We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome place.....must visit”
Review of Cottage -In- Hills

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bhimtal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage -In- Hills
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bhimtal
Reviewed May 26, 2013

mapple cottage a must visit place.....special thnx2 harishji...for such amicable hospitality.....harishji thnx4 the lovely homecooked meals........whch cn show thumbs dwn to 5 star hotels chefs....
a lovely place to relax and rejuivinate......away from the hustle bustle........n pet friendly tooo......
only minute drawbck being the winding steep road leadin to Mapple......

Room Tip: all rooms r excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poonamhimanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Cottage -In- Hills
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked this place thru' www.indianhomestays.org. I went there with my family on Holi for 3N/4D & was prepared for an avg stay but it turned out to be a very beautiful & relaxing stay. The place has excellent view of the surroundings. Best part is it's location which is away from any kind of noise pollution. Great food & excellent service. Cook made whatever we liked. The serenity was so beautiful that we didn't hv to go out anywhere. Just enjoyed the stay thoroughly. Will surely recommend to those who want to enjoy nature & just want to relax & unwind. Keep it up.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonalshomakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to www.indianhomestays.org for recommending Mapple cottage. I stayed at Mapple with friends last weekend. The place is so self sufficient that you don't feel the need to step out if you are tired of the urban hustle-bustle. A perfect get away from the madness! I still can't get over the perfect lush green surroundings after the rains.

Bhagatji and Deepak make you feel at home all the time and the word "No" doesn't really exist in their dictionaries. One of the best things i found about the place was that they have a kitchen behind the cottage so most of the actual cooking does not happen "in" the house hence no interference from the staff.

Word of caution: Make sure you go with family and friends and not really random mix of people who you may "just know" as its a cozy place and leaves no room for negative vibes :)
Don't forget to carry a good book to read or some indoor games to keep you going.

All in all....a great hideaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thristytraveler_adt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GauravSikka, Owner at Cottage -In- Hills, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thanks for the stay in Mapple Cottage.
And with help of your review i understand we must put books ,dvd player & some games. We arrange things soon.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After spending few hours on google, i found out this amazing cottage. Great Location, neat & clean, well designed cottage.
The best part was the hospitality of Bhagat singh & deepak; they made our stay really memorable. They made delicious continental food with prompt service. They never said no to anything..
Overall satisfied!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarinderAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The cottage is nicely built - simple but has everything. Rooms are designed in locally available stones and looks great. Very clean and with everthing one can look for. No T.V in the bed rooms but it is there in the Drawing rooms. Really speaking we hadly had time to look at T.V - we were busy admiring the cottage and the beatiful surrounding and views.

The best place in the cottage is the dining area on the 1st floor where the morning sun rays come and we enjoyed the breakfast with sunshine.

The cook was a great man (forgot his name now) and was ready to prepare anything we asked for. Food was great and the service / presentation was equally good.

A must visit I may say if you intend to stay in Bhimtal. Its located away from the market place and nice walks around it makes your day good. A walk to the lake (from the back side and not from the straight road) is a must.

We will visit again whenever we shall have a chance to go to uttaranchal.

Ashok Khatri
Stayed on 27th december'11

Room Tip: Have hot soup while you enjoy the bonfire at the back of the cottage
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok-Khatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I was longing for a break from the city and wanted to spend time with my parents, and yes this was the perfect place... An amazing place makes you feel close to the nature from early morning when you wake up with the birds sounding as the alarm clock.. and as you open your eyes you get to see amazing view of the hills..Bhagat Singh's hospitality makes you feel like a royal member there... He is the master of all trades..
Thanks to Meenakshi for giving us such a place and such an experience..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Amazing place. Will rate it as one of the best vacations i ever had. A word of caution, if you are looking for a 5 star accomodation, a heated swimming pool etc, this place if NOT for you.
But what this place offer is- Serenity, Awesome Food, Freshness to Rejuvinate, Extremely Caring management and a Nice view. A great getaway from the hustle-bustle of our daily chatoic life.
Would love to go their again and this time, may be with a longer duration. A weekend was just not enough to soak the tranquility and freshness!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukheshMadaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bhimtal hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#3 of 12 in Bhimtal
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
0.0 mi away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#5 of 12 in Bhimtal
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harshikhar Bhimtal
0.0 mi away
Fishermen's Lodge
Fishermen's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Bhimtal
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fredy's Bungalow
Fredy's Bungalow
#3 of 23 in Bhimtal
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage -In- Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage -In- Hills

Address: Near SOS Herman Gmennier School Rawat Goan | Rawat Goan, Bhimtal 263136, India (Formerly Mapple Cottage)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Bhimtal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bhimtal
Price Range: $184 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage-In-Hills is a luxurious private cottage with comfortable interiors of 2 floors and amazing view from the front. It's an ideal place to come down for a weekend to relax or to lounge around. Read that book you have wanted to catch up on, fly a kite, cycle down the lake, go for long walks, catch a fish or just wade your hands in water while enjoying a boat ride. We urge you to de-stress and do nothing. While at Mapple cottage you unwind, recharge and rejuvenate, our in-house trained cook will pamper you with the hot meal of your choice all through the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing