We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real slice of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Certificate of Excellence
Wivenhoe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real slice of paradise!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This ended up as quite simply one of the best holidays we have ever had. The location of this gorgeous little hotel is absolutely stunning- it is directly on a long, wide beach with the Pacific Ocean crashing onto its gently shelving sand. The accommodation is fairly simple but really lovely and is kept clean.. we stayed in cottage 6, which I think is the best bungalow- it has a veranda area with double doors opening in to the room, looking out towards the ocean about 50 yards away. This cabina also has a little kitchenette, which not all the accommodation has, and like the others has a fridge and a massive (and very comfortable) double bed. All of the accommodation has air conditioning, which some may find essential! The real thing which makes this place so special , though, is Mikey and Diana, who manage Encantada, who are fabulous hosts. They made us feel exceptionally welcome from the moment we arrived, and after a few days there we changed our plans to travel around Costa Rica staying in different locations and booked to spend the whole 2 weeks there! Nothing was too much trouble, they helped us arrange all the things we wanted to do (white water rafting, canopy tours, zip lining, national parks, surf lessons) and gave us tips to ensure we got to do some fantastic activities, they even helped us arrange all the transport not only to and from the various activities but to and from the airport too. They made our holiday so hassle free and relaxing that by the time we left it felt almost like home and that we had known them for months! And I stumbled across it quite by accident while browsing through TripAdvisor for inspiration- the reviews made me think that this was a place worth visiting- and they weren't wrong! As for the negatives- the currents in the sea are strong, it is not really a safe place to swim if you are a poor swimmer, but the beach has a very gentle slope so it is perfect if you don't go too deep- they can hire you boogie boards and surf boards and provide surf lessons. There is a pool though if you want to swim with no currents! Also there is no restaurant here, although there are several hotels within easy walking distance if you want to eat out- breakfast is provided, and was lovely- fresh fruit, toast and a selection of teas and coffee; also this is not the place for you if you want room service and busy nightlife- it is a much more relaxed kind of place altogether. So no, there aren't really any negatives- you just won't get the same type of experience as you would if you stayed in a large hotel complex, but then that is not what we wanted, so for us it was perfect... and thanks to Mikey & Diana for making it so! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Cottage No. 6 seems the best, although it was a bit more expensive, but we stayed in No.4 for one ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chriscjWivenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    56
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
106
102
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador de Baru
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had some friends come to visit me on my ranch for a week, who wanted to end their trip at a "resort on the beach." I chose Encantada Ocean Cottages because it sounded perfect: pool, beach, little cottages where the three kids would be comfortable and have fun. I couldn't have picked a better spot. Mikey and Diana are simply the best. We all had a great time, relaxing around the pool, walking the beach. The kids made friends with other kids staying here. It was a perfect family spot. The cottages are indeed spacious and very comfortable, with a huge king size bed and EXCELLENT linens (something you don't always find in CR). We did a tour with Mikey to Rainforest Park -- not to be missed -- and also a horseback ride on the beach with Diego. As a horseback tour operator myself, I would recommend Diego and his well-trained, well-fed horses. He was a charming guide. All in all I can't say enough, 5 stars doesn't cut it, I will definitely be back....and may make this a mandatory on-the-way-to-the-airport overnight stop for all my guests!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaballoLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recommend this small hotel on the beach in Esterillos Este. Diana and Mikey are the perfect managers who were helpful and available the entire time we were there. The cabinas surround the lovely pool, which stayed a warm 89 degrees even at night. The beachfront property was clean and private. The assistance we got with local tours was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. But, next time we'll have to stay longer!

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage near the beach. You'll have a great view of the ocean and cool breezes thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citizenMcDermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica after years of thinking about it and we almost made the mistake of staying in what would have been a "cookie cutter" vacation spot. A friend told us about Mikey and Diana's place, Encantada, and we trustingly took his advice. It was exactly what we hoped to experience in Costa Rica!
The hotel / Bed & Breakfast was the perfect size and located where you can have all of the privacy or adventure you want. We were amazed at the enormous stretch of clean, palm lined beach just a few meters from our cottage where you could listen to the waves and looking left or right hardly see another soul. The luminous blue neon light visible in the waves at night is a captivating natural light show. Great location, great people, great rooms, great value, extraordinary experience!

Room Tip: If possible, book the "Honeymoon" cottage. It was not our honeymoon but was a perfect roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Mikey and Diana MADE this vacation! So welcoming, so personable... they helped set us up with tours, gave us the 'inside scoop' as to where to spend our time, and really made me feel like part of the family :) I will always be grateful for their hospitality - I was traveling with my dad and wasn't sure how it was going to work out, but they helped make the whole vacation smooth sailing! Diana introduced me to some great people down there <3

We loved the location. Remote enough (far enough away from the Jaco-craziness) and clean, but close enough to whatever we wanted to do. The cottage we stayed in (#5) was perfect for us. A full kitchen and two huge bedrooms. Having your own bathroom is pretty awesome when you're traveling with family ;)

Breakfast was perfect - fresh fruit, excellent coffee and toast etc, all ready when you wake up! Loved the service Mikey!!

I would recommend Encantada to anyone! Girls trip, family trip... was a great spot!

Love and miss my Costa Rican 'family' already!! xo

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Go for the extra $10 and get a suite with a kitchen in it. It's a nice option to have :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have lived Costa Rica for the last 20 years and this is our goto place for quick getaways. Away from all the crowds and hassles of mega tourist places - yet within driving distances of everything on the mid section of the west coast. This place has a great pool and ranchito. No restaurant here, but there are many within walking distance. Fruit breakfast is provided. Many hammocks under shaded palms along the beach - cool breeze and steps to the surf! Very friendly and helpful hosts - Diana and Mikie.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you want to bring your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pairs, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Encantada Ocean Cottages. The cottages were a great value, very clean, and the management is excellent. We had breakfast and coffee waiting on us each morning and a cold beer available when we arrived back from touring each day. The dogs really added a touch of home to the place and they were always there to greet you each day or take a walk down the beach. Our rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day and if we needed anything at all, Mikey and Diana were truly accommodating hosts. Overall, the Encantada Ocean Cottages were very homey and I always felt truly welcomed there. We are already planning our next trip there with the gang and can not wait! Mikey and Diana are living their dream in Costa Rica and it is apparent to each and every guest that stays there. They want to make sure that their guest enjoy their time in Costa Rica at the Encantada Cottages as much as they do! The Encantada Ocean Cottages are a charming place ran by a charming couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esterillos Este
16.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
18.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
21.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Bejuco
Hotel Playa Bejuco
#3 of 5 in Esterillos Este
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encantada Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encantada Ocean Cottages

Property: Encantada Ocean Cottages
Address: Beachfront, Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Esterillos Este
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Esterillos Este
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Encantada Ocean Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encantada Ocean Cottages is located in Esterillos Este. The quaint, friendly community is just 90-minutes from the San Jose airport on the Central Pacific Coast and 30-minutes from Costa Rica's most popular tourist destinations: Jaco, Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. The 7 units can either be rented out individually or for groups. Each is unique and able to accommodate 2-5 people; the property sleeps 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Encantada Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encantada Ocean Cottages Costa Rica/Esterillos Este

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing