We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Sunbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbird Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Sunbird is a nice resort with a big garden and lots of exotic birds. The rooms are basic at a fair price. It is a quiet and safe location which is ideal for trips to the Kruger Park. On hot days you can use the swimmingpool and relax. Our hosts were very friendly and always ready to help and organize.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Sunbird lodge, Phalaborwa on our recent visit to Kruger. The establishment itself is very serene with wonderful gardens, swimming pool and offers excellent value for money. Our room was well appointed with very comfortable bedding and was also extremely clean. We also enjoyed the breakfast and the hosts made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were a party of four adults and stayed at Sunbird Lodge for two nights. After a long trip
through Kruger Park we arrived in the evening and we met with a friendly reception by Sam
and Dave and had a nice dinner which we had ordered before. We stayed in two spacious
rooms which left nothing to be desired. We enjoyed our stay thanks to the friendliness and
Sams and Daves readiness to help in all relevant matters. Due to the cool weather we were
unfortunately not able to make use of the tempting swimming pool. We keep this pleasure
for later because we will be back for sure. We can only recommend Sunbird Lodge to other
tourists for a stay at Phalaborwa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerdBuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and was a pleasure having you here with us. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Sunbird has got it all, it 3 km from the Phalaborwa Kurger Gate, it's pretty, clean, friendly and tremendous value for money. The only thing better than this is to actually stay in the park and that would be several times more expensive. Dave and his wife are friendly hosts and if there is a downside, the breakfast wasn't great and lunch and dinner aren't available. But you can always eat out and if you show up in summer, there's the pool! Trust me, stay here. We did and we seriously lucked out!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuri Abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thanks for your review Kuri, was a pleasure having you guys here.
Just so your know for future reference, we do now offer dinners. They are available daily but must be arranged in advance. keep well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Sunbird Lodge, in Phalaborwa, South Africa, convenient to one gate to Kruger National Park, seems to be a little-known gem. A delightful, refreshing, Bed and Breakfast, the hosts are warm and friendly. Our room was terrific and looked newly remodeled. Had all the necessities for coffee-making, fridge, with a nice, comfy bed. After a long day of travel, this was an oasis. Can order a dinner for wonderful convenience, or just enjoy the full and complete breakfast, with eggs cooked to order. Easy, secure parking, a lovely inviting pool--this was probably the best value for accommodations that we had in a 3-wk Africa trip. And it was nice to be able to chat with other guests--the kind of bonus a B and B offers over a less personal hotel.

Room Tip: The Heron Room was outstanding, though they all look out on lovely landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gust02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a friendly welcome by Dave who was very helpful. We got a cool large (family) room with nice surroundings. Therec was a swimming pool, but we did not use it although it was very warm. Breakfast was good and you could get it from 6 am in the morning. So you could get to Kruger National Park early and quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thanks for your review Heinz, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The lodge is very nice and value for money is excellent. The owner Dave was very kind and gave us all the information for entry to the kruger park. The restaurant recommended to us for the evening is great, the best of the trip in South Africa. I recommend the Sunbird Lodge to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umbro2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.5 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
1.3 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
20.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Phalaborwa
297 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#4 of 27 in Phalaborwa
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
A Traveller's Palm
A Traveller's Palm
#3 of 27 in Phalaborwa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range: $65 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing