We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for entry to Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masorini Bush Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for entry to Kruger”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night that was handy to the Phalaborwa gate into Kruger National Park. I booked on line not knowing what I'd find. To my great pleasure, the venue was top notch. The owner/operator was very helpful with directions to the lodge when our GPS was not up to the mark.

The rooms were clean and the braai facilities were great. A comfortable bed and an early start into Kruger was all I needed but we got much more.

Well done Masorini Bush Lodge.

Chris Parslow and Anna-Mari Steynberg.

Room Tip: All of them are great but the ones closest to the dining lapa will mean a slightly shorter walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrispea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sneek
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

What an experience! Margaret and Shawn are the kindest hosts. Margaret prepared a delicious Bobotie for us, whilst Shawn informed us about living in the bush and served us ice cold drinks. The couple knows everything there is to know about wildlife and were happy to share this information with us. Thanks to them we knew where to go during our self-drive Kruger safari. The accommodation is spacious, clean and adventurous. Masorini guarantees a wonderful stay and we recommend everybody to stay there when you’re planning a visit to the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank berend b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a lovely little bushveld hideaway just a few kilometers from the middle of Phalaborwa and Kruger Park Gate. We stayed in unit No.1, a thatched A Frame chalet which was secluded, spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped for self-catering if required - everything we could want. We are in the hospitality business so when we have a break we like someone else to do the cooking and we enjoyed two lovely two-course dinners and a good breakfast in the central thatched Lapa, personally cooked and served by Margaret while Sean served drinks and kept us entertained. Not that you need to be entertained at the Lapa as the procession of animals, especially my favourites the porcupines, kept us enraptured all evening. We will definately stay here again and recommend it to all bush & wildlife lovers. The access road is quite potholed but we had no problem in a low slung BMW - just take it slowly. Masorini is excellent value and a lovely experience but what makes it really special is the warmth & friendliness of Margaret & Sean - truly five star hosts!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W6
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay whilst exploring the Kruger Park, Margaret and Sean were lovely, preparing a great breakfast and hosting evening drinks as the bush babies, a porcupine couple and water buck male and a warthog and her babies joined us. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Only negatives we found were the masorini website advertises charcoal & firelighters supplied but were informed on arrival that hasn't been the case for years, Sean did provide but believe the website needs updating if this is the case, also out of the owners control is the road to the lodge was full of potholes and a car would surley struggle,
Thank you for a lovely stay in your bush lodge.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren_270789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed there twice within a short period of time. Both times we were really happy with the service the rooms and the entire experience. The people who run this property are lovely and seem to put all their hart in it. The bush is their live and so you can see wild life all over the place. The rooms are clean with a great interior. The hut we had (3,4) also had a kitchen so we did cook one time ourselves. Next time i plan Kruger i will book with them again !

Room Tip: There are only an view huts which have all the same great quality or spot ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eetschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

- Our host, Margaret, who was great with our daughter and made us feel at home
- The variety of wildlife (waterbuck, warthog, bush babies, porcupines) which frequented the bar area throughout the evening
- The spacious rooms/chalets
- The beautiful bush setting
- Choice of drinks at the bar

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phalaborwa hotels
5.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
6.3 mi away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tingala Lodge at Bed in the Bush
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#1 of 26 in Phalaborwa
259 reviews
3.6 mi away
A Traveller's Palm
A Traveller's Palm
#3 of 26 in Phalaborwa
69 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Game Guest House
Royal Game Guest House
#5 of 26 in Phalaborwa
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masorini Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masorini Bush Lodge

Property: Masorini Bush Lodge
Address: 22 Silonque Farm, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Masorini Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Masorini Bush Lodge is a tranquil hideaway on the outskirts of Phalaborwa. Nestled in the African Bush the lodge offers a relaxing and upmarket stay for the weary traveller. The spacious en-suite rooms offer private patios and self catering facilities. Situated 8km's from Phalaborwa and the Kruger National Park gate, the lodge is also ideally located as a base for a host of activities including game drives, river cruises, golf and many more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Masorini Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing