We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sefapane Lodge; the best choice you can make”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Sefapane Lodge is located very near to one of the Kruger gates. The staff is very friendly. The accommodation is wonderful. Really, Sefapane Lodge is the best choice you can make! When you like birds, Sefapane Lodge is the best accommodation to stay, since there are more than 100 species on the lodge. Especially during the breeding season, it's very interesting to follow the different weaver species!

Room Tip: Choose one of the houses around the pond. Great houses, great view and lots, lots of different bird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Marguerite,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the variety of birds that call our landscaped gardens and dams their home. We are indeed spoilt for choice in the breeding season.

Thank you for the selection of images you have posted. Why not pop onto your Facebook page and share them with our fans too? The Cardinal Woodpecker is a great find, well done.

Sincerely,
Your Sefapane Lodge & Safaris team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 331 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at Sefapane very often and still make use of their facilities very often. The eperience I had all the time is very good and the staff are very professional. The restaurant is very good and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Gert,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your continued support and we are pleased that the staff and facilities continually meet your expectation.
See you again soon!
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great accomodation in the bushveld. From a personal little welcome letter on the bed to the tranquility next to the sparkling pools, its a great place to stay. The food pricing at the restaurant might seem a bit high but the chef know how to dish-UP. ENJOY YOUR STAY in a Rondavel!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank HARRYDUBRUYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear HARRYDUBRUYN,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Yours in travel,
Sefapane Lodge & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to Sefapane in April as a little get away. Service at reception was quite good, we where taken to our chalet and it was very neat. However the fan in the room had a five speed setting but only worked on two, super slow or tornado and the toilet did not flush properly. We phoned reception and asked that the toilet be fixed, which was done two days later. House cleaning is very efficient and our room was spotless each morning. We decided to have dinner at the restaurant and unfortunately we were disappointed, the food is heavily overpriced for the quality and quantity you receive. The breakfast buffet they offer in the morning is a bit more on par and the ladies serving were very nice. The pool area is not as clean as it can be and the Jacuzzi did not work. First time ever we checked out two days before we had to. Overall an overpriced stay for an average experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandiAndLovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear LandiAndLovely,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience during your stay and thank you for the positive comments relating your experience with our housekeeping and breakfast service.

Any feedback is always valued as it brings valuable insight to our management team, garnered from the perspective of our guests.

We hope that you might have an opportunity to stay with us again in the not too distant future at which point we might redeem ourselves.

Yours in travel,
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were referred to the restaurant by our guesthouse (but they were unaware of the current situation) and we had the most outrageous dining experience in South Africa. We live in Cape Town and go to restaurants all the time so we have very good knowledge of what's out there. Well, this restaurant looks like a place for groups, synthetic velvety tablecloths of dubious cleanliness, incompetent waiters, poor atmosphere, but the most shocking thing is the price list: R220 for an ostrich fillet and R190 for a beef fillet. The quality of the food is also terrible. I don't know about the wine as after looking at menu, we decided to take one of our bottles from the car! Corkage is R45. Don't go!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LolaGina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear LolaGina,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the candid feedback and have attempted to investigate the incident, but without more detail, we are unable to trace the night in question. We could however find two charges for corkage on our system, both R40, and neither account ordered the meal you mention.

Our Excecitive Chef takes great pride in his menu and it is unfortunate that the dishes were not prepared to your liking on the night. We apologise sincerley in this regard. Chef can unfortunately not recall any complaints on the night, which might assist us in responding to you with more detail.

In terms of the venue not meeting your expections, we can only confirm that Sefapane Lodge is indeed a resort-syle lodge with larger, open plan dining areas. The Boma is very popoluar in summer for outdoor dining and our main restaurant, Calabash Grill is very popular with international guests. It would seem that you were seated in our indoor dining area, which we only utilise on the colder nights of the year. However, we understand your comparison to your other experiences and can only say that we certainly do not aim to, nor can we compete with the cosmopolitan cafés of Cape Town and trust that you might view the property for its intended design and experience.

We appreciate your comments and based on your extensive experience at other dining establishments. Take to heart that we will investigate the corkage cost and bring the food and staff quality concerns to the attention of the operations team.

Should you want a more detailed reply, please be so kind as to contact our Reservations department directly. We hope that you might pass through Phalaborwa again in the future, at which time you might visit again and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Yours in travel,
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our organization booked the venue for a conference. The reception service and conferece organization team were absolutely fantastic. They accommodated all our needs and were super friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, our 4 star experience ended there.

The conference venue, the accomodation and the food was really not of a four star standard. We believe that the price did not merit The service and quality of the place. We have travelled extensively across the country and stayed in so many beautiful establishments, and we speak from experience in saying that this place did not meet up to our expectations. The rooms are extremely dated and do not impart a sense of 4 star luxury. The most disappointing factor, however, is undoubtedly the restaurant!!! The dinner was just soooooo bad. There was not one single meal that we ordered that was up to standard across the entire menu and we all had upset stomachs even though we ate different meals. I suggest that the lodge gets a new chef and should revamp the restaurant and it's staff. The restaurant staff appeared to be apathetic and not very friendly which was in stark contrast to the reception staff. Please note that this does not apply to the breakfast or the breakfast staff as the breakfast was adequate and the staff at breakfast were very friendly and efficient.
It is important for us to bring this to your attention so that the place improves and lives up to the 4 stars that it claims to be.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear DaniN,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor posted in February. We aplogise for not replying sooner, but can confirm at this time that a new team is in place and we hope that you might travel our way again in the not too distant future, at which time you might take the opportunity to experience our new menu.

Yours in travel,
Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

In general good service. However the rooms are old and in need of serious renovation if the 4 star rating is to be believable. Old furnishings in the bedroom with a broken shower door and stained bathroom fittings. The room floor was not entirely clean and animal droppings were lying in the corners. The restaurant provides adequate meals at reasonable prices. The tiny spa is rather underwhelming with all the noise of the main reception outside the windows. Proximity to Kruger is convenient.
Overall it was an average experience and, despite the lovely staff, we would not book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank User764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Usher764,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor. Although your stay was in December 2012, we would like to respond by saying that we are sorry we missed this review during our answering process at the time.

Your comments have been taken to heart and we can assure you that our new management team is making every effort to maintain the three- and four-start standards our guests expect. There are also plans to upgrade the Misava Spa facility in the future, to address the fact that it has grown from an ad-hoc value added service to a integral part of the guest experience.

We do hope that you might return to our neck of the woods at some time in the not too distant future, at which point we might have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
The Sefapane Lodge & Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
1.5 mi away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
86 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 6 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#2 of 27 in Phalaborwa
269 reviews
21.5 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa (Formerly Sefapane Lodge and Safaris)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range: $70 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing