We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Ranch and Beach Stroll for Riders of Any Experience Level!”

The Riding Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Beach Horseback Riding Adventure near Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to ride Healthy Horses with a Bilingual All Around Horsemen on a Customized beach riding adventure located near Manuel Antonio Beach and Jaco Beach. Specialized in small groups and customized tours. With a lifetime of equestrian experience my brother Gustavo and I (Diego) welcome you to enjoy our Personalized service complemented with well-trained mustangs, forested trails and secluded beaches. Our commitment: every rider will be match with the best possible mount according to riding ability, weight and personality. Tours are customizeable, horses are happy and healthy, and we guarantee a comfortable and personal interaction for the duration of your tour. Beach ride can be customized from 1 to 2 hour riding time including wager and riding instructions. Delicious lunch at ocean front beach restaurant is optional! transfers from Manuel Antonio and Jaco available upon request
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Ranch and Beach Stroll for Riders of Any Experience Level!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Diego at the Savegre Rancho Monterey and his horses were wonderful! He was great at showing me- a more inexperienced rider- the ropes on how to ride properly, while allowing my husband- a very experienced rider- to ride more freely, even allowing him to help with the horses before and after our ride. The property we rode through was absolutely breathtaking, full of farmland, lush forest, and animals. We were greeted with bottled water mid-ride for a quick break before continuing on to the beach at Esterillos Este to take the horses in and out of the water and really let the horses open up and run a little bit. We then we dropped off right at our hotel! We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSeigneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    17
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Horse back riding across a beautiful beach!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The trip was easy to arrange, they fit us in even though we contacted them rather last-minute, and the ride was amazing. They even took care of arranging our transportation to and from the ride (included in the cost of the trip).

The guided tour was completely personalized (just the 4 of us in our group), and they had appropriate horses for each person's size and riding level. We spent ~1 hour riding through a farm (very scenic), and then we were met by someone with cold bottles of water for a refreshing recovery from the heat. Then we rode just a little further until we crossed onto a beach -- the most beautiful beach I've ever seen! -- where those of us comfortable were allowed to gallop along the shore-line (what an incredible feeling!!!).

When we had had our fill, we rode up to a nice hotel/restaurant, tied up the horses, and were treated to lunch at the restaurant (included in the cost of the trip) -- delicious food and with a view of the beach the whole time.

The guide was a lot of fun to talk with (he works on the farm, speaks perfect English, and is very knowledgeable about Costa Rica) and he even took photos and cell-phone videos of our galloping along the beach (for a lifetime of memories).

It was the perfect trip!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
“Awesome Ranch Beach Ride!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My 2 daughters and I had a spectacular experiance with Diego and his wonderful horses on our trip to Costa Rica. The horses were in great shape, well trained and very easy to ride. We rode on the 5000 acre farm with beautiful scenery/views, and on the beach. We have owned our own horse and have ridden alot, so were thrilled that Diego let us ride at an advanced level. Galloping on the beach and in the ocean is an event no one can describe, but must experiance. Diego and Gustavo were awesome and very attentive to all our needs. Diego customized the ride to our requests, and then went the extra mile by providing us video and pictures of our ride.(Over the top service!!). Then to top it all off our ride included lunch at a beautiful beach Hotel/Resort. It doesn't get any better than Diego and his horses, truly an unforgetable day. Thanks Diego

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Breathtaking ride!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are an experienced riding family and are reluctant to ride while on vacation as the horses are often overworked and the ride is targeted toward inexperienced riders. This ride goes to the top of our list as our best holiday riding experience. Here's why:
- the horses are beautifully trained, in excellent shape and well cared for
- Diego is an engaging and knowledgable equestrian
- the ride was completely tailored to our experience level; we galloped along the beach, swam the horses..we had smiles plastered on our faces the entire time!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
“A Great Experience!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My two friends and I enjoyed our trail ride very much! We were guided by Diego through varied terrain - a mountain with beautiful views and ended with by taking the horses on the beach and into the water. The horses were very well mannered, responsive and well cared for. Diego proved to be an excellent horseman and trainer as he described what goes into caring for the horses at his ranch. We were even able to help with washing the horses after our ride and cool them down. Overall, a wonderful experience and greatly recommended!! Thank you Diego and to my mount for the day, Sunrise :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riding Adventure also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Esterillos Este, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Riding Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing