We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
72
17
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
72
17
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom house kruger park enjoy nature other guests pools bush wildlife drive safari gate furnishings luxury privacy krugerpark game
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 97 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

After the short flight from Joburb I was met by Laura the estate manager. This was the beginning of relaxing weekend. The estate borders Kruger with private houses built in Classic African thatched style.

Animals roam the estate and elephant footprints were at my doorstep.

I shared breakfast this morning with a family of warthogs.

This is superb value and as close to nature as you can get while having all the comforts of a deep bath and superb swimming pools to relax in after a day walking and safari.

I am resisting the temptation to buy my own piece of African paradise.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank mikel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silonque, Manager at Silonque Bush Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mikel58, thanks for your review! I know you are resisting the temptation of buying your own piece here, but have you seen the exchange rate of the South African Rand and the Euro lately :-) Love to see you back! Regards, Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Too bad we couldn't enjoy more because we had the days full @kruger park. But our house was amazing, very comfortable and big. It had a wonderful view. The satf is friendly and Laura and Pascal are very welcoming! We saw an elephant and some boars just nex to our house which made our stay even more special!

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anafduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silonque, Manager at Silonque Bush Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Ana, thanks for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. It was great having you guys here on the estate. The elephant is still around, probably looking for you :-) Regards, on behalf of everybody from the Silonque Bush Estate's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We just stayed one night at Silonque Bush estate. We then stayed in the Kruger Park Camps. What a mistake! We really should have stayed the whole time in Silonque Bush Estate.
As said in many other review, Laura is very welcoming, makes you feel as a special guest at once. There are some people really made for this job, Laura is one of them!
We had a nice talk with Pascal at breakfast, about Reserve and animal management, what an interesting conversation!
What we really appreciated, was the comfort of the house we stayed in. Lots of space, nicely decorated room, a real African flair. The beds were very comfortable, the place was incredibly quiet (but the "nature's noises"). We had a peaceful night of rest, away in the middle of the African Savannah, a real Dream-Come-True.
Being out of Phalaborwa town means a real advantage: you're inside a reserve, and you get to see wildlife. I was at dawn in the swimming pool, there came a female Warthog with her two little cubs... A real funny encounter! You're 5 minutes from downtown, where you can go to the restaurant (you get the remote control to open and close the gates of the reserve! Like you're the boss!). And another five minutes to the Kruger gates.

Speaking about the swimming pool, there are two swimming pools: One is suitable for children for a part, the other one is an infinite pool over the Savannah and is really deep. (I guess 2m deep or something). Oh my God! A real swimming pool, and not just a washbasin like in many other lodges. I post you a photo of my preferred swimming pool, as well as the wonderful sunset reflecting in the same swimming pool.

I really recommend staying at Silonque Bush estate, as you'll get much of nature. The difference with Kruger Camps (we stayed at Olifants and Lower Sabie), is that you really feel at home, welcomed. You're not disturbed by the many other guests like in Kruger Camps, you're free to drive in and out of the reserve, you don't have to be inside at 6.30pm, you don't have to eat in "Compass Group" dull and bland restaurants of Kruger Park (frozen vegetables with every meal). And the most important: Comfort! (What you don't really get in Kruger Park Camps).

A last word for the breakfast, which you can have in the restaurant, it's really worth the price, and you'll be eating in front of the swimming pools! What a holiday!

Room tip: Every house seems to be worth staying in!
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silonque, Manager at Silonque Bush Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Seventynine,

What a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed staying here, and what a great picture from the sunset at the pool! I believe that was just before that amazing thunderstorm...

Best regards and hope to see you back one day :-)

Pascal and Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent five days of our honeymoon trip at Silonque Bush Estate. We are glad we found that place because we had a wonderful stay.
The staff is very friendly and helpful! You can go to the reception with every need. They also have a restaurant that serves a great breakfast!
The houses are very spacious, every house has its own large lot (10.000 qm), so you don't see the neighbors and you think you are alone in the bush. Very private and romantic! It's also very quiet and peaceful there, you only hear the sounds of nature! The stars at night are amazing.

The estate is overlooking the Kruger National Park and situated directly at the Kruger fence. When you are lucky you can see several game on the property. We had the luck of seeing 5 elephants passing directly by our house!!! That was amazing! We also saw tracks of giraffes and other small game.
It's only 20 minutes to Phalaborwa Gate where you can enter the Kruger National Park. In the city of Phalaborwa, there are also several restaurants and shops, where you can buy your own steak to prepair it on your own grill at Silonque. The grill is cleaned up every day. You also have a fully equipped kitchen.
On the property there are two swimmingpools also overlooking the Kruger and perfect for relaxing.
We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_Weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silonque, Manager at Silonque Bush Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Angela,

What a great review, thanks! How is the married life :-) ? We are happy to hear that you had such a great stay. Last 3 days the elephants have been busy here. Also, we are busy with getting extra giraffes here from our neighbours, because they have too many and not enough trees to feed all. We are very excited and the giraffes are very welcome! If you visit us next time, you will definitely see them!

Regards,
Silonque Bush Estate's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The map as well as the coordinates was deceiving, the road bad to get there, but once there it is all worth it. All the staff are just so helpful and friendly, service absolutely excellent and accommodation are definitely top notch. My wife and I stayed over there for two nights as part of our five day Kruger trip and I am now sorry it was not all four nights at Solinque. We will definitely be back and we recommend a stay here to anyone who love to be treated like you are the most important person on the planet. Jaco & Debi

Room tip: We stayed at no7 and it was wonderful. I am sure they all are as everything we came in contact was of 1st class quality.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silonque, Manager at Silonque Bush Estate & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Jaco & Debi,

Thanks for your compliments; we always try to do our best to give people a 1st class experience. We checked the maps and it seems that some navigation systems are indeed giving the wrong directions. We have been in contact with the most companies and almost all changed their directions the right way. Only Garmin is still not right. Thanks for that tip!

Regards,
Silonque Bush Estate's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews