We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunbird Lodge !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 25 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunbird Lodge !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The lodge is very nice and value for money is excellent. The owner Dave was very kind and gave us all the information for entry to the kruger park. The restaurant recommended to us for the evening is great, the best of the trip in South Africa. I recommend the Sunbird Lodge to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umbro2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in South Africa as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    47
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
130
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 3 days here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Managers went out of their way to make breakfast an enjoyable experience. Real value for money. Very efficient, warm and friendly people run this lodge. It offers exceptional value for money. You never feel like a guest, but as a member of the family. A home away from home. Highly recommended for business or holiday.

Room Tip: Speak to Dave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Sunbird lodge is an excelelnt base to explore the kruger park.
The hotel is very nice, with wonderful gardens. Rooms are very large.
Thoe owner is very nice and will provide a lot of useful tips to explore the area.
Breakfast is very large and good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pereppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you so much, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I am by nature not a B&B person, my sister is. She has been dragging me around South Africa for the past few years from one B&B to another. I havent always commented on them as the service and offering is usually of the forgetfull sort and hearing the nocturnal noises of other guests in nighbouring rooms is not always the most pleasant way to enjoy an evening. After some deliberation (2 minutes) I decided that another exception to my no B&B rule has been found. Sunbird Lodge is simply magnificent in so many ways. The rooms are decent sized and clean, the swimming pool is a delight to cool off after a hot day in the car or for lazing alongside. It is situated not far from the town centre and evening meals are close by with many varietys to choose from. I will happily return to this oasis and when it happens the longer the stay the better. Breakfast is honest and a delight. Hotels in this country of ours had better sit up and take notice the B&B is with us to stay and the value for money that this Lodge in particular presents will keep me out of hotel rooms in future.
Dave, the host, is a wealth of information and you need look no further for assistance with tours and transfers.
Well worth a visit!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Sunbird Lodge, where we spent three nights in Sunbird room. First impressions are of a gated suburban community, heavy furniture and smallish rooms, but don't be put off - the welcome is genuine: Dave in particular proved a very avuncular host, proactive in helping with advice and issues. I was particularly impressed with his efforts in arranging our (personal, as it turned out) Olifants river cruise and dealing with a subsequent slow puncture that his staff member crucially identified before our first venture into Kruger. The extensive grounds, effective ac (it was ferociously hot during our stay) and almost total absence of mozzies contributed to a very relaxed time. Terrific breakfasts, in a lovely room. You are literally moments from Phalaborwa gate, whereupon you are knee-deep in critters upon entering. We were unimpressed by our brief experience of Kruger rest camps - don't do that, come here!

Room Tip: Our room (Sunbird) was on a block facing the gardens, and far enough away from the main house / bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Manager at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments Jim, was a pleasure having you both stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We had no issues with our one night stay at the Sunbird Lodge. The owners are incredibly friendly individuals. We found the room to be fine and fairly clean with a good air conditioner, fridge, and TV. The breakfast provided was absolutely fine with juice, fruit, cereals, and your choice of toast, bacon, and eggs prepare for you. We would certainly recommend the Sunbird Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybertraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed here only one night, before embarking on our Kruger Park journey, and after driving by Blyde River Canyon. This lodge is a wonderful little gem run by a very friendly couple. It is located in a nice, quiet residential area, and has very spacious and beautiful grounds. The rooms are fairly simple, but clean and decent, with nice decorations. Breakfast is cooked to order and tasty. The owner is very helpful and gave us very good recommendations for restaurants and Kruger. If you are heading to Kruger after staying here, the Phalaborwa gate is literally a few minutes away. Don't forget to stock up at the Spar supermarket just before the park, where you can buy things for much cheaper than in the park itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thanks Emil, we great to have you guys staying here with us. Glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.5 mi away
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
#2 of 6 in Phalaborwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
2.0 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#3 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Phalaborwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 25 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
14.2 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Property: Sunbird Lodge
Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing