We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere.”
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmaboda
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent there 1 week (5 nights) during my business trip. Room was big and clean. Bathroom was little strange (see photo). Breakfast and food in general was very good. 50 meters from the hotel was a "city center" with small square and super-market. But that was it! A place (not only the hotel but also the whole town) in the middle of nowhere. You are literally forced to stay in the hotel because there is nowhere to go. But it is irrelevant since this is a hotel review.

OFF TOPIC:
The whole hotel reminded me and my colleagues the hotel from "The Shining" movie. Infront of my room was a long corridor like in the movie where 2 little girls used to appear. During the first night I woke up at around 2am hearing screaming girls... In the morning I found out it was a Polish school trip checking in :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you need to stay in Emmaboda, there are better options, at a better price. This place makes an attempt at creating a atmosphere of a "Spanish " hotel in rural Sweden, Cement walls, try to look like stone, heavy wood trim, that is actually stained pine just don't work.
The "bar" and restaurant close at 18:00 Saturday nights. The room is decorated with mid 90's aqua green furniture, and vinyl flooring just don't cut it. More over twins sized beds that have a big crack even when pushed together just 't make the grade. With the window open one can hear the trains roll by all night long.
Breakfast was the best thing about this place, as it was a pretty typical Swedish buffet.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure you request a room with a balcony before you check in, otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is indeed reminding me very much of the 80's with it's decor, which gives it kind of an odd style, but that is the Amigo for you.

The food was so-so, the staff was very friendly and helpful. As there is no alternative around, it goes for the best hotel of Emmaboda.

They do give you free Internet and the room is spacious and clean. The bathroom however, is really no longer acceptable for today's standard and for the prices that the hotel asks for it.

At night I was scared awake, because the guest above me came into his room and it was sounding like someone was standing in mine. It was THAT loud.

Summary: does have it's charms, but please invest in a little more modern appearance!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Advertised as a family hotel the Amigo looks more like a hotel for truckers, salesmen and other travellers. It probably hasnt had a decent makeover for the last twenty years because the decor looks and breathes the eighties. The rooms are spacious though, equipped with tv and small fridge and the beds are decent as well. The bathroom is not more than functional (toilet, sink and shower). We found the 90€ pricetag pretty steep for whats offered. As emmaboda itself lacks any decent place to eat we had no other option than to eat at the hotel. The pizza also showed signs of what couldve been but unfortunately isnt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotterdammerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Checked into the Hotel Amigo after being on the road for 9 straight hours from Heby. There were 7 of us and we were really glad to check in and get settled. The rooms were nice with all the ammenities and the beds were comfy.

Because it was low season, the hotel only had one person working the front desk and serving in the restaurant. We had dinner there and the food, although quite pricey, was excellent. The free breakfast buffet was outstanding and made the price of the room well worth it. A good selection of food and plenty of it.

The hotel is located conveniently near shopping, a post office, liqor store, etc.

Overall, I was quite pleased with the Hotell Amigo.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Address: 16 Jaernvaegsgatan, Emmaboda 361 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Emmaboda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmaboda
Price Range: $123 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amigo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing