We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wilderness retreat!”
Review of Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woods Resort
Ranked #17 of 36 Almora B&B and Inns
Sattal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wilderness retreat!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at V resort and wished we had more time to stay on longer. It's a lovely place nestled in the lap of a pine forest, at about 4500 ft above sea level near Almora and Kausani (Uttarakhand, India).
Simple construction with mud plastered buildings very aesthetically done added a nice charm to the place. The linen, rooms and toilets were very clean. The manager Ravinder and his staff were gracious, helpful, efficient and very hospitable. A short walk up the hill took us to breath taking views of the Himalayas - Trishul and surrounding peaks were awesome. If we had the time we would have carried our meal and picnicked at this spot. I was told by Ravinder who personally accompanied us that they do organise such eat-outs for groups! There is a crystal clear stream nearby with 4 or 5 small pools in which one can swim. I was sorely tempted to plunge and I would have if it was winter.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Was a wonderfull trip,enjoyed a lot.Staff is very good & friendly,they arranged bon-fire for us on both the evenings,had a wonderfull time.Food was amazingly tasty & delicious.Will recommend this place to everyone whu wants to take a break from the hectic life of delhi NCR & wants to relax.It was indeed an AMAZING & WONDERFULL TRIP...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit190783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Management, Manager at Woods Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sumit,

It was great to have you over and so nice to know that you enjoyed your holiday. V are best appreciated by harried city dwellers like you who want to tune-off from the world for a few days and tune-in to oneself for all the answers amidst nature. V thank you for special mention of our staff. Please do visit us sometime soon whether at V Resorts Almora or any of the other V Resorts locations (details on our website), V are sure you will have a memorable experience again. Its nature and offbeat lovers like you which keep us going.... So keep coming...and stay longer next time to appreciate the ‘real’ experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had recently gone for 2 nights and 1 day trip with group of 10 (office colleagues). It is between Almora and Kausani , around 20 km from Almora and Kausani is 25kms. Place is very quiet and natures paradise..We told them our plan to barbeque chicken in advance , they arranged that very well for us ...Resort is at very good place surrounded by green hills near to one rainy river, where we all went and enjoy Sunday morning...Lot of flowers, they also have one small fish pond along with nursery. They also have one small hall in which they have some collection of books along with some indoor games..badminton ,cricket and volley ball... However amongst all I like the food (apart from barbeque) it was amazing we all praised for that.

The rooms, their location, the cleanliness is absolutely amazing.Accommodations were good and very clean. We all enjoyed our stay there, staff and manager was very courteous and cooperative, they did not give us any chance for any complaint, everything was very well managed by their staff.

It was overall very good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get the accommodation near the dining hall to reach the staff easily for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriesArvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Management, Manager at Woods Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have served you and your teammates with such a lovely experience at V Resorts Almora. It takes a true nature traveller like you to enjoy the beauty of our Almora resort that’s located off the Almora-Kausani road in the midst of dense coniferous forest. It’s really good to know that you loved the overall ambiance of our resort. Hope you also enjoyed the sunrise view from our resort, the famous Kausani sunrise. V will surely pass your compliments to the staff and our chef is ready to cook for you again  Please do visit us again at V Resorts Almora or any of V Resorts other locations (details on our website).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were a group of 10 from Delhi who were looking for a place to spend 2 days in nature's lap and that search ended at V Resorts Almora.
Now our experience starting from booking till the end of trip;
Booking: Their booking office is in Delhi who assisted us in getting the best deal and provided all the relevant info.
Route: Delhi-Moradabad-Almora, smooth drive up till resort. No hiccups except the traffic jams in NCR
Resort: Awesome, located in the middle of a small valley with lush green surrounding. They have all the modern facility like - hot water, power backup, TV, a small library, comfortable rooms.
Sightseeing: You can go to Kausani which is 2 hr drive and a nice place to see in the midway you can stop to see a tea garden.
Biggest attraction: yes, we spent more than 2 hrs playing in a water channel flowing between the dense forest and I must say that experience was divine.
Staff: I have never seen such a wonderful and friendly staff till date. They catered all our requests without charging a penny over and above the agreed booking.
Food: Excellent, chef prepared tasty breakfast and dinner for us.
Special thanks to resorts manager Mr.Ravinder for providing us such an excellent experience... Will definitely visit again and recommended others to visit this place.
Thanks
Anand

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_delhi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Management, Manager at Woods Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Anand,

It was great to read your review. Must say you have a brilliant eye for detail and have very wonderfully structured your observation of the location and the resort. Nice to know that you had a great time frolicking at the nearby water channel. Hope you also enjoyed the Kausani sunrise view from our resort. Our staff is thankful for your nice comments about them and our chef is ready to cook for you again! Please do visit us sometime soon whether at V Resorts Almora or any of the other V Resorts locations (details in our website). Do plan a longer stay with us next time, V’re sure you’ll have a great experience to share...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The V resorts almora will stunn you with the veiws and the serenity just charms u in. Any adventure seeker msut go to this place instead of those populated and after the money resorts. IMHO this is the best resort in the location and would always avoid kausani and nearby resorts and stay in this one only. the rooms are of 4 types there but sad thing is all are charged on same price. Total rooms are 12 among which 1 house is duplex i.e. 2 rooms. 2 rooms are awesomely furnished and all wooden work done. another is a 4 bedded room and 3 rooms are on ground floor and well done. The last 4 rooms feels like servent quarters and a bit aways from the happening area if you are with a crew. The Food is Awesome , the best and the staff is so neat and cooperative that u will forget the stay in rooms and always wnat to be in lawns or activity area. A must do for the travellers going to Almora / Kausani.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaverickJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Management, Manager at Woods Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Jay,

Thanks and good to know that you enjoyed your stay. As V heard from you that your entire group of offroad motorists had a great time. You have mixed up some facts and V would like to clarify the same:

1. V had told you that only 8 rooms are operational and the remaining 4 rooms are under renovation. Your group size was bigger and you insisted on all 12 rooms and said you would adjust in the 'under renovation' rooms and particularly put the bachelors in your group in those 4 rooms. V also put the same thing in writing to you and V have these emails, therefore it's surprising that you chose to describe these rooms as 'Servants Rooms'

2. The rooms are not all charged on same price. There are different prices for the 3 different types of rooms V have (tariffs can be seen on our website in online booking). Since you were a group, a different and lower rate was applicable to you and it was on per person basis (and not on per room basis) as is the usual practice for groups.

V hope to see you some other time at the same or any other V Resorts location, all stunning and beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our experience at V-resorts Almora was very good. The staff is very courteous and accomodating. The food was excellent along with the presentation and the service. It was quite a contrast from Naini Retreat, where we were put up before arriving here. The place is an eco-resort, so it has a very rustic look. All basic amenities are present, luxury is lacking. they have an entertainment room with books, an easel with drawing material, a pond where you can actually go fishing, and very personalized service. But as i said, this is an eco-resort. the only sounds one can hear are of the wind rustling through the leaves, birds, and a rare vehicle that happens to come along. the place is very secluded, the only structure atop a hill - this can turn out to be a disadvantage if you want to go to the city, or do much sightseeing around, because it is a good 30-35 km from civilization. ideal place to be if you want to unwind amidst nature and peace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neelam Periwal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, Uttarakhand, India
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

very good services.
i like my room very much.
location was awesome full of beautiful locations and views.
i like the services of that resort and staffs very much.
i suggest people to reach out at that place it will a great pleasure for them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Management, Manager at Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Rajesh,

Thank you very much for your feedback. V are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It takes a true nature lover to enjoy an offbeat place like our Almora resort. You would surely love our other resorts also, all on the same theme of nature and offbeat and we would request you to please visit us again. V have six resorts/cottages and details are all given on our website.

Thank you and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
7.8 mi away
Imperial Heights binsar
8.3 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
9.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 17 in Almora
169 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
Cosmos Himalayan Villas
#8 of 9 in Ranikhet
17 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#2 of 17 in Almora
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woods Resort

Property: Woods Resort
Address: Heili Chana | P.O.: Manan, Almora 263638, India (Formerly V-Resorts Almora / Pug's Paw Eco Retreat)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listen to the chirp. Smell the breeze. Watch the leaves dance to their own rhythm. Look beyond to witness the sun rising above the hills. Welcome to Woods Resort. A quaint little getaway that brings you closer to Mother Earth, with all the luxuries of comfort.Pug's Paw eco retreat is a visual treat that lies plum in the heart of the Kumauni Himalayas 5,200 feet above sea level. Once in Pug's Paw, one can endlessly keep exploring the various options - long treks as there are panoramic mountain trails over flowing with wild crimson rhododendrons. Adventure lovers can explore rappelling & rock climbing at the retreat. The trained eyes to pick the fresh catch can spend long leisurely hours at two adjacent fish ponds within the retreat.The calm & peaceful character of the resort is a heaven for meditation and yoga practitioners. The retreat also arranges Yoga sessions by experts for the guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing