We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sefapane Lodge ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Sefapane Lodge ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Do not expect 5 star luxury at Sefapane, however it is most certainly worth the money. Our rondavel was neat and tidy, and all was in working order. If you do require a more luxurious stay, rather book one of the safari houses.

We made use of the morning safari. Our guide Patrick was knowledgeable about the animals and plants in Kruger, and we had a good time learning new facts.

The restaurant and cocktail bar was up to standard - try the Amarula cocktail and Bobotie! Excellent!

The only issue we had was during our check in. We used an external website to make the booking, and it seems as if there was a mix up, as Sefapane did not have a room ready for us when we arrived. Luckily one more room was available, but it could easily have been a disaster if all rooms are booked. Please be sure to confirm booking with the lodge before arrival.

Overall a good stay that I would recommend to others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eugene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review of Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear about the mix up with your booking, we have also set the wheels in motion from our side to investigate the fact that the online travel agent you used did not pull the booking through to our system and perhaps we can avoid such an event in future.

Sefapane Lodge is indeed not a 5 star property. We offer 4 star self-catering safari houses and 3 star Rondavels. We are however, very pleased to announce that the Rondavels will undergo an update in 2014 and we hope that you might return to Phalaborwa again in the future and stay with us again.

Safari greetings
Sefapane Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    110
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
102
116
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is superb. From Sefapane you enter Kruger park in a couple of minutes. Distance from Hans Merensky golf is close. Sefapane offers you a perfect stay for recreation or adventure. At the desk you can register for several activities in the park. Restaurant and bar are good. Swimmingpool connects with the bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wil-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Wil-P,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for the compliment on our location and facilities. The lodge is indeed well positioned to offer a fantastic base from which to explore Kruger and the region. We will also pass your positive comments regarding the restaurant and bar to our staff who work in those departments.

We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Your Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Sefapane Lodge is located very near to one of the Kruger gates. The staff is very friendly. The accommodation is wonderful. Really, Sefapane Lodge is the best choice you can make! When you like birds, Sefapane Lodge is the best accommodation to stay, since there are more than 100 species on the lodge. Especially during the breeding season, it's very interesting to follow the different weaver species!

Room Tip: Choose one of the houses around the pond. Great houses, great view and lots, lots of different bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Marguerite,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the variety of birds that call our landscaped gardens and dams their home. We are indeed spoilt for choice in the breeding season.

Thank you for the selection of images you have posted. Why not pop onto your Facebook page and share them with our fans too? The Cardinal Woodpecker is a great find, well done.

Sincerely,
Your Sefapane Lodge & Safaris team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at Sefapane very often and still make use of their facilities very often. The eperience I had all the time is very good and the staff are very professional. The restaurant is very good and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gert,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your continued support and we are pleased that the staff and facilities continually meet your expectation.
See you again soon!
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great accomodation in the bushveld. From a personal little welcome letter on the bed to the tranquility next to the sparkling pools, its a great place to stay. The food pricing at the restaurant might seem a bit high but the chef know how to dish-UP. ENJOY YOUR STAY in a Rondavel!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRYDUBRUYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear HARRYDUBRUYN,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Yours in travel,
Sefapane Lodge & Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to Sefapane in April as a little get away. Service at reception was quite good, we where taken to our chalet and it was very neat. However the fan in the room had a five speed setting but only worked on two, super slow or tornado and the toilet did not flush properly. We phoned reception and asked that the toilet be fixed, which was done two days later. House cleaning is very efficient and our room was spotless each morning. We decided to have dinner at the restaurant and unfortunately we were disappointed, the food is heavily overpriced for the quality and quantity you receive. The breakfast buffet they offer in the morning is a bit more on par and the ladies serving were very nice. The pool area is not as clean as it can be and the Jacuzzi did not work. First time ever we checked out two days before we had to. Overall an overpriced stay for an average experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandiAndLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LandiAndLovely,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience during your stay and thank you for the positive comments relating your experience with our housekeeping and breakfast service.

Any feedback is always valued as it brings valuable insight to our management team, garnered from the perspective of our guests.

We hope that you might have an opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future at which point we might redeem ourselves.

Yours in travel,
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were referred to the restaurant by our guesthouse (but they were unaware of the current situation) and we had the most outrageous dining experience in South Africa. We live in Cape Town and go to restaurants all the time so we have very good knowledge of what's out there. Well, this restaurant looks like a place for groups, synthetic velvety tablecloths of dubious cleanliness, incompetent waiters, poor atmosphere, but the most shocking thing is the price list: R220 for an ostrich fillet and R190 for a beef fillet. The quality of the food is also terrible. I don't know about the wine as after looking at menu, we decided to take one of our bottles from the car! Corkage is R45. Don't go!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear LolaGina,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the candid feedback and have attempted to investigate the incident, but without more detail, we are unable to trace the night in question. We could however find two charges for corkage on our system, both R40, and neither account ordered the meal you mention.

Our Excecitive Chef takes great pride in his menu and it is unfortunate that the dishes were not prepared to your liking on the night. We apologise sincerley in this regard. Chef can unfortunately not recall any complaints on the night, which might assist us in responding to you with more detail.

In terms of the venue not meeting your expections, we can only confirm that Sefapane Lodge is indeed a resort-syle lodge with larger, open plan dining areas. The Boma is very popoluar in summer for outdoor dining and our main restaurant, Calabash Grill is very popular with international guests. It would seem that you were seated in our indoor dining area, which we only utilise on the colder nights of the year. However, we understand your comparison to your other experiences and can only say that we certainly do not aim to, nor can we compete with the cosmopolitan cafés of Cape Town and trust that you might view the property for its intended design and experience.

We appreciate your comments and based on your extensive experience at other dining establishments. Take to heart that we will investigate the corkage cost and bring the food and staff quality concerns to the attention of the operations team.

Should you want a more detailed reply, please be so kind as to contact our Reservations department directly. We hope that you might pass through Phalaborwa again in the future, at which time you might visit again and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Yours in travel,
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 6 in Phalaborwa
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 25 in Phalaborwa
258 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#4 of 25 in Phalaborwa
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Property: Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa (Formerly Sefapane Lodge and Safaris)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing