kind of experience you imagine of a tropical Pacific setting, done with a touch of elegance and intimacy. Formally Xandari, Rock Resorts took on the management role and it has re-branded "Alma Del Pacifico"-affiliated with the Del Pacifico properties just down the road. With their reputation, I would expect the standards to be pushed even higher.

All single level residences with the exception of a few, face the ocean with a generous lawn area in front of each leading to the palm tree lined black-sand beach. The two pools and spa form a zen garden-like central buffer between the inside units and the beachfront. Imagine a boutque-style Four Seasons approach, with local styling. Perect for couples or families/family gatherings with older (10 and up) children.

The only downside would be-from our perspective-the quality and diversity of dishes related to the output from the kitchen. The food was acceptable, and the service very polished. It's just that the expectations for a resort of this level are set higher than the results. Same goes for the wine list.

Every activity imaginable can be co-ordinated with the very professional staff-from surfing lessons on your beach, deep sea fishing for Marlin, to zip-lining through the tropical forest canopy-all at a moments notice.

Room Tip: Unit numbering begins near the outdoor dining and bar area, so depending on your desires for initmac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpeterman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We where staying in quepos and where looking for a beach to hang out on with our kids for the day. We stayed for the afternoon enjoyed all the facilities and would return again for an overnight lodging looks great! They where ever so accommodating!!! We like beaches at hotels with services , chairs, towels, drinks and more!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashore1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Unforgettable trip! My husband and three adult children arrived at Alma Del Pacificao about 1a.m.. after a three day horror story of delayed flights, lost baggage, etc., compliments of the horribly incompetent Delta airlines. What a pleasure it was to arrive here at the hotel with its welcoming staff. Our rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, clean, and filled with small touches like the fresh flowers in the bedrooms and sitting rooms. Most importantly, each of our rooms is steps away from the sand and features breathtaking ceiling to floor views of the ocean as well as a private patio with plunge pool and cushioned, comfy lounge chairs. The landscaping is spectacular and provides a setting so private and lush, we feel that we are the only ones here. meals are delicious and served by friendly and competent staff. Nothing is too much trouble for the excellent concierge staff who arranged all of our great day trips as well as a photographer to come onsite for some family photos. Love it, love it, love it!!! We are frequent travelers for business as well as pleasure and according to my family, I am usually a highly critical, nit picking, crank while on vacation (which I believe is fair enough. We have so little time to be away as a family that near perfection is essential), So I don't give compliments lightly. This is one of the best travel experiences we've had. This is the only place to stay on the Pacific Coast of CR.

Room Tip: Any ocean view suite is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lclchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I did a year's worth of research when we were writing our 2007 book on Costa Rica lodging (www.sleepingwiththetoucans.com) and Xandari Hotel was one of our top picks then. We were curious to see what changes had occurred when new owners took over the hotel and renamed it Alma del Pacifico. The good news is - it's just as fantastic as it always was. This time, we had a "garden view" villa. The villa was as luxurious and expansive as the ocean view villas are, and the garden was private and filled with lush tropical plants. The quality of the food and service in the restaurant is as good as ever, and Vladimir in the spa gave me one of the best massages I've ever had. Alma del Pacifico is located on a wonderful, long, deserted strip of beach and it has my favorite swimming pool in Costa Rica. This is the perfect place for a long, lazy weekend or even a week's vacation.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisontinsley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. Great service. The pool and jacuzzi is so clean and beautiful. The ocean views from the rooms are incredible. The restaurant is amazing. The food was always prepared fresh. My husband and I had dinner 3 nights in a row and wouldn't go anywhere else. The service in the restaurant is beyond 5 star. This resort made our Costa Rica trip so memorable. We are going back to this resort for atleast 5 nights in a couple of years.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.2 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
21.4 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
16.9 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Playa Esterillos Este | Near Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 10-6300, Costa Rica (Formerly Xandari by the Pacific)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast along Playa Esterillos Este, between Jaco Beach and Manuel Antonio, Alma del Pacifico is a luxury Costa Rica hotel featuring beachfront Caribbean hotel rooms and suites, a three-meal restaurant, full-service spa and a variety of exciting vacation activities. With distinct architecture and art, an extensive array of amenities and superb personal service, Alma del Pacifico Hotel is the premier luxury hotel in Costa Rica. A great alternative for luxury travelers wanting to visit Manuel Antonio while being on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xandari By The Pacific Hotel
Xandari By The Pacific Resort
Alma Del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing