We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent Stay with peace of mind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bhimtal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back to Nature Camp
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bhimtal
1 review
“Pleasent Stay with peace of mind”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Living the fast life in Delhi's heat leads one lacking peace of mind. A good weekend getaway with great people. Hospitality in their own traditional way. Prakash, the camp guy is a great person. Jamming on the traditional Kumaoni and Grahwali songs was a ride. Swimming in cold spring water was quite fun. If one wants to just be away from the worldly choas, back to the nature is a good option. The only thing you need to consult is the food, discuss as to what you want to eat and what can be prepared according to the availability. Go and explore.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feixal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello Faisal,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the activities. It was a pleasure serving you at the camp. Since our camp is located in an offbeat location, we request a minimum of 2 to 3 days of prior booking so that we can prepare for your stay. Though we still try to do our best for last minute bookings as in your case.

Again, thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a couple of days at the Back To Nature camp at Alchona. It is a great place to stay, away from the maddening crowds and hustle bustle of modern day hill stations. Bonfire in the evening with live guitar performance by one of the staff was memorable. Kids loved watching the magpies criss cross the resort, carrying nuts from one tree (located right at the entrance of the resort) to their nests a little downhill...Night sky is mesmerizing and you dont know when u fall asleep while star gazing.. Went for a refreshing trek to the bridge across the river, met kids at a primary school run by the government and friendly villagers....The staff is also very friendly and caring. Definitely recommend..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jindgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Vivek,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. It was a pleasure serving you at the camp.

Again, thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a wonderful and thrilling trip.The diffusing warmth and friendliness of the staff added to the leisure and the charm of the vacation. It is a must visit destination away from the hustle bustle and crowd which is now also a part of the hill stations. A stay amidst the beauty of nature with lovely home cooked food is all that one desires for a holiday and back to nature camp lives up to all your desires.
An endearing trek in the valley with a wonderful guide and a plunge into the chilled river waters makes you feel lively and fresh to give you your feeling of ease. Would especially like to mention about the wonderful musical night around the bonfire with Prakash, Renu, Manoj and others.... it added to the beauty of the night. And last but not the least, the concern call from Prakash, confirming if we reached home safely added to the long lasting memories of the trip....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roshnikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Roshni,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. It was a pleasure serving you at the camp.

Again, thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Long awaited trip from the maddening life in Metro.We found this camp just 6 hours drive from Delhi, refreshingly unexploited by "MAN" commercially, naturally for beauty,keeping it as simple & unobtrusive as possible with the nature. Monsoon travel was so lush with natural greens around, it sort of healed our minds & soul. Once in the camp, we were taken care of by quite an unassuming staff who are gifted with sense hospitality & care, And the "NATURAL BEAUTY" that beckons you to be with & explore it. Nature walk & milking the cow, made us realize how closely knit we are to the nature and made us appreciate the beauty of simple life. Gazing at the enormous expanse of the natural beauty in day & night sky full of stars brought me closure to my inner self & our existence.Our 8 year old daughter had a whale of time with all the activities, milking cow was so unique experience for her, now she appreciates nature & the milk she has everyday. Thinking of evening bonfire & song session Prakash on guitar & all of us singing along, transports us back to camp.Simple local food made with love---was so tasty & good for palate. Overall, we had better experience than expected.
Would surely revisit with my friends & dear ones.
Ananth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnanthDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hello Ananth,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with Back to Nature Camp. It was our pleasure to have served you at the camp.

We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A weekend get away from Delhi that delivered more than it promised! We visited Back to Nature camp in August 2012 amidst monsoons and the experience was straight out of wonderland. Never seen so much greenery in my life! Beautiful location , wonderful staff, full marks on cleanliness- all in all an amazing nature experience.
For our 8 year old daughter it was a memorable holiday experience, and I was delighted to see her thoroughly enjoy the long nature walk amidst lush green and meandering mountain tracks and her first ever 'milking cow' experience in the cow shed! The glee on her face was priceless! Our guide during the trek- Lalit was extremely alert and genuinely concerned about our safety. The evening saw us sitting around the bonfire and getting mesmerized by the musical talent of Prakash and the other staff who sang local Kumaoni songs for us! This was the icing on the cake.
A wonderful place that left us wanting more. Back to Nature Camp is definitely worth a visit for a truly refreshing experience that puts you right into nature's lap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PayalKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hello Payal,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with Back to Nature Camp and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you again for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were on the way to Nainital and thanks to one of friend in Bheemtal who ask me to visit this camp. Its more than 3 weeks now, still it seems like a fresh memory in back of my find. Specially Pradeep is a nice and great guy at camp, working on basics i.e, Provide me your company and time and I will make your trip special. Site is still far from tourist and locals, hence mostly unexplored. If you love nature, valley , hills and river , it is one of the best place to re-haul yourself in India(some of the parts of Himachal are yet to be explored , however it is the best till now)

Room Tip: carry extra batteries for your camera., i wish no one like to use cell phone on that place :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaurabhMalvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BacktoNatureCamp, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello Saurabh,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with Back to Nature Camp and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.

Again, thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Well, I had been thinking of reviewing this place ever since we visited here in May. So finally I'm doing it...:D

WHAT..WHO TOLD ME ABOUT IT!?! Haha..very simple. You've just got to be on this site and looking for a nature trip around Nainital. These guys have already got good rank over here. Then they are also present on Google Maps.

LOCATION & REACHABILITY: Location is completely secluded from any urbanisation. This place is serene, tranquil, where you can really forget about everything else. As far as natural beauty is concerned, I wouldn't say heavenly, but still amazing. I mean it could be due to our timing that we couldn't see the nature at its best (it was peak summer so there was lack of greenery), but the place has got potential considering the fact that this landscape is actually a very long valley surrounded by hills and dotted by a small village of farmers & a small water stream (can't be called a river, again could be due to weather). So I can bet, during peak season here, which should be monsoons these two minor disappointments (lack of greenery & water) are taken care of by nature itself. Plus the heat also shouldn't be a botheration now. So all I want to say is get your timing right and then all should be well.

At about 1280 metres, the campsite is half way down the hill facing the village providing unobstructed view of the valley. The approach road is above and one has to descend a few metres to reach the camps. And the reachability is also not a problem. At a comfortable 7 hours drive from Delhi and few kilometres further away from famous town Bhimtal. The roads are maneuverable and we were provided crisp & clear directions.

STAFF & SERVICES: Got to say the staff is excellent, welcoming, entertaining, soft-spoken, and importantly skilled and capable of performing all adventure activities and assuring guests' safety all the time. The one outstanding person off the field is Manish - first point of contact, and his counterpart on the field is Prakash, our able instructor and a self-made guitarist. Few words on cleanliness - superb, spotless, 10/10, can't get any better!

However there were some minor glitches in service delivery. For instance in short, there were delays of several minutes in serving meal every time and water wasn't available in bathrooms once for half an hour. I guess either they didn't have enough men on duty or we used to get so hungry that we couldn't wait it out first and when meals were served we'd attack & finish so quickly that they couldn't keep pace with us. :)) Still the guys were on there toes and cooperative.

OK, the heart of the matter now, THE ACTIVITIES: Shear pleasure!! Performed with utmost attention and under good supervision & guidance, also with safe sturdy equipment. Swimming in pond was rejuvenating, followed by adrenaline pumping Rappelling and Rock Climbing. By late evening, we were singing, clapping, shaking, eating, etc. over bonfire and were also introduced to a new Prakash - the Guitarist Prakash, a great value addition. Next day, we had Jumaring, Flying fox and River crossing. All activities had intermediate levels and hence were thoroughly enjoyable. Nothing was too dangerous even for the first timer provided he could dare a little. We would muster the courage for every activity, challenge and compete with each other and sign off pinching our fists with an increasingly louder roaring victorious sound as adrenaline levels were skyrocketting. Last but not least was the 4KM trekking. Although timing for this was wrong in a sunny hot afternoon, we enjoyed the various natural views.

TIP: If you're visiting during summers, try to start early and finish first session of activities as early as possible.

Finally, THE VERDICT: Ok, so let me conclude. This place is a must-visit, highly recommended for that true nature lover and adventurer in you. Try to watch your timing though, if you want to maximize the fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guptamanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Back to Nature Camp, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello Manas,

Thanks for taking the time to review our camp. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with Back to Nature Camp and that you found our staff helpful and friendly.

We have taken a note of your comments about delay in serving of meals. We would like to assure you that this comment has been taken seriously and we will surely improve upon this in the future.

Again, thank you for your review and we really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again at the camp in future!

Sincerely,
Manish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bhimtal
2.7 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
0.0 mi away
Camp Lagoon
Camp Lagoon
#8 of 9 in Naukuchiatal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Pine Riviera
Camp Pine Riviera
#5 of 19 in Bhimtal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#4 of 11 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harshikhar Bhimtal
2.9 mi away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#3 of 11 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back to Nature Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back to Nature Camp

Property: Back to Nature Camp
Address: Alchona, Chafi | Near Bhimtal, on road to Mukteshwar, Bhimtal 263136, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Bhimtal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bhimtal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to Nature Camp is located in Nainital district of Uttrakhand. With a comfortable journey of 300 kms from New Delhi by road or by train, it's an ideal weekend getaway and gives an opportunity to be in the lap of nature, be ourselves and rejuvenate our senses. Sit by the bonfire in the evening, singing or just listening to the river flowing close by.An hour drive away from tourist-ridden Nainital, we offer you nothing that nature can’t (aside from clean, flushable toilets!) Be it the open Sky – still its primal shade of blue lit by a giant moon or twinkling stars, or the Earth, the anchor – pristine, pure and perfect, or Water from frothy springs and the sparkling river or magical rain that lights up a million fireflies in the monsoon, or Shelter in our cosy tents with fresh linen and warm bedding, or delicious, hot Meals that give you a taste of the local cuisine using vegetables from the local farms, or Time to unfurl, uncurl, explore and take it easy. Our camps are child friendly and most of our facilities and activities have been designed to help both generations enjoy the joys of nature together. You can expect warm, friendly service from experienced staff. We offer a host of activities that give you a choice to quietly feel at one with nature, spot a variety of exotic Himalayan bird or get your adrenaline rushing! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing