We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice days in Holzminden”
Review of Hotel Buntrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Buntrock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holzminden
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent staff, excellent food!!! Friendly and new decorated rooms with very good service.
Can recommend this hotel for business people, because of English speaking staff and for leisure travellers because of good access to biking routes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank shanpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very nice hotel, good rooms, quiet, clean, with TV, we forgot to ask about WiFi, but didn't miss it.
I prefer room on the opposite side of the main street, it has bigger bathroom (but the one on the main road look has balcony and is bigger, but with smaller bathroom). Everything was clean, and of course cleaned every day. Furniture - OK, not new but just good enough - bed, small table with chair and closet, armchair, one big window, and as I said, TV, than hairdryer, little fridge, soap/shampoo (if someone needs such details;). If you need to sleep and take a rest during the day, great.
Nice and friendly staff. If you need iron and ironing board, they can provide you (for free), but if you don't want to hassle with that, there is a shop just across the street where you can wash, dry or iron your clothes.
Breakfast was great, very nice pastries, cheese, ham, marmalade as usually, nutella, fruit etc., cornflakes, coffee and tea. Regarding the location, you have to walk a bit to get to the city center, like 10 minutes or less. First reviewer said about lift and front door locking, so... that's all, I think...
Just to make conclusion - we liked it and that we recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deechampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This review is written from a very English perspective, I understand that this is a small town in Germany, so the staff cannot be expected to speak a foreign language fluently.

However, for the money it is fantastic. My room was spotless, and on par with other european budget hotels in size. The room had a small TV with CNN and BBC news, Tea and coffee with kettle and a hairdryer. En suite had the most powerful shower I have ever used. Fantastic for blowing a hangover away but maybe a little too strong for young children. It is also easy to flood the bathroom because of this. The room was quiet in general, but you can sometimes hear guests in the corridor. If possible, enquire about a room at the front of the building, although overlooking a main road you do get a large balcony.

There is free WIFI in all rooms, with good speeds via wireless routers every 5-6 rooms. The security key is available from the bar.

Breakfast was hams, cheeses, breads and juice/tea/coffee.

The front door is locked from 11pm, so beware of this. You will find a second key on your room key ring that unlocks a back door behind the Doctors surgery.

There is a lift up to the third floor. From there, the only access is stairs.

The hotel has a small bar and a intimate restaurant, but is a 5 minute walk from Holzminden town centre with many good bars and restaurants. I can recommend the "Beer Garden".

The staff are very friendly, but some do not speak English. It is easy to get your point across with a mixture of German, English and some gesturing though!

I was pleasantly suprised, and very glad I gave Hotel Buntrock a chance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schooleydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joachim1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank thale357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holzminden
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hellers Krug
Hotel Hellers Krug
#1 of 6 in Holzminden
55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Waldschloss
Hotel Waldschloss
#2 of 6 in Holzminden
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Schleifmuhle
#3 of 6 in Holzminden
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Stadtoldendorf
Tryp by Wyndham Stadtoldendorf
#1 of 1 in Stadtoldendorf
90 reviews
5.0 mi away
Flair Hotel Stadt Hoexter
4.9 mi away
Ringhotel Niedersachsen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buntrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buntrock

Address: Karlstr. 23, 37603 Holzminden, Lower Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Lower Saxony > Holzminden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Holzminden
Price Range: $69 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buntrock 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buntrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing