We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience if you love wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Resort, Khali Estate
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Almora
Reviewed September 15, 2013

There are times one you just want to be with the nature and your family. A perfect place for this, quiet and hidden even from the maddening crowd. In case you are wanting peace, happy with home cooked vegetarian food, not looking for music, bars and pubs-- Khali estate is the place to be. The staff is excellent and caring, but only if you are ready to be disciplined about the timings. The place is very clean and the best place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepak41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I spent a couple of days at Khali in the last week of May 2013. Situated inside the Binsar Wildilfe sanctuary (a couple of kms after the entrance), it's got several pretty cottages, all of which have a view of the Himalayas. I had gone there with my family (wife, 5 year old daughter) and my in-laws and all of us enjoyed our time there immensely. There's something there for all age groups provided you are not looking to do something very strenuous!

What I loved about my stay there:
- Ambience/personality of the resort - it's got history, it's maintained well, and is perfect for a relaxed/rejuvenating stay
- Friendly staff and courteous management.
- Bird watching in and around the resort - the guide, Mr. Santosh (if I remember correctly) was quite good and very well informed.
- Nice ambling walks in and around outside the resort
- The joy of getting up in the morning to see a fox starting at you just outside the boundary wall. (Of course, that's a matter of luck! :)
- Thoughtful activity options that blend in with the resort's personality (there's a wooden horse swing that my daughter loved), hammocks, swings, a tennis court (where you can play cricket too!), badminton etc, benches to sit and chill out!
- Neighboring the resort is a guesthouse of some other company where we had a nice engaging discussion with the manager.
- The evening primrose!

What I liked about the place, but could have been better
- Food was homely and nice. Since we are vegetarians, the only vegetarian option was not an issue. Still, I think it can be better. At least some interesting dessert choices would have been nice.
- Lack of wildlife - this is not a point about the resort really, but Binsar is just disappointing for wildlife though birding was fun. We went to Zero Point too twice, but besides the fox, the only other animals we saw were barking deer and spotted deer. Langurs, of course.

I would have rated it a 5 star, but for the food which was average. I think it's much better located than Club Mahindra (which I noticed is before/below the entrance to the Sanctuary) and only 2-3 other private resorts (much more expensive options) are better located in Binsar. I believe you get amazing views of the Himalayas in winter from the cottages. But in summer, you can't really see the hills. So that was kind of disappointing.

Recommend the place!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with extended family, try to pick the same cottage. There are 4 rooms in each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is for people wanting to spend some quality quiet time with friends and family, away from city madness and mobile signal.........spread over 28 acres, it has history going back to jawaharlal nehru and following generations............The mountain vies from room windows, when sun is out, is awsome and a brilliant start to the day. The food served here is strictly vegetarian....No specfic kids activity but plenty of activites to do with nature....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is a true hidden gem. Sadly for us the weather was bad when we went there and we couldn't see any of the peaks from there.

The resort is nicely made and there are a lot of activities there to keep you busy. The staff made sure they have enough stuff planned for us like an informative talk about the history of the place, showing the kids all the various plants around and then also arranging for a guide for bird watching in the morning.

The rooms are quite basic and do not expect modern facilities like an intercom system or AC. Though we didnt feel the need for either of them :-)

The maharaj makes excellent home cooked food that even the kids loved.

The staff was also very nice to get a birthday cake for my daughter's birthday all the way from Almora.

Will want to go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esperanza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited this place in June 2013 in the middle of the Uttarakhand floods. The roads were treachorous and tiring. Its located two kilometers inside the Binsar sanctuary. But as soon as we reached there , we forgot everything. Its a beautiful property with awesome cottages. All cottages have a superb view of the Himalayas. The staff was friendly and informed us about the mountains on view. They called us to show us the evening primroses blooming right before our eyes and gave us a tour of the kitchen garden. The view all around is a photographer's delight. Property is not very kid friendly as you need to constantly monitor small kids so that they do not tumble down the stairs or some uneven surfaces. Food is home cooked vegetarian. That may or may not be a good thing depending upon one's choice. I personally like to be a bit adventorous with food espescially on vacations, so in that way the food was a let down. There are ample activities in terms of indoor games, guide tours and trekking to keep you busy. I preferred sitting on terrace chairs taking in the view. Do not miss the evening discussion in the conference room when one of the staff would tell you about the history of this property.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitKSrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had made a trip to Binsar in May end '13, as part of family trip to Bhimtal - Ranikhet - Jageswar - Binsar. Once you are inside the resort, you seem to have entered in a different world. Shady trees, Badminton Courts, walks around the estate, just enjoy the views of the Himalayan Peaks... one doesnt feel like leaving the place. The Staff is very friendly and the food is also good. The best part is, in case you have special requests, the cook/chef happily makes it for you.
One should also not miss the evening Primrose flower, which blooms the moment sun sets.

Room Tip: preferably dont take rooms in the main bungalow,as they dont have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soutik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family had wonderful stay here. The resort is away from crowd and is between the nature. Though there is no room service of food in the cottages but still excellent service in the dinning area and tea and milk served in the cottages. Ghat ka Khana in nature is outstanding.
Despite no Internet and tv you don't get bored because ample amount of books and swings cricket and badminton court in nature keeps you busy with family

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvinashChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
4.4 mi away
Imperial Heights Binsar
3.7 mi away
The Kumaon
The Kumaon
#4 of 5 in Binsar
25 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Mohan's Binsar Retreat
Mohan's Binsar Retreat
#1 of 37 in Almora
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Club Mahindra Binsar Valley
4.3 mi away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#2 of 17 in Almora
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Resort, Khali Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Resort, Khali Estate

Address: P O Ayarpani,, Almora 263601, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Almora
Price Range: $99 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Resort, Khali Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Resort, Khali Estate Hotel Almora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing