We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, food and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deodar's Guest House
Ranked #6 of 36 Almora B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped here for one night en-route to Leti 360. We received a genuinely warm welcome from Richard and Elizabeth. The views from their garden are spectacular and I cannot think of a prettier place to enjoy the very ample and tasty breakfast provided.
Dinner was excellent, a real tribute to Elizabeth's cooking skills and the portions were very generous. Richard was a great host.
Our room was quaintly old-fashioned and the hot water bottle in bed was a nice touch.
Luckily, we had brought some wine with us as there were no drinks available for sale.
Richard arranged our transportation from Kathgodam station. A real bonus as it was economical and waiting for us on arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

From the moment we stepped on the property we knew we were somewhere very special. We were genuinely cared for by two kind ,caring people. The food was excellent, we all ate way to much home made wonderfully fresh bread and oh yes, the tea, another treat. The actual treat are Richard and his wonderful family, we felt like we had come home to long lost friends. If you are in Almora, go, experience the magnificent views, smell the trees and listen to nature, and meet some very special "new friends" .

D & H---USA

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victorialight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I love this place.The most fantastic views of the himalayas.The ambience and warmth of this lovely old historical home will always be in my memory and I long to return..The hospitality and kindness of the owners,Richard ,Elizabeth and Mary and staff. Prem and his wonderful helper who was always humming a tune as he swept the garden at dawn.,make you feel part of the family,as if you've always known them. I will always cherish these fond memories.
.Richard took any stress out of travel by arranging connections for me to and from Delhi,to Binsar,and to Kausani..All that was required by me was to relax and enjoy this splendid holiday.
To sit and read a book by an open wood fire in the evening;to see sunrise or full moon on the Himalayas are treasures which Deodars holds and offers to anyone willing and fortunate enough to make the journey to stay here..A very special place which I will never forget.

Room Tip: I slept in the front room It was wonderful with a huge bed.and afireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

we found this place on trip advisor and with very limited knowledge of the place, we went there as a family by faith. And boy was it good!!! It's a beautiful home and you are taken care by beautiful people. If you love the peace and quiet of the mountains - this is the place. The way you are cared for - whether it is the facility at the house or the food is just fantastic - we as a family just enjoyed every bit of our stay. The house is a beautiful place surrounded by the tall Cedar trees and when you sit out on the open of the house, you can hear the sound of the breeze from the mountains through the trees -you have to be there and experience this!
Richard is a very warm host and they treat you as part of their family. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshuakolagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Bringing in the new year at Deodhar Guest House,Papparasali, Almora. An quaint, old colonial bungalow up in the hills with all the trimmings of an era gone by. Richard and Elizabeth Wheeler, have this cosy house which has 3 bedrooms with attach baths, a sitting room with real fire place.... there is something magical about sitting around a fire with the people you love enjoying fine malts and conversation. The outdoors offers a spell bounding and uninterrupted view of the Himalayan range...

A special mention to the food that is served, it is simply fabulous. Freshly baked breads, scones, pancakes with organic honey, apple tarts, Shepard's pie, chicken al Kiev, rich cakes, traditional Kumouni food are some of the goodies that we savoured.. Each meal was an absolute delight. Elizabeth personally looks into each meal and cooks most dishes herself!

The weather gave us the entire range from bright sunshine, mist, rain and also snow which delighted the children.

The best part of the stay was it had zero 'agenda' and no television and our 'digital' boys had time to read, walk, gaze aimlessly at the cedar trees and mountains... evenings brought us around the fire place with chess, conversation and being together.

So if you want to reconnect with what matters, head out to the hills and enjoy the hospitality of Richard and Elizabeth Wheeler's lovely home at Almora, Uttrakhand.

8  Thank RANAMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almora hotels
0.1 mi away
Ayush Guest House
Ayush Guest House
#1 of 36 in Almora
114 reviews
25.7 mi away
Essence of Nature Resort
9.1 mi away
Itmenaan Estate
Itmenaan Estate
#2 of 36 in Almora
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
New Dolma Guest House
New Dolma Guest House
#18 of 36 in Almora
5 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shivalik
Hotel Shivalik
#7 of 36 in Almora
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moksha Retreat
The Moksha Retreat
#17 of 38 in Almora
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deodar's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deodar's Guest House

Address: Almora, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Price Range: $89 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Deodar's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing