We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Resort, Khali Estate
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Almora
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A special place to stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Khali estate for a couple of nights as part of a Village Ways holiday to Binsar and Saryu (high recommended by the way). We found it an absolutely gorgeous place and loved every minute of being there. The rooms have views of the Himalayas (from the bed!), the staff are kind and helpful, and the food is AMAZING! Just gorgeous meals, both breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also other treats such as hot water bottles at night and tea in your room in the morning. Khali is also in a stunning setting and you will enjoy breath-taking vistas, and all sorts of flora and fauna (including an occasional monkey!). There’s not much to do but take gentle walks and read your book (which you may borrow from the extensive library collection at the estate) and just enjoy being there. All in all, a lovely stay. I would recommend it to anyone (please go!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My stay in KME for 2 nights can only be described in 1 word-mesmerizing..
Nestled in the Binsar bird sanctuary, this heritage place is the right getaway for family weekend. Clean,no frills room with nice decor is what one can expect.. The view of the peaks in the morning is worth the stay.. The cottages are in the old style, yet artistic and photogenic.
Food is nice, tasty and wholesome...One should look to feel the beauty of the nature coupled with the sprawling spread out at KME..One area of improvement::couple of more plug points should be there in the rooms.. Over all, a place one can look forward to return in the winter time to see the snowfall...

Room Tip: Try for the single room in which Maa Annadomoyi had stayed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shibaji_Majumder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manali
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This estate is one of very few which impressed me. Its history goes back till 17 century. This property has retained its old glory as in british era. The rooms , furniture and many other things have been preserved in well manner. Icons of Indian Spiritual world as well as from early political dignatories have stayed here.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal in quality and placement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatramanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Khali estate is one of the most memorable experience of my life where I felt like home and not hotel. View of himalayas from window was adorable along with other scenic beauty. I must say its place to worth visit. Last but not the least - Food was awesome :)

Room Tip: Corner room upstairs to have best view of himalays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kunuchopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Khali as part of anniversay trip. I must say there is a special aura in this property. You feel totally relaxed and can enjoy the good service from the staff. They make you feel special and serve with homely food. Quality of food is excellent and especially the pretty good biscuits which they serve along with evening tea. I enquired and they said it is from Almora. We could not get any views of the Himalayas as it was off season. Otherwise they say you get spectacular views of Himalayas. Overall the facilities, cottages and service is excellent and will give a 5/5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

As the Name suggests it is a place which is Khali nothing much to do but yes you can relax and enjoy the nature which we do not get to do in the cities like Delhi and Mumbai.Our stay was wonderful service was good the whole Team of Khali ( Mr. Madan, Kewal Singh, Maharaj ,Harish ,Sheru and all the others ) were very soft spoken and wonderful people. The food was excellent. The only drawback was the cleanliness and maintenance of the place and facilities there.
I would definetly love to go back and enjoy the peace and nature which we have lost in the cities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moynarewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good Part :

Khali Estate is a mix of history, nature, a relaxed place all thrown together. The place is in middle of a jungle(Wildlife sanctuary), extremely peaceful. You will get to deal with a bunch of amazing folks ( Mr Madan, Kewal, Sheru, Harish et al), they will make you feel comfortable. The quality of food is gr8.Rooms are nice, if you are lucky enough you will get to see all the 12 Himalayan peaks from your cottage. Resort has a gr8 library with some interesting collection of books.

Not so Good :

-- Please be careful about the water, the water dispenser they ahve in rooms are not clean. It is advisable that you order mineral water.

-- Cleanliness of cottages is also not up to the mark.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and provide a good view of Himalaya's. The rooms towards the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RewooVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
2.0 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 4 in Binsar
94 reviews
5.0 mi away
Imperial Heights
Imperial Heights
#2 of 16 in Almora
186 reviews
14.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Himalayan Woods
The Himalayan Woods
#6 of 16 in Almora
4 reviews
5.4 mi away
Binsar Eco Resort
Binsar Eco Resort
#4 of 4 in Binsar
40 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mohan's Binsar Retreat
Mohan's Binsar Retreat
#1 of 33 in Almora
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Resort, Khali Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Resort, Khali Estate

Property: Mountain Resort, Khali Estate
Address: P O Ayarpani,, Almora 263601, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Almora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mountain Resort, Khali Estate Hotel Almora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing