We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”
Review of Sands Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sands Hotell
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandhamn
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A planned two couples weekend ended up by only the men able to go due to a family crisis the same morning. The in itself rather pricy "weekend package" received no reduction whatsoever by the owner who declared there was a two weeks cancellation policy and that our insurance company (!) should pay in case of illness (deaf to the explanation there was no illness but a teenage daughter who needed care). Considering the hotel was almost empty, and that we were only two instead of four having dinner and breakfast this attitude was surprisingly ungenerous. Had we instead been offered a gift card for a dinner for two at a later date, or a symbolic reduction of the "package" price, we would have left happy and had certainly also forgotten the smell of mould in the spa (where the toilet was the only dressing room), the extra (high) charge for "renting" a dressing gown or the small rooms. Then instead we would have remembered the friendly girl serving a well cooked if not very creative dinner, the nice views and the hearty breakfast. What a shame the owner let us leave with bad memories.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Allnipponair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel. We had one of the attic bedrooms. Neither the room or the shower room were very spacious or luxurious but did have a lovely airy feel and was very comfortable.
To compensate for any lack of luxury we had almost exclusive access to a really superb reception room with fabulous views and to a spacious rooftop sun deck with loungers and furniture.
It appears to be very informal. No real check in process just a very warm welcome. Check out was conducted at a table in the breakfast room. The buffet breakfast was Scandinavian style and very good. On the whole a very special hotel on a very special island.

Room Tip: The staircase to the top bedrooms is a glorified ladder. Tricky enough for the able bodied with lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely a beautiful and well appointed hotel in Sandhamn! We lucked into this brand new, modern hotel! Would stay here again in a heart beat!
Sandhamn is a fantastic place in the sunshine but unfortunately our weather was pouring rain. We were forced to stay inside and enjoy the unbelievable views from our second floor corner room! What a luxury it was to get to enjoy a hotel room!
On the only downside, there was no restaurant that night! We misunderstood their website and thought they had a restaurant every evening....upon check-in they told us that they were having a private party so no service for guest that night. Found out later that they only have an evening restaurant on the weekends. BooHoo for us!
If you do go to this hotel, you may want to look into making a reservation for one of the other restaurants on the island. We were turned away from 2 places and because of the rain a few others had closed early. Luckily there was a sandwich shop open...and we didn't go hungry!
They served a nice Swedish breakfast. Loved the ¨Good Morning¨shot.
Be sure to check out the time tables for the ferry - we took the one from Stockholm and had to pay for parking..which made the trip more expensive.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the rooms facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveCake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A nice decent hotel, well located and with clean, simple rooms.

Sweden is not cheap and beyond that Sandhamn is not cheap for Sweden. So the rooms at the Sands Hotell are a little pricey for relatively small rooms but understandable given isolation of island and the relatively short season in which to make money.

The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was good.

Not much to it really - if you are going to stay in a hotel on Sandhamn you haven't got many options and this is a very good one (can't comment on the others as not experienced them).

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank nlgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Sayed here for 1 night, just to get of our crowded sailboat. We were blown away by the standard of the rooms, the personalized service and the situation of the hotel. -A bit expensive, but again, it is far from the main delevery routes...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersTRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

A very nice hotel located on a very nice island. Having used this hotel twice I recommend it when visiting Sandhamn. The staff is very friendly. It is in my opinion difficult to find any other disadvantages than the fact that all of the regular rooms are not very spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKTHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cecila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandhamn
18.3 mi away
Smadalaro Gard
Smadalaro Gard
#1 of 2 in Dalaro
84 reviews
8.6 mi away
Djuronaset Conference & Hotel
21.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden
Grand Hotel Saltsjobaden
#2 of 2 in Saltsjobaden
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Waxholms Hotell
Waxholms Hotell
#1 of 2 in Vaxholm
163 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grinda Wardshus
Grinda Wardshus
#2 of 2 in Vaxholm
96 reviews
12.8 mi away
FagelbroHus Hotel
FagelbroHus Hotel
#1 of 1 in Varmdo
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotell

Address: Box 123 | Sandhamn, Sandhamn 130 39, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sandhamn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandhamn
Price Range: $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sands Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing