We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice italian place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 27 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This is the other one of the 2 good restaurants i know in Phalaborwa. The owners are very friendly Daniela is a very good chef and she will organize the dinner if you require for example vegetarian options. She also prepares original drinks an limoncello that are very very good. Fresh food and bread nice list of wines and the place is small and cozy. Check the photo books and African books in the tv/bar room. They also offer tours to the kruger park.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifrankallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 295 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

I'd recommend Kaia Tani for anyone looking to visit this part of South Africa.

We arrived in South Africa as the last leg of our short African adventure and were, a bit, apprehensive of what we would experience.

Any concerns were eliminated on arrival. The guest house is fantastic. It's small and personal. The rooms were to the highest standard and everyone was so welcoming.

We didn't have a hire car but that wasn't a problem. Thanks to Daniela, we were able to do everything we wanted to in the 8 days that we were there. She organised all the trips and made excellent recommendations about what we may like to do. A very big gold star for taking us on a game drive on our last day & spotting the big 5 in one morning!!

The food is fantastic ... just ask for the Amarula Tiramisu!

A big thank you to Daniela, Alberto, Robbie & Malcolm. We hope to be able to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weecazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Kaia Tani is a very nice lodge directly in Phalaborwa only 5 minutes away from the gates to the Krüger National Park. This lodge is a very good alternative to the much more expensive private lodges in the park, while for most activities it is not a problem not to sleep in the park directly. Such activities like night safaris, or walking safaris can be arranged in the lodge. The rooms are very nicely furnished in local style. Especially the bathroom has a very nice architecture. Breakfast is served in the partially open common room which can be cold in winter month. Dinner is served after previous arrangement, also we found the dinner in the Sefapane lodge much more worth the money and would suggest to walk the 5 minutes there. The lodge has a nice garden including a small pool which can be used to cool down after extended trips to the Krüger Park.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xyz1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We went here with a large group of friends, 15 people, enough to occupy the whole guesthouse, for about a week. We felt at home, because Daniela and Alberto made everything it's possible to make us feeling like that.
Other reviewers have talked about how much Kaia Tani is beautiful, comfortable, clean or how good are all the services, encluded the restaurant, a real surprise. I confirm all this, even more.
And there's a great added value too, maybe the main characteristic that makes Kaia Tani so distinguishable: Daniela and Alberto as guides.
They are recognized ad professional guides and they really are.
Daniela took us in a lot of wonderful activies that made our days completely full, without forgetting our "safaris" in Kruger, where Alberto had the main role and what a role!
Alberto is a real hunter, but not for killing animals, of course, but for finding them. With Alberto you cannot miss something special, because he will continue to go around until he catches something valuable, from bird to lions to leopards.
Well, my hearth is still there, I hope to come back, one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deborahlorenzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daniela455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo C, Proprietario at Kaia Tani Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.1 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.9 mi away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
20.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunbird Lodge
Sunbird Lodge
#2 of 27 in Phalaborwa
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Lechere Guest House
La Lechere Guest House
#4 of 27 in Phalaborwa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaia Tani Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaia Tani Guesthouse

Address: 29 Boekenhout Street, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range: $90 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaia Tani Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaia Tani is an exclusive guesthouse, situated 1km away from the famous Kruger National Park. Besides 1 Suite/Honeymoon, 3 twin-rooms and 2 family-rooms, all equipped with bath and traditional african furniture, a luxurious garden including a beautiful pool is waiting for you. In the evening, let yourself be regaled by our kitchen. We offer a mixture of mediterranean and african dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Kaia Tani Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing