We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but has everything you need!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monterey del Mar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Out of the way but has everything you need!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with an OAT tour group. The grounds are beautiful (a bit more manicured and resort-like than most of the places we stayed) and the bungalow/villa was wonderful. The linens were the best we encountered and the air conditioning was a welcome amenity! (The A/C was very efficient AND quiet.)

There wasn't much wildlife here - though we saw a few geckos and quite a few birds. There was a TV in the room but I never turned it on. Wi-fi was available at the pool, bar & restaurant areas.

The bathroom was great and the shower had very good pressure and consistent temperature, which is very important to me.

The swimming pool was very nice - though it was a bit odd in how the depths were laid out - very shallow in some areas so you couldn't really swim laps. I'm guessing that was to make it safer for the families with younger children.

The bar and restaurant were very nice - open air and with an ocean view. The restaurant seemed to cater more to 'American' tourists so it was a bit more 'pedestrian' than some of the other food we experienced in Costa Rica.

The beach was right there, though it didn't appear especially safe for swimming. It was nice to hear the surf and walk along the sand. The sunsets were very beautiful both nights we were there.

The only downside I can think of was the fact that they didn't have a gift shop. It would have been nice to be able to pick up some snacks or postcards etc.

Room Tip: Some people in our group did not like the rooms with sliding glass doors. They felt uncomfortable sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
54
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took a weekend getaway to Esterillos to run the first Esterillos Beach 10K and spent the night at the Monterey Del Mar. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful and the tropical gardens were well maintained. There’s also abundant tropical wildlife on the property, including iguanas, colorful lapas (macaws) and other birds, and an occasional crab will wander in off the beach, which is just a few steps from the open-air restaurant.
We booked the standard room, which was $120 per night (low season, by the way); taxes and fees added another $15. Breakfast for two was included. The room was spacious and comfortable, with two queen beds and a nicely tiled bathroom. They say wireless internet is available, but we didn’t use it.
On the minus side, there was no outside ventilation in the bathroom; the one window is high up and for sunlight only. The TV was one of the older models with a very poorly attached cable cord which kept coming loose, causing the picture to roll and flicker. The chairs in the restaurant are well worn and not comfortable, with the foam cushions in most of them completely exhausted from years of use, and there is a large pothole as you exit the hotel that is almost impossible to avoid – all stuff that is easily and probably cheaply fixed.
Playa Esterillos is a gorgeous strip of tropical beach, and the Monterey Del Mar is a perfectly acceptable, moderated priced place to stay if you want to get away for a day or two. If you’re looking for night life, shopping or tourist attractions, you’ll have to drive 20 minutes north to Jaco or farther south to Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Also, Playa Esterillos has very strong undercurrents, and there are caution signs posted, so it isn’t a great place to bring the kids if they want some ocean play time.
All in all, for the value, we give the Monterey Del Mar 4 of 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Monterey del Mar. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. The restaurant is very good. Reasonable prices for a wonderful weekend. It is located at the beach front.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

As a native Cape Codder who grew up on the beach I thought I'd died & gone to heaven. What a beautiful place. The beach is unreal. As far as we could see in either direction we could only see a few people. Swimming & playing in the waves was a blast & you cant beat the sunsets. We spent Valentines Day here & fell in love with it's beauty. This was our first trip to Costa Rica & we are thinking of using Monterey Del Mar as our base of operations to further explore the Pacific coast on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel on a beautiful beach! The beach is so wide here and a wonderful place to walk .... we were warned not to swim in the ocean, so we traveled to the Manuel Antonio National Park to swim in a beautiful little bay. Our room here was spacious and clean and we had reliable hot water for the first time in Costa Rica! They have a nice pool and a lovely outdoor restaurant. The food was very good with lots of fresh fruit. I would highly recommend staying here .... a great place to get away from it all with an amazing beach view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestofthewest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The setting was amazing. It's right on the ocean, with beautiful sunsets. You can't swim in the ocean hear, but walking the beach is okay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The grounds are full of flowers, birds and trees. You don't really want to spend much time in the room. The restaurant was open with a view of the water. The food was above average, with breakfast served buffet style (at least for our tour group). This is close to Manuel Antonio National Park, a must see for a trip to Costa Rica. They have a wonderful beach there that CAN be used to swim.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have patios looking toward the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful oasis to get away from it all. Beautiful black sand beaches. The grounds are attractively designed and maintained. I found the rooms comfortable especially with the air conditioning and the bathroom clean. The beds are very comfy as well. I like the fact that the duvet cover is changed after each guest so you are not wondering what is on the bedspread. My laundry was done in a timely manner. The open bar and restaurant really make you feel like you are part of nature and the environment. The one appetizer we had in the restaurant was very tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#1 of 2 in Esterillos Oeste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.4 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
17.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey del Mar Hotel

Property: Monterey del Mar Hotel
Address: Esterillos Este Beach at The West End | Canton Parrita, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcome guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing