We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavalon SeaView Hostel & Bar
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
122
11
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
11
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimor lestebanana pancakeshot showerthe ownerplace to staydorm roomsea viewnight marketfree wifilaundry servicepancake breakfastbook exchangerecommended by lonely planetwestern toiletfood marketcar rentalmeet other travellers
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 139 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2016



Stayed 3 nights in the Lavalon Hostel. They offer dorms and private rooms with fan, air con and hot shower. Breakfast comes with lovely banana pancakes and tea or coffee. The owner, Edwin, is an extra ordinary great host. If you need transport, laundry service or just local guidance.....he will take care of everthing. Appearantly some Websites might tell you the place is fully booked even if they have enough beds available. Just show up or call them...its definitely worth it!

Stayed: December 2016
2  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016

I stayed at Lavalon once going from DIli in Timor Leste to Flores. Edwin was extremely helpful in giving advice and helping to sort out many things, eg. tickets, accommodation on the other islands, taxis, use of motorbike, where to buy certain things, what to see and do in Kupang. I liked it enough to go back with another friend on our way to Rote!The dorm room is basic but very well priced. The double room has a lovely bathroom and view of the sea. There is lots of information on his website and he responded quickly with questions I had before my journey. Highly recommended. Thanks Edwin

Room Tip: If you want cheap take the dorm. If staying for longer the double room may be more comfortable with the option of AC.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gordonsolway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

I just arrived after a long Busride from dili and luckily found that place. We had that beautiful doubleroom with beachview. Edwin was very helpful and friendly. Go here if you are in kupang. Thank you very much

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hollmannjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

plesae give me greeting,good afternoon,can ihelp you?dont say not open yet!we are 6 persons,we are happy to come again but give greeting,explain about menu that you have,so make me happy,me and mi clients want to back hotel, not satifaction

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank pepebalitour2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

This place would be the best budget in town. With its clean rooms (Private and Dorm), good banana pancake breakfast and excellent location. You would struggle to find a better value deal in any other hotel/ guesthouse/ hostel.

However the addition of Edwin makes this the best place in Town PERIOD. Anything you need, Edwin can sort. In my three days here he has arranged Ojek to get me around town, told me exactly what documents I need to get my Visa for Timor Leste and booked my bus to get me to Dili. This man is a treasure who genuinely loves helping out westerners who lack the local knowledge to get things done themselves.

Most popular websites/apps will tell tell you he is full even when he isn't. Phone ahead, contact him Via the Facebook page or just walk in when you arrive in town (If you have Maps.me it's marked on there.) You will not regret it.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews