We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Phalaborwa
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
79
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
79
6
0
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Visited the River Camp in week 29 with my family. What an experience. Were greated in Pharlabowa airport and driven directly to the camp where a room with a divine wiev were waiting. This was the start of a 7 fantastic days in Balule. We attended gamedrives almost every day, and they all were different. Some days were animal packed, and others almost animal free. The funny thing is, you dont really care in the end whether animals are spotted or not. The drive in itself together with a competent guide and some other guests are just relaxing, funny and sometimes breathtaking. Got quite fond of the G&T in the bush while watching the sunset. We were lucky to be at Balule with 3 other families, who we instantly liked and connected to. This is part of the experience as you have to be willing to spend 7 days closely together with people you dont know initially, but who probably share the same interest for the wonderful nature. Big thanks go to the staff of the camp. They really made the stay fabulous. CleAning impeccable, waiters attentive and friendly. The cooks made wonderful food and the 2 guides Edward and Jonathan were pleasant, knowledgable and awesome animalspotters. Also the 2 muses Cecilie and Katrine helped us with the practicalities whenever needed, and took part in some of the tours. All in all the manager Jesper should be proud of his fantastic staff. They really make this place special. Balule River Camp is highly recommended by this family.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank MadBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

Balule River Camp one the best camps stayed till date with great ambience feel at home Food ,Hospitality,Safety Concern.

Both the owner, Husband & wife really very kind and very helping nature , it was July end super chilled weather around 5Am we were about to start for Kruger National Park along with owner and it was amazing fun watching wild animals and what we saw King of the jungles that to not 1or 2 there were 6Lions .

One of the best trip to South Africa.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 500sumitkumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017

Visited Balule River Camp October/november, 2016. Amazing experience, great staff! Everything is taken care of, the staff is just wonderful! The most amazing view to Olifant River from the lodge: We saw elepphants, hippos and crocodiles everyday. Jonathan is a fantastic guide but theall of the staff is wonderful. Great food, great atmosphere. What´s not to like :-)

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank Staalanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

This River cap is one of the best I ever been. The staff is amazingly well trained to work in the wild. The safari trip to Krueger park was fantastic. Highly recommend! We travelled with our daughters and it was very safe and friendly for children.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank marialR4875AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

As part of a two week vacation in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana we stayed at Balule River Camp for a week. It turned out to be a one-of-a-kind experience. The lodge is situated 13 km from the main road (on a very bumpy road) next to the Balule River. The surroundings are beautiful and the wild life is literally in the lodge. Baboons are playing on the ground, crocodiles and hippos lives in the river below the lodge and a group of three elephants passed through the lodge when we were there.

Even though it turned out that we had chosen virtually the worst time you can imagine for a safari in the winter after a year of drought, we saw a lot of wild life. Most of it on the tour to the public park but also a lot of animals in the Balule area. Of the big five we only missed the leopard. Our guides, Jonathan and Edward, were fabulous at spotting the animals at a far distance and get close to them without intimidating them.

The lodge itself is intimate and well maintained. It consists of two bungalows with three rooms in each, a main house with a small pool and fitness room, a small shop and houses for the staff. The standard of the facilities are high, and both power, hot bathing water and wifi were reliable which is not always the case at safari hotels.

The food is a story in itself. We have travelled many places and eaten at many restaurants from family restaurants to Michelin restaurants, but we have very seldom got a consistently culinary experience at the level we got at Balule seven evenings in a row. Sometimes served outside in the Boma, sometimes served by the fireplace in the main room and one evening even served at the top of a hill in the bush in the light from candles and torches.

The staff was kind and spread a happy mood from early morning til late night. Jesper, the manager of the lodge, is a great host. He was very accessible and participated in all meals and facilitated a cozy atmosphere and good conversation and also managed to include our sons (13 and 20 years) in the dialogue. When we had special requests Jesper was very flexible and fast to react.

We can definitely recommend Balule River Camp.

NB: One thing we realised was that it is possible to book a stay directly at Balule bypassing the travel agencies. Then you can arrange travel and other activities yourself. The contact information is reservations@balulerivercamp.com or +27 83 677 6889.

NB: It is sometimes difficult to predict the additional costs when you plan your travel. Our experience was that if you have chosen a standard package with travel and accommodation you can add around 5% for drinks, tips, laundry etc. Extra tours are not included in that figure.

NB: It is very cold in the winter in the mornings so bring your winter clothes, if you travel when it is winter in South Africa.

Room tip: One of the master bed-rooms has an out-door shower in addition to the in-house shower.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christianfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews