We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind hospitality, pleasant surroundings”
Review of La Rongere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Rongere
Ranked #2 of 2 Charge B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great hospitality. Breakfast was tasty and the hostess was always friendly and helpful. Plus it was convenient to drive from Charge to several of the chateaux all in one day. The rooms were tasteful, clean and modern. The sauna was relaxing and we definitely enjoyed playing the table tennis outdoors!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way back from Lanquedoc.
We had a good sized room with a seating area, well kept and presented and with the use of an outdoor heated pool and a sauna. Breakfast was a good standard continental choice.
The propery is in a quite spot in a small village but within 15 minutes of Amboise and well placed for Chenonceaux and many other Loire chateaux.
The best part was the welcome from our host, who was always friendly and helpful and we spent an enjoyable hour one evening sat by the pool, with a glass of wine, some nibbles and interesting conversation with Olivia and another guest from Germany.
Would definitely use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJG_KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We could not fault La Rongere.
It is in a great position for visiting the Loire Chateaux.
The rooms are large, the pool and surroundings great.
There are bikes available too but best of all was our host
Olivia. She was so helpful, nothing was a problem.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valleemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed one night at La Rongere. Our host Olivia was very welcoming and attentive. The propoperty is very charming and idyllic with a fantastic view to the countryside. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We could use the swimming pool and the sauna at anytime we wanted. As there are only four rooms, the atmosphere was personal and peaceful. For breakfast there even fruits and muesli. We can recommend this place to anyone who passes his or her vacation in this region!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curry1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a great stay at La Rongere. My family had two rooms- a double and a triple (Rooms 3 and 2, respectively). Both rooms were comfortable. Room 2 had a small sitting area, while room 3 was just bed and chairs.

The real highlight though was the Bed and Breakfast itself and the hostess, Olivia. La Rongere has wonderful facilities for everyone to share- patio tables, the pool, great chairs and furniture near the pool, and a ping-pong table. There was also a spa, but we didn't try that out. Additionally there is a back gate that leads right out to the vineyards and a well marked thirty minute walk to a local vineyard. We really enjoyed that. And Olivia was fantastic. She served us local wine upon arrival and great breakfasts. And more importantly she gave us all sorts of recommendations for the area and made us dinner reservations all the nights we were there. Do try Les Closeaux and Auberge de Launay for dinner. They were Olivia's recommendations and both were fantastic and definitely reasonable in price for the high quality of food.

Three small complaints, but none of them take away from the wonderful stay. One- the showers are quite small. Two- the wall between room 3 and 4 were a bit thin. We could hear people talking in the room next door. My in-laws did not have similar problems between rooms 1 and 2. Third it was quite warm when we were there and a simple fan in the room would have made a big difference in keeping the room cool. But all that said these things only knock La Rongere down to 4 1/2 stores and I'll round up because of the location in the beautiful countryside but close by to sites in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

La Rongere is a find. Go, book a room, stay and you'll never want to leave. Go now, really! We mean it. This is how perfect it is. You can thank us later.

As a example of how kind and thoughtful these owners are, my wife had a bit of a sinus infection and by Sunday needed some meds. Olivia drove us herself to the pharmacy (because it would have been a challenge for us to find), acted as interpreter, and helped us get what we needed, ON A SUNDAY MORNING!

The rooms are all bright and clean, the grounds are beautiful. The breakfasts are superb, with flaky croissants and luscious jams. What more do you need? Be sure to do the vineyard walking tour that starts out the back. The inn's location is minutes outside of Amboise in a nearby hamlet. A perfect location to hit many of the chateaux while still being in the country. Don't miss Clos Lucé, da Vinci's last home, very closeby. Eat at Le Lion d'Or in Amboise for a good meal that was surprisingly affordable for France.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithwesterberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at La Rongere for three nights on our drive through Northern France in April, 2011. We stayed in room number four (farthest from the house) of this four room B&B. La Rongere is located in the small town of Charge, a short 10 minute drive from Amboise. The highlights of our stay were: 1) the quiet, charming, and lush setting of this B&B, and 2) the warm hospitality shown by its owner Olivia Lefevre. On arrival, Olivia greeted us with glasses of local wine. Every morning, Olivia makes coffee for her guests to accompany the buffet breakfast. The four rooms are located behind the main house overlooking a lush yard. A swimming pool and sauna is available for use by the guests. There are comfortable chairs out by the pool where one can sit and relax on a nice day. Since my wife and I communicate with family and friends via email, I took one star off for our inability to pick up the wifi signal in room number four, the farthest from the house. Perhaps installing a wifi range extender/repeater or powerline AV network adapter will help. We were able to use the wifi in the breakfast area of the main house.

Pros:

- run by friendly and helpful owner, Olivia
- Olivia welcomed us with two glasses of local wine
- modern room with thick walls (no noise from neighbors)
- lush yard with swimming pool overlooking a field with horses
- quiet setting, a short 10 minute drive to Amboise

Cons:

- wifi doesn't reach room 4 (farthest from the house)
- only one wooden chair in room for 2 people
- small shower, doors don't open and close easily

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingFinches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Rongere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rongere

Address: 17 rue de la Resistance, 37530 Charge, Amboise, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Amboise > Charge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charge
Price Range: $82 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing