We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beach hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a great hotel that had lovely access to the beach - lovely sandy beach that goes on for miles, good restaurant, clean and comfy rooms. All rooms have quiet air conditioning. The service and help of the management went well beyond what was expected. Marcie is a great hostess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
54
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A friend of mine and I were staying down the beach at a different hotel and found the Pelican for dinner our last night of our vacation. We were so sad we hadn't found it sooner. The owner, Marcy, was so welcoming and her staff were great. The food was the best on the whole beach. I'll be going back and this time I'm staying at her hotel as well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

12 Friends and I just finished an incredible 10 days here in Esterillos Este. We rented the 2 beach houses, and couldn't have been happier with the service and 'Pura Vida' atmosphere. The beach here is far from tourist packed, with great waves, and unimaginable sunsets. When you come during the high season, you'll also make a new best friend - Marcy! Tell her hi for me, and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very friendly owner, rooms ate clean, right on the ocean, very quiet and relaxed

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haharren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Josecito, Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

...you'll love the Pelican Hotel. We live in Costa Rica and were able to get a reservation for Semana Santa (Easter week), when all the Ticos go on vacation. We have been to several other places during this absolute height of the tourist season only to feel elbow to elbow on the beach. Not here. I joked with the friendly owner/manager, Roger that I would not write a review because I didn't want the Pacific Coast's quietest, most laid-back place discovered. It's true that the lighting in the rooms could be better, and the pool was not pristine, but these things were easily gotten past when walking on the practically deserted beach, napping in a hammock, or partaking of the excellent sea bass in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you looking for a 5 star hotel, this is not the place but if you really want to get away from the rat race and just chill, The Pelican Beach Hotel is it! This is a Basic Costa Rican hotel but what a hotel. The aircon kept me cool in my room, the bed was firm and didn't hurt my back. They have a little safe box in your room for your valuables and the WiFi reached my room over 90% of the time. (It has a very strong signal at the bar/restaurant, where the router is). The most important thing is it's right on the beach which is great for walking, surfing and horseback riding. There are loads of Iguanas and parrots that make a racket in the early evening. There is a pool table and a small pool, which is clean and cleaned (I saw them cleaning it). For $34 a night, it's a great value!. This place is the opposite of the over commercialized Jaco Beach. This place is muy tranquilo! My only complaints were the sink was loose, sheets were clean but worn and the shower could be upgraded with a slightly better showerhead. The continental breakfast was skimpy (mangos could be served since this place is loaded with mango trees) but this are all small complaints. The staff was very helpful and friendly which is a real plus. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We reserved a room for the easter hollydays, trusting the pictures of the web. What a dissapointment, room without TV , dark no lights, the tiny balcony is shared, no smoking is not followed, swimming pool dark murky water seemed without care, bed clouth smelled, etc.............
Didn't ask for reimbursement, ran out of the place and never looked back.
Check the place before going , pictures are outdated and misleading. More like a scam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
0.1 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delfin Beachfront Resort
Delfin Beachfront Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Bejuco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Dolce Vita
La Dolce Vita
#1 of 2 in Esterillos Oeste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
11.8 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
17.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: Costado Este Aeropuerto | Between Jaco & Manuel Antonio, Esterillos Este 90, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Beach Front Hotel is your perfect Costa Rican get away! With its colorful decor and friendly staff this boutique hotel sits on the ‘Riviera of the Central Pacific.’ Because of the unique geographic positioning of our 11-mile long, chocolate-colored sand beach, this is one of the a few places in the world where you can enjoy amazing sunrises and beautiful sunsets as well.  It’s where the jungle meets the sand, and you’re right in the middle of it. Relax on the beach or let our staff help you plan a day filled with adventure: zip lines, canopy tours, surfing lessons, waterfall tours, catamaran cruises, mangrove monkey tours, sports fishing, kayaking, horse back riding, massage or yoga classes, and so much more! Afterward, return to our beachfront paradise for the Daily Sunset Happy Hour. Our casual patio restaurant is open 7am until 10pm to serve you breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our varied menu includes the best coconut curry on the planet. The hotel has 14 rooms and two private homes, a full bar and restaurant all located on Playa Esterillos Este, conveniently located just 30 minutes from Costa Rica's most popular tourist destinations, Jaco, Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park and only 90minutes from San Jose airport  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing