We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREATHTAKING”
Review of AyurVAID Kalmatia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AyurVAID Kalmatia
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had the privilege to stay at Kalmatia Sangam for 8 days in the beginning of November. We arrived in the early morning - tired and Cold after a long journey from Copenhagen, Denmark. The warm welcome that met us when we got out of the car, we will never forget. Thank you for that Narendra!
The next 8 days we were in paradise. We loved everything about this place. We stayed at Cuckoo - the house situated furthest down the hillside. We wouldn´t have traded it for any of the other houses. We just loved it. The wievs at breakfast from the balcony will forever stay in our minds. The room was clean, roomy and cosy, and the wood burning stove to heat up the room in the evening, just made the stay perfect.
I have to mention the staff! Every one of them was at all time ready to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Big thank´s to the staff.
I have to mention the hot water bottle,placed in my bed coming down from evening dinner. It was a very nice gesture.
The food in the restaurant at Kalmatia was an experience every evening. Every evening different - and I didn´t go to bed hungry!!!
For 3 days we went for the Village Trek to Deora, Paliu and Sokyatal. Thank you Yoge, Shyom and Prakash for escorting us - our 3 new friends in Kumaon!
The manager Narendra Roy makes all of this possible, For sure he is our new friend.
I dream myself back some day...........

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is a lovely resort with very good interiors and even better personalized service. The view from all the cottages is very good, but if one is physically fit, I would recommend the Eagle's nest cottage where we stayed. This cottage being the farthest from reception, the view was just breathtaking without anything to obstruct the Himalayan peaks. Early morning, lying on the bed, you open your eyes to see beautiful pink sky before sunrise. Of course it does involve climbing up and down every time for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but it is a small price to pay for the view , privacy and seclusion that you get. We watched so many beautiful birds particularly Himalayan Magpie with its long tail, just sitting in the balcony of the cottage without having to go anywhere for birdwatching. The nature trail that the resort has created surrounding it, is very easy to walk and with strategically kept benches to have sunset view. The food was very good and the service just superlative. On the first day the dining room was empty and I chose a corner table. When I came for my next meal my preferred corner table was reserved for me without my asking about it. The meals were prepared after consulting us about what we would like to have for our next meal. The continental fare was better than the Indian one and the Olive bread that the cook prepared was as good as or better than what we have eaten in Europe. Jageshwar temple complex is very unique and makes a good half day excursion. Mr Narendra the Manager really makes you feel a very valued guest and was very gracious to come up to the car to see us off. I would recommend this resort wholeheartedly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
5 of 5 stars Value
5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service

Room Tip: Eagles Nest for Best view and seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnyaneshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It is a lovely resort with very good interiors and even better personalized service. The view from all the cottages is very good, but if one is physically fit, I would recommend the Eagle's nest cottage where we stayed. This cottage being the farthest from reception, the view was just breathtaking without anything to obstruct the Himalayan peaks. Early morning, lying on the bed, you open your eyes to see beautiful pink sky before sunrise. Of course it does involve climbing up and down every time for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but it is a small price to pay for the view , privacy and seclusion that you get. We watched so many beautiful birds particularly Himalayan Magpie with its long tail, just sitting in the balcony of the cottage without having to go anywhere for birdwatching. The nature trail that the resort has created surrounding it, is very easy to walk and with strategically kept benches to have sunset view. The food was very good and the service just superlative. On the first day the dining room was empty and I chose a corner table. When I came for my next meal my preferred corner table was reserved for me without my asking about it. The meals were prepared after consulting us about what we would like to have for our next meal. The continental fare was better than the Indian one and the Olive bread that the cook prepared was as good as or better than what we have eaten in Europe. Jageshwar temple complex is very unique and makes a good half day excursion. Mr Narendra the Manager really makes you feel a very valued guest and was very gracious to come up to the car to see us off. I would recommend this resort wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnyaneshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent three days at the resort in the last week of October. The resort is very well maintained, the rooms are cozy and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the fresh air and the views on the Himalayas even though the weather was not as clear as we had hoped. From our cottage (Magpie) we watched out for birds in the morning and evenings and explored the region on some of the trails taking us to the neighboring villages, which are beautiful and authentic. Definitively a perfect place to relax and reload your batteries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in a room called "Cuckoo", which has the best views of the Himalayas.Awesome weather ,very friendly staff and nice cosy rooms. Best part of the resort is that there are no tv's and network is also very restricted. Only wish the resort looked as astounding as the website.
Drive to the Binsar wildlife sanctuary is a must, and if you are the hiking & trekking types then this is the place.

Room Tip: Stay in Cuckoo , Magpie or Eagles Nest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyotiprakashsahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful, Calm and peaceful, this place is one, where we felt the connect to nature and God.
We spent 3 nights in Cuckoo - clean, large cottage with seating area and a large sitout with breathtaking views. Watched glorious sunrise, and magical mist with only sounds of chirping birds and sights of active village women busy in their daily activities.
Every morning, we enjoyed listening to Shankar Mahadevan's Marathi song- Prabhaat pasari, padat aakashi sonasade and Hariharan's sublime Marathi song- Shwaas mee aakaash tu re, again from Sonasade music album.
On the last day, the mist cleared enough for a clear, bright day with breathtaking views of Nandadevi range.
Mr. Narendra Roy is very prompt with emails, very co-operative and helpful with information and maps to visit nearby attractions like Jageshwar Dham, Binsar wildlife sanctuary, Baijnath and Kausani.
Staff is very caring and food here is very good. Freshly baked cakes and breads with morning breakfast and comforting soups in the cold nights are great.
The front room with a collection of nice books and great variety of music is very nice.
Himjoli herbal bath products are very nice.

Room Tip: People with knee problems should request rooms closer to entrance and dining hall, as some cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pravi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a very refreshing experience at Kalmatia Sangam. Stayed in the Himalayan Magpie. Room was clean and decent. Views were breathtaking. Loved the outdoor seating even though it was a bit nippy. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Food was great. Narendra Roy, the manager has done an exceptional job in managing the place and making the guests feel ever so welcome. Mornings were a bit chilly to get out of bed even though the fireplace was stoked. Would recommend the resort to add heated electric mattress pads to the beds - at least for the winters.

For those interested in treks, the downhill hike is recommended to enjoy the wilderness and rural life. Ensure that you carry a snack and a bottle of water.

Room Tip: Loved the patio at the Himalayan Magpie. Floors get cold in the winter - ensure to carry slippers. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
1.3 mi away
Imperial Heights binsar
6.4 mi away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
15.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kumaon
The Kumaon
#4 of 5 in Binsar
12 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 17 in Almora
75 reviews
10.5 mi away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AyurVAID Kalmatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AyurVAID Kalmatia

Property: AyurVAID Kalmatia
Address: Kasar Devi | Upper Binsar Road, Almora 263601, India (Formerly Kalmatia Sangam Himalaya Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalmatia Sangam, the preferred holiday destination in the Kumaon Himalayas is now AyurVAID Kalmatia, a classical Ayurveda healing destination managed by AyurVAID, pioneer & leader in precision Ayurveda for disease reversal and sustained wellbeing. The magical Kalmatia experience is now uniquely enhanced with the power of gentle and natural Ayurveda healing for body, mind and soul. Pure Ayurveda, uniquely personalised to suit your health needs, can now be experienced in the most salubrious of environs - Devbhoomi in the Himalayas. Delicious, healthy, vegetarian cuisine complemented with dinacharya (daily health routine) and with Ayurveda therapy that detoxifies, de-stresses, reverses disease and restores wellbeing. For families & friends who love the Himalayas, AyurVAID Kalmatia offers a Health Holiday experience customized for each member to correct emerging health risks and to enhance health while vacationing together. At AyurVAID Kalmatia, discover the pristine Kumaon Himalayas; rediscover your inner pure self in all its dimensions. Apart from this AyurVAID Kalmatia continues to be the paradise for tourists for all occasions--either for spiritual or wildlife or trekking or village walks or bird watching --- we have all under the most qualified guides who can take care of your requirement. A highly personalized, caring and service that match in the industry (as we stand first in TripAdvisor) awaits you at our beautiful location in the lap of Himalayan resort. Eight unique and tastefully furnished cottages offer you peace and serenity in the lap of nature. Enjoy a variety of cuisines at our 'Vegetarian Restaurant' where all our produce is homemade, including bread, cakes, jams and pickles. A paradise for bird watchers and nature lovers, the resort is also an ideal starting point for many scenic walks and treks. Local English speaking guides are available, village treks with stays in traditional villages houses are also an option and we are well located for sightseeing trips to the famous Jageshwar Temple complex, Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary and the Katarmal Sun temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your AyurVAID Kalmatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalmatia Sangam Almora
Kalmatia Sangam Hotel Almora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing