We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful and romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gyllene Uttern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Thought it was lovely - got married there and a wonderful setting for a small wedding in the chapel in the castle. Nothing like it in U.S - so glad married in Sweden in such a historical, romantic setting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doralfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

An efficient enough check in by the sole hard-working receptionist, but having reached our room in a separate block, we were disappointed with its rather down-market 1950s styling. The prime example was the “economy” curtains, which had patterned “dress” elements each side but when pulled exposed only a width of “lining” type material.

The bathroom was functional, but with a toilet bowl that was permanently stained & hence not up to standard for a hotel of this quality. Also the shower curtain was very utilitarian (the cheapest available) & there was no soap for the bath – just a dispenser positioned high up for those showering.

Furthermore there were no English-speaking news channels available on the bedroom television, despite there being quite a few English speaking guests at the hotel. We felt that this was a serious oversight.

Finally the broadband could not cope with the number of guests, & despite one being given 8 hour tokens with the password code to enter, it generally only worked for 1 hour without an error message on my laptop, but would not work with my i-phone at all!

On the plus side, the hotel is located at the gateway of a beautiful area on Lake Vattern & Rottle, a stunning lakeside village with a spectacular waterfall was 5 minutes away.

Also dinner in the restaurant with a very nice view was delicious and the service was exceedingly friendly & efficient. Sadly this same area was not used in the morning & we had to have a just about adequate breakfast in a very dinghy, ill-lit internal “grand hall”, but the wooden panelling & painted ceiling were impressive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ystra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Agneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peligroso12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bjarne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Therese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Amalias Hus
Hotel Amalias Hus
#1 of 2 in Granna
124 reviews
19.7 mi away
Badhotellet
Badhotellet
#1 of 2 in Tranas
149 reviews
18 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
552 reviews
17.7 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grannagarden
Grannagarden
#4 of 4 in Granna
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gyllene Uttern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gyllene Uttern

Address: Gyllene Uttern 1, Granna 563 92, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Granna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Price Range: $116 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gyllene Uttern 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best places in Sweden! An unforgettable hotel experience. Midway between Stockholm and Malmo, in the County of Granna-Visingso, stands our magnificent country manor hotel with its castellated walls. This was once Sweden’s first roadside restaurant. With direct and easy access from the major E4 motorway, the hotel is set in a quiet, tranquil and beautiful lakeside location, offering panoramic views of Lake Vattern and the island of Visingso. Our guests can enjoy the highest standards of cuisine as well as a range of excellent accommodation – from luxury suites to modern double rooms. We promise you that your stay will be an unforgettable experience! We can also offer a range of different leisure activities, and will do our utmost to respond to any of your requirements and needs – no matter if you come here for a conference, on holiday, just for a relaxing weekend, or perhaps for your wedding ceremony in our chapel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gyllene Uttern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing