We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Mount Emei (Emeishan)
Book In Advance
More Info
$354.99*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Emeishan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A scenic mountain area houses important Buddhist temples.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's china major attraction but not well maintained. Entrance fees with bus fare very expensive, all places are dirty, not well maintained, especially the advance cable car.... Disappointing..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    217
    83
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Although very pricy and crowded, the place has very beautiful views. Monkeys are also quite interesting but be careful with the food, they'll search your pockets. Crowds are definitely an issue, but no different from any other China tourist spot

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alton Towers Theme Park...”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had hoped to find a quiet beautiful spot on a remote sacred mountain and instead found a cross between the M25 and a theme park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Its an experience just getting there!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have wanted to go to Mt Emei Shan for quite a few years, so for me, finally arriving at the summit was a great feeling.

The journey up to the top included a bus from Emei Shan for 2hrs, then walking up stairs for 1/2 an hour (past the monkeys - which there were only 2 on the day we were there, and they really weren't interested in the tourists at all), and then finally a cable car to the top.

We hired a guide to assist us with navigating Mt Emei, and are glad we did.
Rather than going on the crowded communal cable car our guide suggested we take a different path to the smaller/slower cable car with individual cars, which we did, and it was great. Sure it was slow, but given how crowded the large/fast cable car was we were happy to be on the smaller one. And the max number of passengers on the small cable car is 2.

Unfortunately the day we visited Mt Emei the summit was thick with cloud. But we were still able to see everything on the top of the mountain, but nothing in the distance.

We were there in summer vacation, however the number of tourists wasn't excessive, and no one was pushy or rude. In fact we had a few Chinese tourists who asked to take photos with us.

The journey back down was 'interesting'. Our guide was told which bus we were to get on, however when we got on the driver told us after about 5 mins that no he needed our seats for some other tourists in a group, so we had to get on another bus, which we did (thank goodness for our guide at that stage as we wouldn't have known what was going on if we were by ourselves).
Then when we finally got on the next bus down, the driver obviously thought he was an F1 driver. We have never ever been in a vehicle driven so fast down hill. Even our guide was a little shaken when we finally reached the base, which we did reach in one piece, although our knuckles were white from holding on so tight!

Overall I would highly recommend Mt Emei for those who appreciate a buddhist temple, however others may not really enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was not a fan of this place - sure, it's pretty, but there are many other places around the world where you can experience a holy mountain without the cost and hassle that Emeishan has.

Expect thousands of tourists, all pushing and shoving to get a good shot of a rapidly disappearing view. The entrance fee is Y150, plus a Y90 return bus trip to the top station. The cable car is Y65 going up, and Y55 coming back down. Don't forget to buy your tickets BEFORE you join the queue - there are separate counters at both bottom and top cable car stations. Once you've stood in line for over an hour, you are rewarded with a crowded gondola with screaming, distorted pop music pumped in.

The top ("Golden Summit") is scenic, but badly signposted and very busy. Definitely not worth US$55 and a day of my time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Emei (Emeishan) also viewed

 
Emeishan, Sichuan
 

Been to Mount Emei (Emeishan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing