We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Charge
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
475
169
61
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
475
169
61
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loire valley a michelin star restaurant fabulous restaurant pavilion room family room our entire trip bigger room two nights da vinci main building beautiful grounds minute drive old world charm top floor breakfast was delicious bread four poster bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 733 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

Stayed three nights and it was very pleasant. The room was large with high ceilings and the pillows and bedding were comfy! The breakfast was good but the eggs needed to be cooked a big more and kept a little hotter. We loved the views and gardens but you go need a car to get into town. The staff was wonderful and got us a fan because the room got very warm at night! Would go back for sure!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BelginL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

We looked forward to dining at this highly recommended restaurant while touring the Loire Valley. The ambience was nice and the service was average actually below average for a fine dining experience. We were one of the first parties there and at first the service was attentive. However as the evening went on and more clients came the service lagged. There were times I saw the staff standing looking at the tables but to get their attention in such a small room was difficult. The food menu was limited . We had a delicious scallop appetizer which the chef prepared for two which was a nice touch. The chef aslo presented complimentary appetizers which were good. We ordered the duck as the main entree.. We did not realize it was wild until we mentioned our dissatisfaction to the server who told us. In short the taste was gamey and the meat a bit tough. It was barely edible . Then we finished with a fruit souffle which we shared. The chef was nice enough to prepare two separate dishes for the souffle. However it was not what we expected and was more like a frothy fruity dish then souffles with crust and fillings which we have enjoyed in the past. Our expectations were not met unfortunately. Their was also a client with a crying baby that would not leave the area and caused disturbance to the guests. This may be beyond the restaurants control but it made an expensive meal additionally unpleasant.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank oblueocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaupray, Propriétaire at Chateau de Pray, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Dear Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to explain your opinion on the restaurant.
We are sorry to read that you were disapointed about the experience.
It's not easy to answer because it's a question of taste about the duck and the soufflet. Just to say, that the soufflet is a signature dessert made by the chief since 10 years without any negative comments (you are the first one) and duck is a best seller for us. As you have shared all the meals, you didn't have a real vision of the menu/carte.
For the price, half of the menu that is to say 29.5€ for a one Michelin star restaurant per person, seems like an excellent price for us.
Best regards,
Cécile CARIOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

Four of us visited the restaurant on a Sunday evening and, given the reviews, had quite high expectations. But unfortunately we were rather disappointed despite the interesting menu and helpful front-of-house staff.
The starters we chose were cold, which is fine, but they had all clearly just come out of the fridge when they were served which doesn’t work with seafood and sauce. We all had the same main course (monkfish en papillote, recommended by our waiter) which looked wonderful but the fish was significantly overcooked. When we mentioned this we were told that the chef had used a thermometer to test it before service so, he said, it must have been fine.
Well it wasn’t, and I’m sorry but that’s not good enough at these prices. The four of us do enjoy fine dining from time to time and know that things can occasionally go wrong in the kitchen but this had all the hallmarks of the head chef being absent on the night and the attention detail therefore disappearing.
Unfortunately I don’t think we’ll go back.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank marcopoloNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaupray, Propriétaire at Chateau de Pray, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2019

Dear Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the restaurant.

I am sorry to read that you were dispapointed about the monkfisk. The chief takes care about the cooking time of fish or meal, sometimes it's not adapted to your taste and we can undersand that. We are sorry for that.

On the other hand, the chief is always in his kitchen, during all the service, you can't say that he was absent without knowing, that's disrespectful for all the team and not correct for the chief.

You can judge the way of cooking but not the team's implication without knowing.

Best regards

Cécile CARIOU


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Chateau de Pray and enjoyed every minute. We were able to stay in the Chateau in a junior suite for 2 nights (Wed-Thurs) but then had to move to the newer section for the remainder 3 nights due to the chateau was already booked Fri-Sun. We did book about 3 months out but the weekends are very busy. The staff was extremely helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed their breakfast buffet for 3 days but then went into Amboise for quiche and omelettes the rest of the time. We also had dinner at their restaurant one night and thoroughly enjoyed the 9 course tasting menu. Each course was inventive and delicious!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Daydream819867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

One of best two places we stayed in our two weeks in Loire.

This is the chateau hotel experience you are looking for in Loire.

A classic grand house with antiques, fireplaces and history, lovely gardens, four poster bed etc.

Staff really friendly. Like stepping back in time but in a good way, lots of atmosphere. Great views from garden. At the same time the bathrooms are moderm, always a good thing.

Rates are good value in my view. Breakfast was fine.

There is a charming leafy lane that goes off from the gardens take a walk down there its magical.

Just be aware though that as is common in many french hotels dinner is not available eg Monday, tuesday or even Wed depending on time of year. They can do a delicious cheese plate and have a good wine list in the great lounge surrounded by antiques. Or on the garden verandah.

Or you will need to eat in nearby Amboise, you will need to drive a few minutes it's not walkable.

We were not there the right day to try the attached highly rated restaurant.

I wish we had stayed two nights.

We will be back ! Want to stay in a tower/turret room!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lordfindesiecle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews