We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to explore area, comfortable and friendly host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 24 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lummen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place to explore area, comfortable and friendly host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Comfortable and large rooms on a save domain. It was cheaper and better than most other places we have been in S-Africa. Friendly host. Close to the entry of the Kruger Park, nice restaurants in the nearby. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    48
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
132
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paternoster, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Literally at the gate of the Kruger National Park is this beautiful B & B set in an expansive garden with wonderful open air seating under thatch. Good linen , clean rooms and a more than adequate breakfast make this an excellent value stay. Good advice on where to stock up for provisions for our stay in Kruger as well as recommendations for dining resulted in a hassle free , more than pleasant overnight stop.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank your for your reviews, am glad mum in law looked after you both! Sorry we didn't get to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The very friendly, helpful owner made this an enjoyable stay. Sunbird Lodge is situated in a peaceful area and the beautiful gardens are home to various species of birds. I would recommend this lodge as it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Sunbird lodge is run by an English guy, David, and his ZA wife. The atmosphere is very friendly and laid back. Spacious, clean rooms and a complete breakfast. Good value for money. It is a very convenient choice to enter the Kruger park early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaGina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much. really glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a beautiful place to rest and relax in order to prepare for our next adventure. Dave and Sam were fabulous. They were attentive to our needs, quite helpful with directions and area information, and not invasive. It was a perfect retreat for our family. Our 11 year old son had a delightful time with Dave and Sam's daughter. He even hated to leave due to his new found friend. He also enjoyed the owner's dog, Chelsie, when playing with their daughter. So much fun! The decor and comfort of this place are amazing. Tasteful, classy, simple and comfortable. Even though it was too cold to swim, the pool was beautiful. We enjoyed sitting in the sun on the side of the pool and dangling our feet in the water. The grounds are magnificent and the sounds of the birds are so very pleasant. It was a very quiet and comfortable accommodation...just what we needed. Also, we loved our spacious room. Plenty of room for our 6 weeks worth of luggage. The security and parking were perfect as well. Oh, I almost forgot, we loved the aquariums on the grounds, too. And, the beds, were the most comfortable beds we have EVER had when travelling around the world. You will certainly get a good night's rest here. We stayed for 5 nights. We will certainly stay here again if we travel back to South Africa from USA.

Room Tip: We were in the last room at the end. We pulled in the gate, had great parking, and our room was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motive8now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much, really glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope the rest of the trip went well. Becky & Chelsea are missing Isiah, they had so much fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family and I visited relatives in Phalaborw on the 14th June 2013 and slept at Sunbird Lodge. We had such a wonderful stay at Sunbird Lodge.... A home away from home. The hosts were amazing and the food was so good.
We'll definitely go back to Sunbird Lodge the next time we visit Phalaborwa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puisano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much. Really glad you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you next time you are up this way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronshoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was more than very good to stay at Sunbird Lodge, because of the beatefull big garden and the unjusuel helpfull people. If you like a week in Phalaborwa, this is a good place: cheap, good food, close to Kruger and the airport. It is easy to walk all around town, where there is no more traffic than you can count the cars, and people are very friendly. It is so peaceful, that you start studying the windows of the realestate shops. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place, but if you like to meet the rhinos, the elephants etc. you just go there. On foot in Kruger you dont meet so many big animals, but they see you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank line661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks you so much. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the in laws looked after you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
0.5 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
1.2 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
2.0 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 24 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 24 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.0 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 23 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Property: Sunbird Lodge
Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing