We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to visit Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen area-Holland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good way to visit Kruger”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

One whole week in a nice lodge. Good roundavels, clean and good service ( a new bulb and TV-settings within 2 hours). The lodge isn't that big, lots of staff though. Nice pool and bar. Very good massage with Lulu ( more then 4 hours).
Mindor details: it is located besides the mine and a rather busy road. So real quiet...mmm. Good be better. The staff should be a little bit better informed about the possibilitïes: I mean: they can offer you a lot of safari's but the don't always know where and how they will take place, if you should bring warm clothes, how long it will take. But again, that is minor. Things to do ?? Apart from obviously the Kruger-park (wonderfull) I wouldn't know. We went to Tzaneen (tea-plantations) for one day. Maybe they can that part a bit more of attention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanB9627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sefapane1, marketing and sales executive at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Jan,

Thank you for you review on tripadvisor! We are happy you had a good stay and I will address the minor points so we can improve on it!
Hope to see you again!

Regards from South Africa,
Sefapane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    110
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
102
116
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here in 2010 just before the world cup. The staff are amazing, the service is great. The restaurant looks like it comes right from a travel magazine and makes it unreal. The food is great, try the ostrich! Yummy! The safaris and day tours are splendid with good value for money and great guides.

There are different rooms available, we stayed near the Dam, lovely. The rondavels are not too big and have a good size bathroom. Very comfortable throughout the whole stay! Really enjoyed ourselves!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, try one close to the Dam, then the views in the night and early morning are stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sho0naa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

After a warm welcome, we went to our great house! With perfect safari's organized bij the lodge, golf course close by, friendly staff, good food! We had an unforgettable stay and we will absolutely come back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sefapane1, marketing and sales executive at Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Jorge,

We are very happy to hear you ahd a good stay with us and want to thank you for your review!
Hope to see you next time!

regards from south africa,
The sefapane team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We enjoyed our stay for a couple of nights staying in 'DikDik' - one of the little rondawals. The little house was clean and spotless with a very small kitchenette and fridge. A large comfy bed with AC. Having just spent 11 days in Kruger we were surprised by how many mosquitos there were during the day and lavishly put on mosquito repellent at night. More mosquitos here than in Kruger!

The pool was inviting and refreshing but quite rough on the bottom - but you could sit in the pool drinking cocktails! We ate a couple of times in the restaurant which was pleasant.

The hotel was fairly close to town and the local Spa. You could hear some traffic noise, drilling (from more buildings being built) and dogs barking but not excessively so. We had a walk around the grounds which were surprisingly large and around some large lakes (probably reason for mosquitos). We didn't do any trips - just some chilling out time which is what we needed.

A fairly relaxing stay for the short time we were there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowzatCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay - used really as just a base for excursions into Kruger, a convenient 5 minutes away. The rooms are clean and comfortable... but bring a flashlight or headlamp because it gets very dark walking from the main lodge to your room!

We had several meals, including packed breakfasts to take on our game drives. Always good and filling, and the service was excellent. Very accommodating waitstaff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katastrophe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

we stayed in the safarihouses of Sefapane lodge for 3 nights. The houses are nice and spacious, 3 bedrooms/3 bathrooms. Disadvantage was that the resort is in the town, dogs barking all night! The restarant is ok, nothing special, advantage of the houses is you can have a braai or there is a complete kitchen in the house. The lodge is very near Krugerpark entrnace (2 km or so).
When I checked in they wanted to charge me again, I had to prove that I prepaid. Checking out was the same. Problem was solved quickly after I showed the papers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed for 1 week in Jacarandahuis (estatehouse) and had a great time. The house is fully equipped and airconditioned and is located in a fantastic garden. From the veranda we had a fantastic view over the lakes with a lively birdlive (Kingfisher, Weaver, Ibis and lots more). The house is only 1 km from the Kruger National Park, where we have seen the big 5 by the second day already. We played an unforgetable round of golf on the Hans Merensky golf course. The food in the Lodge's restaurant is very good for a reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. To cool off we plunged into the lovely pool with a sunken bar. We booked the house directly via the owner of Jacarandahuis (google) and he guaranteed us a good deal. This is a real must when you travel towards the Kruger Park.

Kind regards,
Tom and Karen van de Meer

Room Tip: Book Jacarandahuis directly, great view on the dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomKaren9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
20.5 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
14.6 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Property: Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa (Formerly Sefapane Lodge and Safaris)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing