We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Uptown Cafe - CLOSED

Uptown Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A Small family owned and operated Cafe serving Breakfast, Lunch and Afternoon Tea 7 Days a Week. Good food served in a relaxed atmosphere.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went here for breakfast and really enjoyed it the service was very good and the portions were just right. we will be back soon!

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merv w, Owner at Uptown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks very much for your review of Uptown Cafe. We hope we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 25 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friend and I ate here after visiting the annual Elora antique market, so the owner had almost none of the menu items available since it had been so busy! They were actually closed but accommodated us with what they had and very friendly. The space is nothing fancy, kinda country casual, but inexpensive. I had a substantial potato-leek soup and fabulous cheese scone which was nicely warm. It hit the spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liquidkitty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merv w, Owner at Uptown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thankyou for your review of Uptown Cafe. We hope that next time you visit we'll have more menu items available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As we went off season, it was one of the few places open. I'm glad the others were closed because this place was a treat. Great lunch, fab cakes, good service. And good prices! Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank missvroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merv w, Owner at Uptown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thankyou for your great review of our Cafe. Hope we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We intended only midafternoon coffee and dessert but ended up eating more because we felt so comfortable! As well, they were on the verge of closing and we were the only ones there, but the owner/hostess was so nice and accommodating that we wanted to spend more money! So we ended up with quiche and salad and veggie wrap (came with more salad), coffees and three different desserts - lemon square, date square and butter tart - all of which we good. The cafe is just that, nice un-fussy spot, attractive, not over-arty, not over-kitschy, but tidy and pleasant, with some free-standing tables and some nice booths. It's hard to judge service since we were the only customers, but everything came out fast and appropriately warm. We enjoyed our stop there and would go back for their breakfast or to try their veggie burger...it looked good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merv w, Owner at Uptown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thankyou for your review of Uptown Cafe. We're glad you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and hope that we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Because of reviews here on tripadvisor.ca, we decided this would be our place to have lunch when we were in Elora. The decor is lacklustre. The service is very nice and I probably had one of the best soups I've ever had (carrot with parsnip), but the quiche was heated in a microwave and the delicious crust lost it's texture and the texture of the quiche were definitely affected. The place feels like it needs a good scrub. The china tea cups were charming, but the silverware is just wrong. And the vinegar shaker had a lid on it that was filthy. We had to wipe it down with a napkin and if it wasn't vinegar, I don't think we would have used it at all. Not our greatest dining experience. Not a place I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merv w, Owner at Uptown Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We're sorry you were not happy with your dining experience at Uptown Cafe. Hope you'll give us another try sometime.
Merv and Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown Cafe also viewed

Elora, Centre Wellington
 
Elora, Centre Wellington
Elora, Centre Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing