We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful setting, comfortable room, good value, basic amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monterey del Mar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, comfortable room, good value, basic amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

You arrive at this friendly oasis by passing through a watermelon farm on a dirt road. The grounds are beautiful with perfectly groomed gardens and iguanas roaming around. Friendly staff, inviting pool, small restaurant. Rooms clean but a little worn. Hot water intermittent, but the weather was hot and steamy anyhow. Amazing sunsets! Yes, hardly any chairs, but also hardly any people.

Helpful?
1 Thank gorobingo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
54
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa de Poás,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From check-in to check out, our experience was superb. Reception and Restaurant/Bar staff all spoke excellent English (but welcomed our attempts at Spanish). Service was prompt, accurate, seamless.

Rooms: The 5 of us stayed in 3 adjacent one bedroom casitas. They were clean and appeared freshly painted. Nothing at all run down about them.

Air-conditioning - excellent - all the cold air we could want.

Bed - King-size. Mattress - excellent - firm without being too hard. Pillows - We all wanted to take them home with us - seriously. These were the the best pillows any of us had ever experienced. The only thing missing was a bar refrigerator. You'll need a cooler if you want your own refreshments. Shower - the water was hot, hot, hot! and the shower spray was strong.
Towels were OK, but not outstanding. But the pool towels were thick, soft and luxurious!

Pool - large, beautiful, sparkling clean and not over-chlorinated.

Grounds - Lushly tropical and groomed every morning- walks swept, lawn raked. Iguanas were abundant!

Restaurant - Both food and service were above average. Hamburguesa Monterey - a bacon cheeseburger - was outstanding, even at the $11 price. Menu items ranged from about $5 to $25. Tico breakfast or continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Beer is expensive - $3.50 for standard Costa Rican beers, but cocktails were reasonably priced.

Beach - The hotel is right on a beautiful, uncrowded beach that extends at least a mile in each direction. The hotel puts out umbrellas and beach lounges every morning. The water posted as having dangerous riptides, so swimming is probably not a good idea.

I'm certain I've forgotten to mention something, but for us, there was not a single item other than mentioned above that did not exceed our expectations. As residents of Costa Rica, we will be frequent visitors to the Monterey del Mar and has many shells and sand dollars to find. It is uncrowded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a jewel, nice, clean, sandy beach, meticulous maintained grounds and clean, comfortable rooms.
The food is good, not spectacular but well prepared and served and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and attentive. Needs more pool and beach furniture.
We will go back.

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The rooms were immaculate and modern with 2 queen beds, bright white duvets, a/c and wifi. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash dispenser in shower. Handsoap and lotion dispenser near bathroom sink. Beach views with great pool. Beach is dangerous and unswimmable. Lots of shells to be found.
Drinks at bar overpriced. Location is isolated. Staff great. Grounds beautiful with fountains, flowers, etc. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTZHKWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were staying at the nearby Alma del Pacifico and decided to have dinner at this hotel one evening. The restaurant's ambiance was casual and although there were several diners it was not noisy. The wait staff was pleasant, courteous and efficient. The food was simple but well prepared and tasty. Prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Although somewhat removed from the main attractions of Manuel Antonio Park, this quiet hotel is a hidden gem. (But if you don't want the hastle of transportation to and from Manuel Antonio, this place may not be for you. However for us, it was a great place to return to and de-stress after a day in the bustling local towns, or hiking through the Park.) The beautifully- maintained grounds are filled with flowers and lush foliage, and the rooms are large and well appointed. Most units have their own terraces. The beachfront outdoor dining terrace offered an excellent and varied menu. There was always well-prepared freshly-caught fish when we were there. The restaurant staff were pleasant and attentive, especially Carla at the bar. Note: the beach, although lovely to look at and walk on, is not a swimming beach due to dangerous riptides, however the beautiful pool more than makes up for this. Monterey del Mar is a great place to relax and appreciate the natural beauty and bird life of Costa Rica's Pacific coast.

Room Tip: The few beachfront suites look gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toiyeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you choose a beach front hotel because you like to sit by the pool where you can neither see nor hear the ocean, this is the place for you. I chose this hotel because I love the ocean and I wanted to sit on the beach. There are two broken down chaises by the beach and they were always taken. So I went to ask if one of the many chaises around the pool could be moved to the beach. After waiting for quite a while, the person at the desk said the manager was not there and I could email him for an answer. I gave up and went to visit my friends at another hotel on the beach that cost half as much and had plenty of chaises, some hammocks on the beach, and a much friendlier attitude toward its guests.

WiFi is not available in your room, only in the dining room, a room by the kitchen that smells awful and has no fresh air, and the front reception area.

The place is very clean and well kept, I only had breakfasts and one meal there.

Next time I will go to the hotel down the beach

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have ocean views; if you like the ocean ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silogram46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
1.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#1 of 2 in Esterillos Oeste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
12.4 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
17.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey del Mar Hotel

Property: Monterey del Mar Hotel
Address: Esterillos Este Beach at The West End | Canton Parrita, Esterillos Este 6300, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey del Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monterey del Mar Hotel, Restaurant & Spa is the gem of the Central Pacific Coast. Nestled between the popular destinations of Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park, this boutique hotel offers a convenient location with the serenity of a secluded beach. The warm colors of the hotel and it's lush tropical gardens give way to a breathtaking, uninterrupted view of expansive Playa de Esterillos Este (Esterillos Este Beach).Enjoy swimming in our beautiful pool, a relaxed stroll on our cocoa-colored sand beach, go play in the waves, enjoy a delicious meal at our beachfront restaurant or ask our concierge to book an adventure tour for you. Amenities include: oceanfront rooms, elegant suites with private terraces, a beachfront restaurant with selections ranging from local fare to international favorites, spa services, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi in the lounge, satellite TV, room service and complimentary continental breakfast. As our welcome guest you are our priority. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Monterey del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterey Del Mar
Monterey Del Mar Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing